We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Court South Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Garden Court South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,002 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Court South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 966: English reviews
Johannesburg
Reviewed January 4, 2017

The place is unsafe I felt unsafe every day They do not cater for kosher The atmosphere was unwelcoming and I hope I never stay at another tsogo sun in Durban. I hope I never travel to Durban again as my expectations were trashed and thrown aside. I'd rate this hotel a 2 out of ten and they should rather...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem K
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Tasneem K Thank you for your feedback and concern. We regret you did not enjoy your stay and our offering. We have made many improvements in the year, and have much planned for 2017, including the element of safety and security. We are disappointed that you wish not to return, and hope over time you would reconsider and return...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 3, 2017

The fact that the hotel was full to its capacity shouldn't be a reason for poor service. The lifts were slow couldn’t handle the pressure, housekeeping was horrendous, had to call 5 times a day to get an iron and ironing board, and the staff were very rude. The plumbing need attention, when the guest from neighbouring rooms were showering...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desmond S
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Desmond S Thank you for posting your review and highlighting these concerns for my attention. We do sincerely regret that you did not have a great experience and apologise for the frustration caused to you and the impact this has had on your stay. Your detailed feedback has been shared with the management team for action in the various...

JHB
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Garden Court never disappoints. Your stuff is always available to assist with friendliness. I always gt value for my money. The rooms are clean and cool. Breakfast is on point. You must keep up the good work.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sthembiles
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ sthembiles Wow, thank you for the wonderful review. This is certainly the greatest accolade you can give us. We will certainly continue to work hard and improve even more, and hope to see you back soon. Kind regards Wayne

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 2, 2017

great hotel,nice view, the breakfast was great, and the fact that they also cater for kids was outstanding, definitely coming back. the price was affordable and the walk to the beach was just miles away.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I3958VOmichaelm
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ I3958VOmichaelm Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and experience and enjoyed the views, breakfasts and location. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Wayne

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed December 31, 2016

My overall experience at the hotel was disappointing.we didn't feel welcomed. We were offered to make tea or coffee inside the room anytime we want, but there was no water. Even if you bought your own water, the room has no fridge to keep the water cool.The room was too small for the money that I paid. Staff not friendly...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kgabisoc
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ kgabisoc Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are certainly noted and when looking at making enhancements, we will certainly follow through with this. Fridges are being installed in the balance of the rooms during the course of the year; however we will maintain stock for requests. We regret...

Johannesburg
Reviewed December 30, 2016

The hotel is great, beautiful view, excellent service, good staff & food. Keep it up . The whole team is awesome keep it up. Next time I'll eat dinner and I'm sure the service will the same as breakfast. I will definitely come back.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M4805IBsharonr
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ M4805IBsharonr We are delighted with your review and thank you for sharing. Cant wait to see you back again to enjoy the views, service and food. Compliments of the New Year. Kind regards Wayne

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed December 28, 2016

he hotel was clean ,staff was accurate fast,and organised ,accommodation good comfortable and clean ,food healthy and appetising . security very good room service very fast and correct. The hotel is good for couples, meeting and family's and conferences.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 741ngm
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ 741ngm We appreciate your review and are delighted that you had a great overall stay and enjoyed the location, facilities and services. We do hope to see you back soon for another awesome stay. Kind regards Wayne

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 27, 2016

The place was as expected. The room looked exactly like on the photos. It was clean. The breakfast was good and we never queued for more than a minute for anything (including waiting for a table). It was value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khorombi M
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Khorombi M Thank you for posting your review. We are glad we met you expectations and you got good value for money. Look forward to seeing you back and exceeding your expectations. Kind regards Wayne

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 26, 2016

Worst experience i have had with a Garden Court Hotel The food gave us all a running stomach The elevators were stuck The staff either were in the mood to assist you or in no mood to do their job at all Duluxe rooms are the only acceptable rooms Superior rooms are a joke. family rooms look like a bachelor...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 840mphom
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ 840mphom Thank you for taking the time to share your review and bring these concerns to my attention. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, this is not how we would want our guests to remember us, and certainly not the standards and levels of service we are striving to achieve and maintain. We are normally commended...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed December 26, 2016

The environment was excellent and the location of it is good even parking is good, another thing I liked is the there's no theft in the hotel. The TV has good chanels for both adults and kids even though is missing some of the nice chanels. I enjoyed the sea face room. The hotel came with the good idea of...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lunganellmonn
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ lunganellmonn Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We are glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the location, facilities and services. Your comments are certainly noted and we will look into this for improvements. Hope to see you back soon. Kind regards Wayne

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
1,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Garden Court South Beach staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Pretoria, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“sea facing rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles gourishchakravorty, 3 days ago | Read review
“Top floors have great views but if the lifts don't work it could make life difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles Bandit314, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room on the swimming pool area for easy walk on the outside and look over the sea. Very nice to enjoy the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles JurieJohannesJacobs, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay away from the edge rooms or rooms opposite the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles ReichertStephan, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Sea facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles taheer, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question