We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,230: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm in love with Durban & The Hilton is a perfect location to where we needed to be. We were in town for the Essence Festival Durban & Hilton was right next door to the convention center where many of the activities took place. Staff were very helpful with getting us taxis & pointing out where we should visit. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor review following your stay at the Hilton Durban. We are delighted to know that overall you had a good experience and that you were pleased with our facilities & services received as our guest. Your compliments will certainly be an encouragement and a boost of strength to our team. Thank you...

Hillcrest
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were pleasantly surprised on booking in to the Hilton Hotel in Durban. The service was brilliant. Staff was courteous helpful and happy. Breakfast wasn't great at all but would happily return and recommend it to anyone else.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Durban. We value all guest comments, and constructive feedback as it helps us to continually improve upon our services and facilities. I have noted that your experience did not meet with your expectations with regards to our Breakfast and I will share your feedback with...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff at the hotel is exceptional. Breakfast and buffet restaurant are very good. Aircon in our bedroom was not working and it was very hot and humid during the night; our sleep was affected because of this. We had the opportunity to report it only in the next morning.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisphilippel2017
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Blue HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of the working condition of our some of our air-conditioners throughout the hotel during your stay which we...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After''doing' the Garden Route decided to carry on driving with stops up tp Durban and decided on the Hilton as we knew what we would get, more or less The hotel is large and attracts a large number of Europeans and Africans. All our expectations were met and any problems solved speedily. Central location and secure parking (80R per day)...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hil-Harv
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Hilton Durban during your visit to Durban, and for taking the time to share with us your very kind feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure for me to note that you liked our location, room cleanliness, facilities and service offered by our Team. I am happy that we...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I think when you have a hotel that costs as much and aims to be rated more than 3!stars then having poor or almost no wi fi connection is not good enough Having to sit in the lobby until 2 am and then from 5 am is just not acceptable !! I personally will not recommend staying here . Checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alegna63
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for staying with us and taking a moment to share feedback on your stay with us. I can see through your review that we may not have fully met your expectations and that we could have provided a better overall experience during your stay in our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed...

Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No air conditioning in most of the rooms- was moved 3 times until I ended up w an inferior room, no ocean view and not on the executive floor which I paid in advance for. The manager at first lied to me about air conditioning until we 8 rooms on all levels and no air. Took inferior rooms throughout entire...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arnold C
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a SILVER HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of your overall guestroom experience and service. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was really nice, the rooms were clean and nice. We had some kind of suite and it was really good. The aircondition was not working, but the staff arranged a new suite for us. They really took care of their customers. The breakfast was tasty and rich enough even though we had it in the executive lounge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TSN63
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest's feedback and I'm pleased to know you had a truly memorable experience and do apologize for the unexpected air conditioner working order during your stay with us. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the hotel for a short one night stay. As an elite Diamond status member I was transferred to the Business Center where check in takes places. I had booked a standard room and was upgraded to an Executive Standard room. I was not happy with this upgrade the size of the room is the same just that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moosa2014
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience at our hotel. It is extremely disheartening and disappointing that we did not exceed your expectations. We value every guest's feedback and opinion and your response will help us continue to fulfill our commitment to provide excellent customer service and superior guest experience. I also would like to inform...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hilton Hotel Reception needs more staff during the METRO FM MUSIC AWARDS, they are easily overwhelmed because there aren't enough personnel. To avoid the long queues and frustrating guests, the Hilton Hotel must assign more staff to deal with the huge number of guests.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamG2103ZX
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Hotel definitely going back. Definitely one of the best hotels in Durban. Staff was friendly and easy to deal with. Clean and beautiful rooms. Really lovely place to go to

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 559cynthian
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It is evident that the team members made an impression on you and made your stay so much more enjoyable. Thank you for letting us know. Reviews like yours are appreciated and in return we would like to mention that we appreciate you and all our other guest that give us the opportunity to serve them. Yours...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

452 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (222)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Zakera, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 896geoffreys, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosaposer165, Jan 13, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 85smangelek, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor, away from the elevators. Don't bother with executive rooms unless it is a free upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles Yuvan29, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question