We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Palace Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Palace Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first thing that will strike you when you walk into the hotel is the cleanliness of the place. the desk staff are very and the check in processes was seamless, less than 2min I was already in my room. I would recommend it to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 207alpheusm
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alpheus Thank you for taking the time tell us about your stay at The Palace All suite. I will most definitely pass your comments onto the rest of the team. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall experience and we look forward to always welcoming you back Kind regards Shamini Pather More 

Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love Palace, can now understand why booking are so difficult to obtain two month in advance Thank you to all at The Palace. From the view, rooms, and the staff are amazing Would never hesitate to tell

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R2980OOvaleries
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Palace All suite and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to always welcoming you back to enjoy our views and hospitality Kind regards Shamini Pather More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed for two nights. Was just disappointed about the fact that on the 2nd day we were asked to move rooms. According to the manager the clause is if booked with bookings.com the room that you booked in is not yours for the time booked. At any point in time management can ask... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank prakashnier
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Dear Prakash Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and I am ad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the inconvenience of having to move rooms and I assure you that if it was possible to assist with keeping you in the same room we would do that. At the time of... More 

Key West, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice proprty tho a bit rough around the edges, had a room with a great view of the Indian Ocean and walking pathsalong the Marine Parade.Had some issues with the booking placed on Hotels.com, but those were resolved by the staff. Walkable to most restaurants and about 10-15 minute walk to convention center and central Durban. Lots of restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank brake4bears
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Palace. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and location. I have passed your comments on to the spa. We look forward to always welcoming you back. Kind regards, Shamini Pather | More 

Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, great view, i loved the self catering apartment and it was affordable, on the beach front. It is also very close to the ICC and i needed to be there. I could go for a quick dip in the ocean and there are restaurants very close, on our doorstep. i would definately go back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 288lucindav
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Palace. We are so glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and I will most definitely pass your comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to always welcoming you back for the location and dip in the ocean. Kind regards Shamini General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

The Palace is not a terrible hotel, but there is a lot they can improve on. Two days without hot water is inexcusable. Silly things like a toilet roll holder being broken can get annoying. The TV channels don't all work or have terrible reception. The WiFi didn't work too well either. The staff are friendly, but seem to lack... More 

Helpful?
Thank denzilv
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Dear Denzil Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I must apologize for the poor experience you had during your stay and I assure you that this is not the normal standard of service experienced at The Palace. I completely understand how inconvenient it was due to the issues we had with the water but I... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

The best part about The Palace has to be its location. Situated directly across the road from Durban's main beachfront. Spectacular views, friendly staff, stunning rooms, a pool and a health Spa combine to make it a great family holiday destination. The only drawback are the elevators, which are usually used and jammed by the cleaning staff. So be prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ziyaad B
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ziyaad Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will most definitely pass your comments onto the rest of the team. I must apologize for the inconvenience caused with regards to the lifts, I assure you that we do indeed have a service elevator which... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse apartment (one bedroom) with beautiful views out to sea. The room was a little worn around the edges but nice. Lots of natural light and well equipped kitchen. The restaurant downstairs was quite nice but nothing special. Be warned - the lift was broken, which made the venture to level 21 a challenge! No one... More 

Helpful?
Thank jandjadventures8
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to inform us on your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the penthouse and I assure you that I will look into the imperfections noticed and ensure that they are corrected. I must apologize for the lift being out of order and I am sorry that you were not given the letter sent... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

The self catering apartments are like home away from home. They have everything you need! The resort has a luxurious feel with stunning views of the sea. The beach is literally at your doorstep. The location is super convenient, you can literally walk to everywhere. We will definitely be back, soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank frica1
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at The Palace Hotel and Spa. I am so glad that your family enjoyed the experience and I will most definitely pass your comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to always welcoming you back. Kind regards Shamini General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We loved our stay there, the apartments are beautiful and spacious. The views from the rooms are breathtaking. Service is great, clean and well equipped. Self catering and hotel benefits combined. We will definitely be back again!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnmD959YX
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will most definitely pass your comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to always welcoming you back to The Palace Hotel and Spa Kind regards Shamini Pather General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#11 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#12 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Gooderson Beach Hotel
#26 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Durban's Golden Mile, just 35km from King Shaka International Airport, the Palace Resort and Spa comprises 76 high-rise luxury apartments, all with magnificent sea views. The onsite restaurants offer light meals, Mediterranean cuisine and room service, while a swimming pool and world-class Wellness Centre, Jacuzzi and steam room complete your luxury holiday. The Palace is a great getaway for relaxing, soaking up the sun and enjoying fun-filled activities. Mild weather and the warmth of the Indian Ocean make Durban an attractive holiday destination all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 211 Marine Terminal Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $80 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay