We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

awesome venue staff was excellent food was ymmie great decor will always attend any function there view from the 6th floor was beautiful the reception was handled very well the management was always present keep up the good work guys

Helpful?
Thank john_naidoo
Benoni
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Front desk weren't very professional or helpful. I had to ask where my room was , where breakfast is ...shouldn't it be the norm to ask if it's your first stay at this hotel . I carried my bag to room. Never stay in room 112. Right by the lift and you have the "pings" all the time . Spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laureen T
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very pleasantly situated hotel with clean comfortable accommodation. Unfortunately there were a number of respects in which the service provided could have been so much better. Having stayed in several South African hotels where I enjoyed their breakfasts I was very disappointed that the pineapple and apricots were not fresh having come out of tins, and there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is quite good and the staff were very friendly. The only exception was the room service. The room service staff taking the calls were extremely uncourteous and continuously keep asking if i have credit when they should be checking with the reception. That is the lowest point of staying in this hotel. The breakfast was good, the check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giten K
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The day was too long, checked in after driving in heavy rains late aftenoon. Staff was friendly at reception. The room was a standard room something one would expect on a government rate. I had lots of reports to compile. Oops! My laptop battery was flat. I tried to plug in cord, but it was faulty. Tried to phone reception,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 875zandilen
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Guest feedback is very important to us as it plays a vital role in improving our facilities and services to ensure that your next stay is a memorable experience. We have addressed your feedback with management and staff and we will ensure that we continuously maintain and improve... More 

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in Durban for five nights for a work trip. I found everything about the hotel adequate, and staff were friendly and responsive. The restaurant was average, and I found the breakfast buffet more than adequate. The Internet connection was solid and the business center met my printing needs, though the center computer ended up infecting my flash drive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yamster
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality Andre-B van Wyk - Scott Group Marketing & Sales Manager... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Conference facilities with a view. Coastlands offers many venues for conferences / workshops. I was in a group of 20 that attended a 2-day workshop at Coastlands on the Ridge. We had morning and afternoon tea and a buffet lunch. The lunch is a wide selection from starters, mani course to desserts They do not offer tea/coffee with the lunch

Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality Andre-B van Wyk - Scott Group Marketing & Sales Manager... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Breakfasts were excellent with a huge assortment of choices. The buffet dinner was also delicious - the lamb curry was beautifully cooked. Service staff were very friendly and helpful. I had the most beautiful view of Durban and the harbour and a huge balcony to enjoy the breeze

Helpful?
Thank Gail A
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality Andre-B van Wyk - Scott Group Marketing & Sales Manager... More 

Durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

I found Coastlands hotel to be exceptionally clean and well maintained. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Greatly recommended. I unfortunately did not make use of any of the other facilities other than dinner and the breakfast as this was a business trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cherylk572
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality Andre-B van Wyk - Scott Group Marketing & Sales Manager... More 

Newcastle, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

I have in the past year changed my holiday stays from most other hotels to that of Coastlands because of the value I receive in return, however the reception staff do need a course on customer service, except for Natasha Govender of Central Reservations who is truly your hospitality ambassador.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suleman L
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality Andre-B van Wyk - Scott Group Marketing & Sales Manager... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#19 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.7 mi away
Coastlands Durban
Coastlands Durban
#20 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Crest of Ridge road with spectacular views over Durban, Coastlands Musgrave Hotel offers 101 modern and comfortable bedrooms. It boasts 58 Standard Rooms, 41 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites. This hotel is ideal for the discerning corporate, leisure and international traveler and is situated minutes away from Durban's iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Greyville Racecourse, Suncoast Casino, uShaka Marine World, Durban Beaches on the Golden Mile and is a mere 35 minutes drive from King Shaka International Airport. Durban University of Technology is 2.5 km from the hotel.Our 6th floor conference and events centre is the ideal venue for your next conference, function or special occasion and we are able to tailor-make a package that suit your needs. We work with suppliers of the highest standard and we are able to assist in any decor or technical requirements.Sip on a cocktail or your favorite drink on our terrace or next to the pool, and enjoy a scrumptious A-la-Carte dinner in our 315 Restaurant. Our Friday evening Spice and Saturday night Seafood Buffet is legendary and offers live entertainment. Room service is available 24 hours a day and our coffee shop serves delectable cakes and desserts.All our bedrooms are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, flat-screen televisions with DSTV and tea & coffee making facilities, laundry service and turndown service.Our friendly and professional staff at the Concierge desk is able to assist you in transport arrangements, luggage storage and guests are welcome to make use of our business centre which offers internet, printing and fax facilities. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.Coastlands Musgrave Hotel welcomes you to Durban, and invites you to explore and experience our beautiful province. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Address: 315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Musgrave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coastlands Musgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlands On The Ridge Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay