We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,055: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had an awesome time at the Hilton Durban. The gym in the Hotel is awesome. With the Latest equipment we could do a full body workout and enjoyed it very much. The in-room dining was excellent. The food is so delicious. The porter was so friendly and very professional. We were 5 guests at the hotel and we would... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank wilnavn
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your stay and your review! It is our first aim to meet and to exceed your expectations - how nice to see that you have had a pleasant stay. We thank you very much for your patronage and would be pleased to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future. Yours... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel. Staff polite and helpful. Hotel modern and décor excellent in common areas. Great central location near ICC and Kingsmead cricket ground. Will definitely stay here again next time in Durban.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank N626IWbryans
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community and for rating us 10 out of 10! Furthermore it is great to you hear that you found our staff and modern decor excellent! as well our superb location to the International Convention Centre and world class sports stadiums. Once again thank you for sharing your experience... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I did not enjoy my stay at all at the Hilton in Durban. First of all, when we checked in, the hotel would not accept payment with the card my employer used to reserve the room (my employer was paying for my stay). So, I had to have payment for the whole 1 week stay reserved on my personal credit... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Durban and taking a moment to share you feedback on your stay with other travelers. I am very sorry to read that on this occasion we have not fully met your expectations and we did not provide an excellent overall experience during this stay. It is very upsetting... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had one of the refurbished rooms, only improvement would be to make the aircpn more effective. Great gym and facilities for business and meetings. Location idela for Durban area and plenty of security visible.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank philipwT2590ZK
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review of Hilton Durban. Thanks also for your kind words about our location and newly refurbished rooms. We appreciate your constructive feedback re: aircon. which I have addressed with our Chief Engineer. We would be honored to have you stay with us again, and look forward to your next visit! Yours Sincerely Markus More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the last day of my stay, I discovered that the toilet had layers of brown crusty residue on the underside of the seat. This could only be human waste that had NEVER been cleaned. (I have the photo to show this.) This was extremely disgusting, and the the toilet seat should be replaced rather than simply cleaned. I have... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joe P
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I would like to sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you and rest assured that your issues have been fully investigated. I appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of the cleanliness of your toilet and working condition of the window. Firstly I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality... More 

Ladysmith, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The facilities were excellent, but I feel it is a bit over priced. The location was good, as we had to attend a Business Conference at the ICC. Perhaps Management should consider partnering with Companies that are hosting Conferences at the Icc, and offer a reduced rate. This would increase the occupancy rate at a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank chiararH5814MJ
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for your review about your stay in Hilton Durban on Trip Advisor. Feedback like yours is so encouraging! We are delighted to read, that you had such a lovely stay and found our staff helpful and pleasant and that you had time to enjoy our range of facilities. Your feedback has been passed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights of our 2 week stay in Durban. It is a lovely hotel with helpful staff and nice, big clean rooms. Only issue we had was they did not have our booking on their system and made no effort to sort it out. In the end we found another hotel closer to the beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy E
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your review after staying at Hilton Durban. I am very sorry to hear of your issue at the Front Desk/Reservations regarding your booking and have certainly addressed this with both our Front Office Manager and Reservations Manager and sincerely apologize for this. The service your received... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What value is there in being a HH member if I cannot secure late check out by 2-3 hours? I asked three times on two consecutive days and was told that I could not have an answer until the morning of check out. When I asked at the front desk the morning of check out, I was told that my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank you54
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback regarding the issues regarding guaranteeing a late-check-out prior to day of departure. I sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the high quality of services and helpfulness that you deserve and have addressed this with both our Front Office Manager and Reservations Manager. We know how important a late check-out... More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is very nice, clean and friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was good. However: Had to ask for slippers (no Hilton branding on the slippers). Had to pay for parking every time we left the building, which was annoying. Shower knob was extremely hard to turn. Advised reception but maintenance never arrived. Service & standards across the Hilton chain should be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Disco_Legends_Pmb
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thanks for your feedback and recent stay. While we're glad to hear you enjoyed our guestrooms and staff, our team strives to provide personalized service to each guest and we're disappointed you did not find this as such and have addressed your issues regarding no slippers, parking ticket not being validated for entire stay and shower working... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has been my 3rd visit in as many months to Hilton Durban. I have to say they just get better with each visit. The idea to renovate the rooms is brilliant especially as the design of the new rooms are absolutely gorgeous. As a diamond member every member of the staff we encountered went above and beyond to make... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hashcdat
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It was wonderful to welcome you back! Thank you for your fantastic review and posting it to TripAdvisor! We appreciate your loyalty as an HHonors member and are glad to be able to provide an upgrade to your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we do offer Halaal and Kosher meals... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

316 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
10.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#11 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $88 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay