We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Court South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Garden Court South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 796: English reviews
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrive we got a warm welcome, kids got some goodie bags with fun staff to play with. We were escorted to our room, on arrival the room was clean and had a nice sea view. The rooms are rather small for a family room. The breakfast was also good, there was a variety of meals to choose from I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bongani_mweli
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ bongani_mweli Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We are thrilled you had a great experience and a warm welcome. We have noted your comments, when visiting again please ask for a more spacious room and look out for our special offers on our website tsogosunhotels. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Wayne More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have enjoyed my stay at Garden Court South Beach. Everything was so excellent and thanks very much to all the management team. You are really doing a excellent job together with your cleaning staff in the hotel. I will definitely call back together with my family for December holidays. The services that I received from this hotel was so... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank lekhinam
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ lekhinam We are delighted you had a great stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again. We appreciate the kind words and comments and thank you for this. It does go along way to motivating the team to continue to work hard. Kind regards Wayne More 

Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel stayed one of my favorites. It is affordable and ideal for the family. The staff there are friendly and will do anything to accommodate your needs and requests. Thanks to bobby that organized us a small fridge to keep my medication cool. I would refer any person or family to the Garden Court South Beach Hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Rudi3900
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Rudi3900 Thank you for the review and taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted you had a good stay and the team were on hand to assist with your requests. We appreciate the continued support and look forward to being able to welcome you back. Kind regards Wayne More 

klerksdorp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Do not stay here Room are outdated dirty and smell Staff is unfriendly Old pipes in walls make a noise the whole time so I cannot sleep Breakfast is a joke Would not recommend this hotel to anyone Worst I have ever stayed in

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank riedewaang
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ riedewaang We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. At the onset I do personally apologise for the experience you had, which from your review I can clearly see was not a good one. We do regret this and I am disappointed it was not a pleasant one, as is normally the case, and as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a wonderfull stay in April 2016, this time was different. Not enough toilet paper, only half a roll in both rooms. One room 2111 smell of cigarette smoke. Air conditioning not working, even after "repairs" Staff unfriendly at breakfast. Some guests pay half of the prize per room, not fair. Booked at the same time, same rooms etc. Reservations... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank deon-adel
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ deon-adel Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to share your experience. We do regret that we dropped on consistency and this stay was not as pleasant as the previous one, this we need to remedy immediately. I do trust this was an isolated incident. I will be addressed the specific comments you have made,... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the pleasant staff to the excellent room service and tantalising dishes, Garden Court South Beach is truly an exotic home away from home. My time there was an absolute delight. I got treated like a VIP guest. I certainly would recommend this hotel to friends and family. in fact I would like to visit at the hotel during my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mthobisi M
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Mthobisi M Thank you for sharing your review and for the delightful comments. We are thrilled you had a great stay and cant wait to see you back for December Holidays. Regards Wayne More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The experience of staying in this hotel was satisfactory. Some improvement needs to be made at check in. On the day we arrived it was busy, some till points were closed. The receptionist who attended to us called somebody on the phone and notified the person on the other end that they had a long que, to which the other... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank petronellam41
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ petronellam41 Thank you for taking the time to share your review and comment. We do appreciate this as it certainly helps show us areas we need to focus more on. This will be a priority for us and we will action immediately. The welcome experience is critical to the rest of the stay. We are positive this will improve... More 

Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were just average a real budget hotel. the location is not very good, the crowded part of Durban. If you want a quiet place this hotel is not for you. Travelled during the peak period and got a smoking room. My God it was dreadful.

Helpful?
Thank Rue29
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Rue29 Thank you for your comments and taking the time to share your review. Indeed we do get very busy over the peak, and although budget we like to pride ourselves on providing more than value for money, and nearing completion of a soft refurbishment, the standards are slowly and surely improving. Should you return again in the future... More 

Evander, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second time sleeping there and I definitely will be coming back. The cleanliness in the rooms was impressive. The breakfast is a definite plus. This time we had an ocean view room, I loved it. The inability to regulate temperature in the room is a down side. But reception quickly offered a portable heater as it was a bit cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thami M
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Thami M Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the positive reinforcement and are delighted that you had a great stay and good overall experience. We are looking into the temperature control in the rooms and will certainly improve and amend where required. Your comment regarding the parking is... More 

Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Keep it the good work and hope to see you soon with my family again for leisure. It will also be recommended to other people as your service has been good and outstanding to me. Keep up the good work as there was value for money in the whole process.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank molatudipeterm
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ molatudipeterm Thank you for sharing your positive comments and for your continued support. We are delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you back with the family. Kind regards Wayne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
10.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#11 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $70 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing