We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Durban

12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001 South Africa
Visit hotel website
5 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Agoda.com
$105
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/19
Booking.com
$106
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
$124
$90
View Deal
SAVE $34
Trip.com$92
Travelocity$105
ZenHotels.com$124
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (366)
Room & Suite (130)
Videos (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Corporate elegance, the Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering newly renovated guestrooms in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. Voted South Africa’s Leading Business Hotel at the World Travel Awards from 2013 to 2019. All 328 guest rooms offer gorgeous views of the city or coastline. Expect the highest standard of service, impressive facilities and dishes to suit any taste. With meeting rooms and grand ballroom space for up to 300 guests, Hilton Durban is one of the most established conference hotels in Durban. Stay connected with Wi-Fi access and work efficiently in the business center. Executive guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast and refreshments in the stylish Business Lounge. The outdoor swimming pool and our fitness center also offer an ideal place to unwind after a busy day. Refuel at any of our 3 stylish outlets, Vasco's restaurant, the Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els and the Coral Lounge.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
1,817Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 744
  • 564
  • 273
  • 122
  • 114
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The food and beverage staff at this hotel are too complacent. F&B Manager is in a meeting during the breakfast period! Omelette took 30 minutes to make, and was un-edible when it arrived. This hotel is definitely not 5*.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Response from HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your review with us. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations with regarding to your overall restaurant experience and will surely pass this onto the entire team to ensure it is used to improve our guests experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely Vikram Jamwal
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed at the Hilton Durban for 2 nights on the last leg of our South African holiday. Inspite of some recent negative reviews, we had a great stay. Summary as below - 45 minutes by taxi from the airport. Took an airport taxi from the airport to the hotel and an Uber from the hotel to the airport. - Efficient check in and cgeck out. - Good room size, modern amenities. - In a good location, all prominent sigh seeing points are a few minutes drive away - breakfast is sumptuous and with several options - good gym and business centre. - my only complaint or negative feedback : one has to pay a service charge for room delivery - was a bit surprising the staff are exceptionally friendly - once they knew we are on vacation, they were giving tips, sharing experiences etc and this was not reserved to just one person but several across the restauarnts or business centre etc. Great assets. Well done, great stay
Read more
Response from HiltonDurban, Director of Operations at Hilton Durban
Responded Jul 9, 2019
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us! We're honored to have had the opportunity to welcome you and it sounds as if between our convenient location, breath taking room views, and attentive and caring team members, your stay went exactly as planned. We can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Yours sincerely Lovet Robinson
Read more
As frequent travelers, we had the opportunity to stay in various Hiltons around the world. This one was by far the worse experience ever. The facilities are good and clean, but the service... good God! My mother and I arrived at 4:30PM and she was able to enter her room only at 6:10PM after many complaints. We made reservations for dinner at the Big Easy and Guest Relations reserved us a table at the Breakfast restaurant, poor food and expensive. Other guest went to our room using his keys – A severe lack of security, since it seems that any key can open any door. At check-out we could talk to the manager on duty, mr. Akash Somers . We listed our complaints, and he offered a free night on our next stay. Of course there will be no next stay, so we asked for the free night for that stay, and he refused. In the end, we went home with a box of candies (apologies from the front desk), soft drinks from the restaurant (apologies from Guest Relations) and the HUGE discount of 10% off my mother's stay (something around US 40). I wonder how much he - the manager - would've paid for a stay like this.
Read more
Response from HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest First and foremost, thank you for your constructive feedback and appreciate that you chose us whilst staying in Durban. While it is our goal to make each and every guest satisfied, it is important to know if we do not live up to expectations. I take great pride in making sure we provide exceptional service and apologize you did not experience this during your stay. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and I am hopeful we can welcome you back during your next trip to Durban in order to Make It Right! Yours sincerely Vikram Jamwal
Read more
For last 20 odd years I have been staying at this hotel and always felt welcomed. However, this time I had a rude shock. We booked for 2 twin bedded rooms at hotel. When we checked in online we were allocated room but on arrival our rooms were changed with simple email that both rooms were unavailable and we are being allocated new rooms. Even when checking in physically at hotel we were not told that room allocated were King Bed Rooms. Only when we arrived in room we realized that room were double bed rooms. When we asked front desk for a change we were advised no twin bed room were available and they will try and change it next day. We had a meeting and had to go out but have requested front desk to let us talk to a senior person and were advised person will be available next only. We again requested front desk that we are going out for meeting and they can speak to senior person and find a proper solution. When we came back we were offered 1 down graded twin room and one double room. We have again requested them that such solution is not correct but we were advised that no other solution is possible. We had no option but to seek favor from our associate in Durban and have advised front desk that we will be leaving hotel. When we loaded our luggage into vehicle, we were offered 4 individual rooms for the night but with a rider that we will have to move back to twin room once it becomes available. Since we had very tight schedule it was not possible for us to switch rooms and we left the hotel. Even our cash deposit at the hotel was not returned same time, but we had to collect later during our stay in Durban. As a consolation we were offered buffet dinner, which we politely declined. Whole incident was a rude shock, with such experience I will probably not stay in this hotel for sure. All this happened despite me being a Gold Member.
Read more
Response from HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Atul Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Gold Hilton Honors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of your overall experience, room type guarantee and overall service. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Yours sincerely Vikram Jamwal
Read more
+1
Hilton hotel, Durban is very beautiful. I loved it's rich ambience. Some staff members were very attentive from the time we arrived at the door step. What we didn't like was that the porter put our bags in a trolley and we were told that they will be delivered to our room after check in. We left them at the reception. We waited for our bags for 45 Min until we went to fetch them ourselves. When we asked why they were not delivered, the porter said there was unknown further information about where to deliver them (24/08/19) There's wide breakfast variety choice. We didn't like sausages that tasted like they have curry powder. The gentleman who waited on outside tables (25/08/19) wasn't efficient. We waited long for clean change of plates and cutlery. Long waits for baked croissants when promised that they would bring them to our table. There was too much technology in their rooms, a manual or two would have done the trick than us as guests keep calling to ask how this works. Otherwise it was comfortable and beautiful.
Read more
Response from HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Durban. We value all guest comments, and constructive feedback as it helps us to continually improve upon our services and facilities. Hoping that we can welcome you back to Hilton Durban in the near future. Yours sincerely Vikram Jamwal
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton durban hotel durban, hilton international durban
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
328
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing