We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hilton Durban

Hotel website
12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Special Offer
Save up to 30% Off
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,071 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 995: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

If you are an Hilton Honours Member then everything from check inn and usage of executive lounge is great. Staff are helpful and friendly. Overall a great place to stay. Roon service is excellent. Good variety at breakfast. The staff are always looking to make you feel at home from the time you enter the hotel right untill you check... More 

Helpful?
Thank MuhammadJ81
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and sharing with us your wonderful experience. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for all of our guests and it is very rewarding to know our team was able to do this for you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed 7 nights attending a conference in the ICC next door Room was in very good shape, among the most comfortable bed and pillows I have encountered Staff were without exception warm, helpful, industrious Breakfast buffet had a nice mix of local and international fare

Helpful?
Thank roy c
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are incredibly thrilled to learn you had such a pleasant visit with us recently. We are happy to hear we made you feel as comfortable as possible during your visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Yours sincerely Markus More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for three nights due to business. Very warm staff and well situated hotel for what I needed in terms of transport to and from meetings. They have a good restaurant I think called The Big Easy. On!y tried it as I am a huge golf fan and its owned by Ernie Els. Very good food and service!

Helpful?
Thank simonwinters007
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your recent stay and review! It's great to know you found our staff, Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els and the hotel's central location to your liking and to your business needs. We hope to have another chance to welcome you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Markus More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of the best hotels in Durban! It is very central and only a short walk from the beach( The Golden Mile) It serves the best food you will have ever tasted and for sure the best Durban curry!!!!!! Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank George B
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your review via tripadvisor. It is good to see that you had a pleasant time. Thanks for highlighting the great central location and great food!, which is a great motivation for all of us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in not... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent a few nights here while in Durban. Hotel lobby is nice but rooms are old and out dated. Although they are starting the renovations. Service was poor. Location is middle of no where. Not near the beach or trendy parts of town. We were advised not to walk out of the hotel as not safe. Had to drive everywhere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hajira D
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thanks for your detailed comments on your recent stay with us. Your feedback which is much appreciated. We were very concerned about the poor service you have encountered and will definitely discuss your comments with the responsible departmental managers. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Durban so you experience our... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Helpful and very kind staff very nice food there. Recommended hotel to chill. Stayed a few nights there and was top class keep up the good work!!!!! I really had a fun time . Very cool and innovative design and architecture.

Helpful?
Thank Umeshan P
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were pleased to hear that overall you were satisfied with your stay and the services provided by our team and you had a fun time! Look forward to seeing you back here soon. Yours sincerely Markus More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there during huge conference, which we were not part of. Hotel Service was excellent, in spite of how busy everyone was. Very upscale hotel. Ernie Els Restaurant on site was excellent service, food and value.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TMAS925
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying at Hilton Durban! It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and our new Ernie Els Big Easy Restaurant. We're delighted to know our staff went above and beyond to provide you with excellent service. Your praise and kind words will be passed on. We look forward to... More 

San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hilton has new rooms and they are very nice. The business lounge has breakfast, high tea and happy hour on an evening. It was great to get bottled water and food there and the restaurant they have has an amazing amount of food for breakfast. The big easy is their main restaurant and the service is a little slow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alatini21
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Durban. We greatly appreciate your decision to share your valued feedback with us on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you were content with our hotel’s central location. Furthermore it was my pleasure to read that you enjoyed the service our staff provided and dining... More 

Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a great location if you are traveling into Natal on the N3 or up or down the coast. The hotel was full when I checked in, but there was not a cue to wait in, just one person being helped each by two staff at check-in. Each staff person was quite happy to engage in long... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank l0nnij
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments and concerns, as that gives us an opportunity to hear what we can improve upon-straight from you the guest. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Committee and our Front Office Manager, as we want you to know you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service, well trained staff. Room was stunning and perfectly clean. Rooms are spacious and bathroom had all amenities. Breakfast had everything you need. Staffordable welcome and professionalism was inspiring.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 335rossc
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in a review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Markus More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

283 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (136)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Edward
Protea Hotel Edward
#9 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
10.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#11 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $75 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay