We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Africa Regent Guest House

Hotel website
24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Africa Regent Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are just back from a lovely 1 night stay at Africa Regent Guesthouse and felt like this place is excellent quality for the price you pay. Please ignore the negative reviews. The rooms and lounge are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated in a sublime African style. We did not see anything that was in need of replacement. On the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RENARDANTWERP
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fabulous review Ann, it's much appreciated and I have passed on your comments to the staff. Thank you also for the confidence you showed in us and your candid comments. It is fulfilling when guests appreciate the hard work we put into ensuring great value and an all round enjoyable experience for them during their stay.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Guest House felt like a steam pot when we arrived - no air-conditioning in the lounge which made the space un-usable in Durban's subtropical climate. The bathroom only had one light high-up in the ceiling, so forget about trying to shave for example, unless you can do it in the dark! The room was decorated in an African theme,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DrGoodTravel
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry that you two guys did not enjoy your one night stay with us. The room booked through the online travel agent was the exact room you were given (Double sharing, queen bed e/s with air-conditioning ). The rate for the peak period over Christmas week was less than 87 USD a night for the room (4 Star Graded) including... More 

Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Amazing place to stay! Location is perfect - safe area, close to Broadway (great restaurants). The Guest House is beautiful and the host is very friendly. Everything is perfectly in place, rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was great too! Nothing that I can complain about, thank you so much for a lovely stay! Wish it wasn't so short.

Helpful?
Thank Kayla B
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Kayla, much appreciated. We enjoyed having you stay with us even though a short stay. Glad you all aspects of the guest house, the hospitality provided and the close proximity of the restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam The Africa Regent Team More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Yooo the hospitality was top class, the rooms are clean, comfortable and very beautiful. its a home away from home. You are spoilt for choice in terms of breakfast, the place is super safe and things are accesible- Onnica, Pretoria

Helpful?
Thank Onnica M
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review Onnica. It was a real pleasure having you ladies with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I have also passed on your comments to our staff, who were delighted. You will always be welcome and we look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Warm Regards... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

superbly catered for. a supermarket and local shops within driving distance. Durban is a beautiful city. Hotel staff have good knowledge of where and where not to venture. lots of tourist activities available.

Helpful?
Thank J2376DVsarahs
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sarah and how highly you thought of us. Much appreciated by us and the staff. Sorry for the late response, but as you know we have been overseas on holiday. It was great chatting to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your return sometime in the future. Warm Regards Dave... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed my 2night stay at this guesthouse. It is located in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are really friendly and the breakfast is freshly prepared. The guesthouse has a nice bar located at a pool which gives you a subtropical feeling. Next time when I will visit Durban I will use this Guesthouse again, It is highly recommended by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Mike, much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities and ambiance the guest house offers. You will always be welcome and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam The Africa Regent Team. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Really very nice English people Typical British experience ,we even could play the pool while drinking beers, but with an African touch! The pool is nice We had the biggest room on top floor with a nice view on the ocean The breakfast was delicious

Helpful?
Thank AurelienB28
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

There is nothing more rewarding than positive feedback from a guest. Thank you so much for such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed our Penthouse Suite and our English Breakfast. We are also pleased we were able to give you a great impression during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015 via mobile

My second visit and will now be my place of choice when staying in DBN. Rooms are big and spotlessly clean. Breakfast fantastic and all at a really competitive price. When I compare the overall experience as well as the cost I cannot understand why people still use impersonal and overpriced hotels. See you again soon

Helpful?
Thank Grant H
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for another excellent review Grant. Thank you also for the confidence you have shown in us, it's greatly appreciated. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeper and to the chef (my wife). You are always welcome and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards Dave & Pam The Africa Regent Team. More 

London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting her brother and his family in Durban for Xmas and New Year 2014, and he recommended this superb guest house as nearby lodgings. We were not disappointed. In the Africa Regent, proprietors Dave and Pam perfectly marry high-end boutique with a friendly family-run vibe. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and artfully decorated, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob D
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

WOW Rob. Thank you for a fantastic review its much appreciated. It was great having you both stay with us over the festive season and even though you had a busy schedule, we enjoyed the moments we were able to chat with you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking. We... More 

Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Pam and Dave really created a wonderful guesthouse, with all a guest can wish for: Great breakfast, nice lounge, good internet, welcoming hosts, quiet nabourhood, good food places in walking distance, secured parking, stylish interieur, etc.

Helpful?
1 Thank A F
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review, we are so pleased that all was to your liking and that you held us in such high esteem. Much appreciated. We always strive to reach the highest standard and to create a relaxed homely but unique atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#9 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
4.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Edward
Protea Hotel Edward
#10 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
3.6 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#16 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
4.6 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay