We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Start your review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I highly recommend staying in this wonderful hotel. All the rooms have an old world colonial charm. But that is not all. The surrounding gardens and Koi fiish Pond is gorgeous and peaceful and certainly rejuvenates the soul after a busy business day or intence sight seeing schedules. I arrived at the hotel extremely stressed and found myself feeling totally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank healthandwise
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights for the first part of our honeymoon. When we arrived I was shocked to find out that they had doubled charged me for another room. They said that they would resolve the issue before we left the hotel. However to date they have still not refunded me for this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seth M
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Seth M, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. Whilst we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meals and were happy with the room you stayed in for your honeymoon, we are equally disappointed to note that you did not receive our usual...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip to Johannesburg. The hotel is set in a quiet residential neighbourhood close to Sandton. Great service, good food and well appointed rooms. Everything a business traveller could ask for. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derek937
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent review of the Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write about our beautiful hotel and services we offer. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that you were pleased with our excellent service, spacious guestrooms and that you had a wonderful...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here one night on arrival in Jo'burg on our way to Kruger. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. They sorted out taxis for us to get to the City Bus Tour, and because my Uber app wasn't working they arranged the return taxi. The room was very comfortable with adequate power point for charging gadgets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Ingamells
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent detailed review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write about our beautiful hotel and services we offer. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that you were pleased with our excellent service, spacious guestrooms and that you had a wonderful...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Established and professional hotel in a nice residential setting. Efficient and friendly staff, lots of facilities. Pleasant rooms with high ceilings which never feel cramped. Perfect for business trip to Sunninghill. Slightly more pricey than Falstaff, but well worth it for the separate shower. Very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobvT1973
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could provide you with great service from our friendly and efficient staff. Your comments are appreciated and very motivating. We strive for service excellence and put a lot of effort into making...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am writing this review sitting on the comfortable bed of the hotel and still to check out. Management were kind enough to give us an early check-in i mean as early as 5 am. They also gave us flexibility in terms of which day we would like to have our bfast. Hotel is very unique and in a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajarshipanigrahi
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of the Faircity Quatermain Hotel, your comments and feedback are highly appreciated. It is pleasing to note that you had such a lovely time at our hotel and that the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We are especially happy to hear you enjoyed our scrumptious breakfast as well as our...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first stay and am not great on cities. However, the hotel has been well designed to introduce space to give one a less cramped feeling. The rooms are large and spacious and have all that could be asked for. Hotel staff are all friendly. Nice options of eating indoors or outdoors next to the pool and under the trees....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMacAfrica
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, your comments and feedback are highly appreciated. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed all the amenities and services on offer during your stay including the relaxing garden area, spacious rooms and great service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed January 20, 2017

If you're going to Sandton, this is the place to be, only a few minutes drive away from shopping malls & the bustling business centre. The hotel & grounds are beautiful & exceptionally well maintained. Everything is spotlessly clean & staff go our of their way to make your stay pleasant. Rooms are spacious, well furnished & the beds some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David_and_Kerstin
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David_and_Kerstin, Thank you for providing us with such a great review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location close to many attractions you enjoyed during your stay. We are especially happy to hear you enjoyed our tranquil surroundings and spacious, comfortable rooms. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Great little business hotel in perfect location for a visit to Joburg. Sandton City is 10 minutes drive away. Has everything you need and Morningside Shopping Centre around the corner for great restaurants in safe location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good laundry service too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn E
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn E, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and was happy with the location of our hotel. We are also so delighted to hear you received friendly service from our helpful staff...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

There is something really eye catching about the hotel from the moment you walk into the reception area. The look and feel has a classic style and truly warm service waiting for you. The free shuttle service was a bonus for my return trip to OR Tambo via the Gautrain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
MarkWernich, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James W, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback of your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the classic look and feel of our hotel. We are also very happy to hear you had a great experience with our Faircity Friendly...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 49 in Sandton
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#25 of 49 in Sandton
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#12 of 49 in Sandton
1,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#12 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Faircity Quatermain Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Faircity Quatermain Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room away from pool area - people eat and socialise there and you wont have much peace and quiet in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles AMacAfrica, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms away from the pool area are quieter, but then it's a long walk to the restaurant or the exit.”
 of 5 bubbles David_and_Kerstin, Jan 20, 2017 | Read review
“Request a room away from the bar as this can get noisy in the evenings”
 of 5 bubbles 973carolyne, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in corridor net to 427 have a nice view of courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles JanineZA, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“The rooms past the Gym and Library are very quite and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles victors331, Dec 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question