We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Backpackers

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Backpackers
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is great. The place need to be cleaned up. linen either need replacement or cleaned. rooms are dark. Probably should be painted to brighten the place. you seem to have workers not sure what they do. Random people hang out at the bar. Improve your lighting Could make some difference. Cleanliness is key.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SFD2014
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for almost 3 months and I miss it really badly. The backpackers itself is clean and nice. There´s a beautiful pool area and breakfast is included. But a lot of Backpackers can offer this. The great and unique thing about Nomads is the atmosphere. You feel like you live in a house with friends. In particular Johnny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luca_woeger
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights while on a quick visit through Durban. It's located in a safe neighbourhood with a large supermarket within 5 minutes walk located within a small shopping centre. When I arrived I was immediately welcomed into a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere by Johnny and Prashen. I went on a Zulu tour and Johnny's walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhw_ie
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Im glad to see you had a great time visiting us, yes Johnny is very proud of our city and really enjoys showing Durban off to as many Guests as he can all with that personal touch, hopefully your return is sooner than later, have a good trip further. Deryck

Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Very noisy- lots of permanent people staying there not so many travelers to mingle with. Strange people lurking around....Music was up loud till early hours of the morning every night. Uncomfortable bed and no air conditioning. Staff were friendly though often intoxicated...terrible parking and poor value for money. We stayed for four nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 442hamishp
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

I'm Sorry to hear you weren't comfortable, the thing is during the quiet season we do get requests for contractors who have landed jobs to do in Durban and surrounds and usual they help fill most of our Dorm room Accommodation or a few days to a few weeks, you stayed in one of our Private En-suite rooms I see,...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Stayed there for a month, if were not for the company it would have been hard for me to pull through. The lady intern had zero customer care.The place would not have been the same if Johhny was not there. He is friendly, warm and available to assist. There a number of people who just lurk around passing weird remarks...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tandiliscious
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you weren't totally happy, Johnny does make feel welcome its his love for Durban and being able to tell people about Durban that helps a lot of guests sometimes extend their stay, im sorry about the bed change issue we do have a policy of every 7th day linen change for guests who stay long, i will...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed March 8, 2017

At first was unsure of the multiracial setting. In time clicked with everyone. Jonhnny was exceptional. Always checking on us. Lionel was also good, exaiming everything. The owner is out of this world, very friendly, caring and always there. The manager, reserved but good with customer satisfaction. The whole experience was excellent. Will certainly make it my home every time...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C2788TZbrianm
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your Feedback, that what we have found to be great in the time we living that everyone can get along and conversation then becomes interesting therefore guests get the feel of a happy South Africa, something that they can take home and remember in years to come.

Kathu, South Africa
Reviewed January 10, 2017

For my 1 st back packers experience this was the best will defnitely recommend to friends and family.We all feeled save and they went out of their way to make us feel very welcome specially the hostes and Johnny .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 939calvine
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review always feels good when guests are happy its always hard to reply to bad reviews but they are important too so that we can improve, your review reminds us that we are on the right path.

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed December 28, 2016

The place looks like a brothel , fullbof men that look like they permanently stay there and girls who are just scary. It smells of mould, the bathrooms are across the enetrtainment area with alm the men playin snooker and drinking. Its also in the shady part of town. We didnt sleep there we left and made altetantive arrangements. It...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 763anoni
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry you feel this way, a brothel is a place with lots of naked women around so maybe the word brothel is not quiet right as a backpackers we are open to all kinds of ppl male, female, contractor, corporate, old and young we find that we are all ppl with our own likes and dislikes and each make their...

Alyth, Scotland
Reviewed November 16, 2016

I am so glad that we decided to book at Nomad Backpackers. What a lovely place! Our room was large and had a little balcony where I sat in the morning with a cup of coffee. Later I wandered around the pretty gardens and wished we were staying longer so that I could enjoy the little pool that was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review always so nice to hear from happy ppl, yes you must definately take the walking tour with Johnny he loves telling ppl about Durban and showing them all the spots you wouldn't normally get to see.

Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my friend originally planned to stay for 2 nights but as we love a city we extended it to 4 and it was the best decision we've made! The first day we went on a tour of Durban with Johnny the guide, which was really fun and informative and he made us feel really safe our entire stay!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your response, I will pass on the message to all the staff and to Johnny and we hope to see you soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
81 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#10 of 249 in Durban
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 77 in Durban
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated minutes away from pubs, restaurants, movies & shops, Nomads is a friendly, homely spot run by Leigh & her team. After 15 years of being in business, they promise to provide efficient service in a welcoming atmosphere. They will go out of their way to make you feel at home, help you with travel info & answer any other questions you might have. While you chilling around the pool or hanging out at the Bambooza Bar you'll more than likely make a bunch of new friends, experience some memorable moments and have fun. Nomads offer all the facilities you would expect, to suite every travelers needs. The bar, pool table and swimming pool are located in the original house whilst the two adjacent houses offer a quieter atmosphere with large, comfortable doubles and fans in all the rooms. Our Urban Brew restaurant offers meals with African and Indian theme nights to tempt your taste buds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Backpackers

Address: 70 Essenwood Road | Kzn, Durban 4400, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Shopping Mall close by.”
SFD2014, 1 week ago | Read review
“We just relied on the knowledgeable and helpful staff”
ConnieG69, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the dorms, it is quite cramped.”
Queerkl, Mar 8, 2016 | Read review
“Join in or you won't enjoy it haha”
stuartc691, Dec 16, 2015 | Read review
“Book a suite. Avoid the dorms.”
michelles377, Oct 16, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question