We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,229: English reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

I stay at Hilton Durban on a regular basis but my last visit was the most impressive one. Thanks to Ashley Smit I had an amazing stay. Staff were welcoming and friendly and made my stay a memorable one. The executive lounge was peaceful... service was spot on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suvesha R
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about Ashley and our hotel and look forward to seeing next time you're in town! Yours sincerely Markus General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed December 7, 2015

Nothing worked, the room was dirty, disgusting carped, hair everywhere in bathroom, my online check in wasnt honored, I checked in for three people on the 12 Floor but the room I was given was on the 5th floor and was only set up for two. To arrange for the extra bed took a very long time and it was...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank annaxxx007
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your previous stay with us. It is extremely disheartening and disappointing that we did not exceed your expectations. I appreciate your review, which helps us to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room which is an area we are actively examining. We are about...

Sundowner, South Africa
Reviewed December 6, 2015

Excellent hotel, the best in Durban city centre. Wonderful rooms and warm reception. Wonderful restaurants and easy going. Will definitely choose me anytime for my next visit. Royalty programme rewarding

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janseanana S
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us as a place to stay when visiting Durban. I appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing next time you're in town. Yours sincerely Markus General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 6, 2015

Best hotel in Durban to stay at perfect get away hotel 5 star all year around i recommend anyone to stay at this hotel even when making the reservation i was happy with the customer service over the phone

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devesh K
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review. Our location in Durban makes it easy for guests to visit many of the iconic Durban sites. Also, we’re happy to hear our service and amenities were able to make your stay the perfect get away. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon! Yours sincerely Markus General Manager

Columbia, MO
Reviewed December 4, 2015

We had a pleasant stay (in part to being Hilton Diamond members). Upon check in, we were given a top floor room on the 16th floor, an executive suite with living and dining room, separate from the king bedroom and bath. It was luxurious. Check in went smoothly, the valet and greeter were ALWAYS pleasant to interact with, other staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sweetypuppy
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with our Tour Operator/Transfer company and Concierge staff and I have addressed these issues with my management team and front desk staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise. Your feedback helps us improve. Thank...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed December 3, 2015

The hotel was good overall with nice ambiance and helpful staff. Rooms also were good and well maintained. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful. However for a Hilton grade hotel I found amenities in the room to be in adequate and the Hotel should improve of this. Strangely free wifi was not available in the room and only in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hdg63
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast and rooms. I apologize that you did not receive the high quality customer service you have come to expect from the staff at our Front Desk. Please be assured that we have discussed...

durban, South Africa
Reviewed December 2, 2015

I had always envisioned the Hilton Hotel as 'the place' to experience true luxury, I was looking forward to this stay and must say I was truly disappointed. I had pre-ordered chocolate and fruit to be in our room upon arrival, this never happened. Breakfast was cold and ill prepared, and the hotel staff with the exception of a few...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charisma P
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I appreciate your review of your recent experience with our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us, and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback helps us improve. Thank you once again for your comments. Yours sincerely Markus, General...

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Would highly recommend this hotel. Very friendly staff and went above and beyond with pleasing and answering request. Lovely hotel next to the convention center. The restaurant was awesome and ate there most all meals. Smorgasbord of food and smiles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TreseFoster
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. Our number one goal is to give our guests a perfect 10 experience. We look forward to the next time! Yours sincerely Markus, General Manager

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed December 2, 2015

The experience was great. The staff very friendly. The quality of service was excellent. I would definitely recommend the hotel. A great place to be at indeed. The viewing of the hotel was marvellous. looking forward coming back for a December stay. Services of the meter tax extraordinary excellent. Inside view of the hotel it worth it.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Qaphela M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your wonderful comments and ratings. We are delighted to hear that we made your visit a memorable one and I look forward to welcoming you back in December. Yours sincerely Markus General Manager

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 26, 2015

The rooms are more than adequate, as is to be expected in a hotel of this class / price. However, the front desk and reservations were poorly organised. Group check-in took a very long time and some of the reservations had gone astray. Breakfast buffet was good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adrian Y
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We will use your comments as we continue to improve upon our guests' experience moving forward. I have addressed the Front Desk and Reservation team regarding your feedback and I hope you will return to stay with us the next...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

448 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (226)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (222)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Zakera, 6 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 896geoffreys, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosaposer165, Jan 13, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 85smangelek, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor, away from the elevators. Don't bother with executive rooms unless it is a free upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles Yuvan29, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question