We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Waters Hotel

Save
Share
175 Snell Parade North Beach, Durban 4001 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (310)
Room & Suite (134)
Dining (26)

About

#21 of 71 hotels in Durban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
776Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 134
  • 289
  • 181
  • 84
  • 88
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Roxanne R wrote a review Feb 2021
28 contributions7 helpful votes
Booked here for my birthday during the covid lockdown in Jan 2021 I was really impressed with the protocols that were followed to ensure that guest were kept safe , from the entrance to the rooms Rooms are big and airy with a beautiful layout and are exceptionally clean. will only recommend that a-joining rooms should be kept for family booking extra rooms and not for different guest . Breakfast had a variety to choose from Overall experience was beautiful and will recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: best views are the front rooms with the balconies
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2021
Dear Roxanne. Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic review with us from your most recent stay at The Blue Waters Hotel. On behalf of the entire team, we are very proud to read that our staff delivered such a memorable service throughout your stay. We look forward to your return in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Manager.
Read more
Donald wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
most terrible experience i have ever had, still owed r450 3 weeks after emails,call etc to get my refund of being double billed at the hotel for breakfast. no view of a sea like on their website. hate it!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Esky.pl
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Monique Hattingh, Guest Services / Front Office at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded Dec 31, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay at Blue Waters Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the time it has taken to process your refund. We do only pay refunds once a month. We do however encourage you to speak with our Duty Manager who collects and verifies all refunds, should there be any queries. We do have sea facing rooms however you will need to book that as there are also rooms that do not face the sea. Your Sincerely Monique Hattingh Front Office Manager
Read more
Arthur K wrote a review Jul 2020
Hazyview, South Africa8 contributions
We stayed at the blue waters hotel in durban for 3 nights booked parking for our Bakkie and trailer. But the normal single cab bakkie did not fit inside the parking as the roof was too low. So we parked the bakkie right in front of the main entrance of the hotel where there was a guard of the hotel. The hotel phoned us 00:00 and told us our bakkie was stolen. We needed to phone the police and the following morning the duty manager was not even aware of the situation. Crime is a issue in this area
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Monique Hattingh, Guest Services / Front Office at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Mr Kerslake Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay at Blue Waters Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication from our side. Please know that all staff have been addressed and that stricter hand over procedures have been put in place since this incident. Your Sincerely Monique Hattingh Front Office Manager
Read more
nzimanden wrote a review Mar 2020
Empangeni, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
the place is perfectly located, the pool is nice, food perfect to the T... rooms ok, bed no so comfortable and pillow too, seriously need to improve. but would definitely come back with my family very soon. thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BlueW, Guest Services Liaison at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your stay at the Blue Waters Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you loved the prime location of the Hotel and the Versailles Restaurant in the Hotel. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Blue Waters Hotel again in the near future. Yours in hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest services Liaison
Read more
pulanedlhamini wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Can they please add air-con or fan because during the day it's very hot in the room and they should try to extend the closing time of the pool at floor 10 at-least till 10:00 pm but everything was very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from BlueW, Guest Services Liaison at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your stay at The Blue Waters Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do provide air-cons in all rooms in the Hotel. Fans may be requested with Housekeeping and Reception if required. We have noted your points where we have not met your expectations and are looking for ways of how we can improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Yours in hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$46 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue waters hotel durban, blue waters durban
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
262
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Waters Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Waters Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Golden Mile (0.7 miles), Suncoast Casino (0.4 miles), and Mini Town (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Waters Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Blue Waters Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Waters Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Waters Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Waters Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grill Jichana Durban, Havana Grill, and Circus Circus Beach Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Waters Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Blue Waters Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Blue Waters Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Waters Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (0.9 miles).
Does Blue Waters Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.