We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Perfect location for durban visitors.train Station & beach 5 mins away. Hostel has 2 brilliant pools Sun deck with nice ocean view.staff were more than nice. Parking space and supermarket are also nearby. Hostel is really clean also

Helpful?
Thank Lars L
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Lars, Thank you so, so much for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge. Wishing you all the best and hope to seeing you again in future. The Blue Sky Mining Team=) More 

Numbi, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Honestly, I would like to give them 3,5 stars, but rounding it up as the staff is very lovely and helpful. We stayed a week in the self-catering cottage. Our first impression was that it has a lovely view and well maintained. It had a lovely balcony to sit on and enjoy the view (but the chairs could be a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very close to the sea. Great affordable food and drinks. My only gripe is the lack of comfy furniture and couches to just chill out and lay back in. All the seating was upright restaurant style or hard benches. I will still be back though.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Bryan, Thanks a million for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into your comment regarding comfy furniture - really appreciate your honesty. Wishing you all the best and hope to seeing you again in future. Best Regards, Romy More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We found this hostel by chance and it became the favourite place we stayed during our south africa trip. For little money you get lots of service, nice views, clean rooms and much more. Quite close to the beach you also find relaxing spots in the big garden with two pools. You can either buy meals or cook it yourself... More 

Helpful?
Thank Florian M
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Florian, Thank you very, very much for your great feedback with regards to your stay at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us! Wishing you all the best and hope to seeing you again in future=) Romy More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Lovely helpful staff, very nice rooms, very clean. Views of the beach from decking area. Nice restaurant. There was a Zulu cooking lesson going on the night we stayed and it seemed they always had something planned to entertain there guests. Shared kitchen for guests. Swimming pool. Baz bus stop!! Would recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Emily B
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Emily, Thanks a lot for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as food at Blue Sky Mining. Hope to seeing you again in future. Wishing you all the best. Romy More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We stayed in the Great White Self Catering cottage at BSM and it was good value for money. We were given a warm welcome on arrival, checked in and shown around by a very friendly and chatty lady. Our self catering cottage was basic (wooden floors/walls etc) but clean and well kept. The only real problem we had with it... More 

Helpful?
Thank bougar
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Frankie & Rob, Thank you very, very much for your positive comment with regards to your stay at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy your short stay overall. Indeed, the dogs can be quite annoying - during the day as well as at night. We will try to address... More 

Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

Brilliant stay a year later at the slef catering unit with my family. staff always very polite and helpful.Very convenient to the beach with many sites to choose from. Food was good and recommend restaurants in the area were perfect.will make this a yearly tradition. Brie from the slef catering unit is awesome to say the least. Very nearly keet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daryl N
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Daryl, Thank you very, very much for your lovely comments! We are very glad to hear to you and your family enjoyed your second stay with us! Wishing you a great weekend and hope to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Romy More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

On arrival already did not receive a warm welcome. Rooms as expected, clean and maintained. For a backpackers the vibe was terrible, not because of the guests but staff were unacommadating. The view is wonderfull, what a shame about the service. Wont see me again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Magriet S
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Magriet, First of all, my apologies for taking so long to respond to your review. We are very sad to hear that you were unhappy with the service received. In fact, our staff is known to be very friendly and helpful as per many guest's comment received especially at the end of last year! NB: December is a very... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 via mobile

A secret little heaven along the coast. Thank you Fiona for excellent service and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The view was spectacular and bunny chow was very tasteful. Very clean rooms and good security. You will see us again.

Helpful?
Thank Tanja v
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Tanja, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and food at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge! Hope to seeing you again in future. Best Regards, Romy More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We originally planned on staying a day or two, but kept extending our stay. They were busy, so every time we extended we had to change rooms, but that wasn't a problem. It meant we were able to experience different parts of Blue Sky mining. They have lots of ideas/knowledge about activities in Kwazulu Natal. They helped up book diving... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank travelbuff2012
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so, so much for your awesome feedback regarding your recent stay at Blue Sky Mining! It is great to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us even though you had been moved around a lot=) NB: Would you be so kind as to please re-confirm the name of the room as per your recommendations as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
18.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
19.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#11 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
An Upper Room
An Upper Room
#4 of 257 in Durban
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akidogo Guest House
Akidogo Guest House
#1 of 1 in Kingsborough
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
4.4 mi away
305 Guest House
305 Guest House
#1 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge

Address: 5 Nelson Palmer Rd, Durban 4126, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay