We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Sandton

Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)

About

#29 of 65 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the heart of bustling Sandton, this Courtyard Hotel exudes warmth and charm among the grandiose buildings which surround it. The ambience is true home from home comfort and relaxation. The hotel is in close proximity to The Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square with easy access to major motorways and only 30 minutes from Johannesburg’s international airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Car hire
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Paid wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
99Reviews
4Q+A
23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 55
  • 10
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This almost aparthotel has everything you need for a short and long stay with microwave and capsule coffee machine. The room is very clean, generous space and even a balcony with a table and chairs. The Internet is very good and close is the Mandela Park, a huge mall, which is at walking distance but the hotel offers a complimentary ride, and even a supermarket, Pick and Pay. Very, very recommendable.
Read more
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Responded Feb 24, 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Initially, my friend and I were booked somewhere else but a friend recommended this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendliness and professionalism. Great touches- like water and iced tea upon arrival, and efficient calls for taxis etc. the room was big and clean and even the skin products were nice. Thanks to Lister who always seemed to help us whenever we needed directions or had tourist questions. Her co-worker was also very sweet. The front desk was able to print off personal paperwork for me quickly. Thanks for a wonderful stay with wonderful staff!
Read more
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Responded Feb 16, 2018
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
To be honest I did not choose this hotel. I requested my Company's agent to take another one with similar name, closer than this one to the mall and Gautrain station of Sandton. But with 5 mn walk, the hotel and people are so radically more welcoming for the same price that I will not hesitate next time and specify the address to make sure to be at THIS courtyard. They offer a complimentary lift to the station and the mall if you do not wish the 5mn walk. Each room is an independant floor of a small villa. Small pool. And the lady at the check in at this kind of smile making you think: this is where I want to stay.
Read more
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Responded Feb 12, 2018
Thank you for choosing a City Lodge Hotel as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
This Courtyard Hotel is different from the other hotels that surround Mandela Square. It is low rise (2 stories) and the rooms all have outdoor entrances from walkways between the buildings. The vibe is more like a condominium or apartment complex rather than a hotel. In most ways, that is a good thing, although when you're carrying your luggage up a flight of stairs to your room, you may remember why elevators were a helpful invention. We had the smallest room--a studio--but it was generous in size and comfy. A tiny kitchenette with a small refrigerator, sink, microwave and toaster is concealed in one of the many closets. The bathroom was large with both a stall shower and bathtub. The room was in good repair, and everything worked. Room lighting was very good, and electric outlets were plentiful. The room was very quiet; sleep quality was excellent. The breakfast buffet was well presented, with a variety of cereals, breads, and juices. Eggs are cooked to order; there was also bacon, two types of sausage, and hot potatoes, beans and tomatoes. Our room rate also included the "club" service--drinks and "light fare" served from 17:00-20:00. That service could easily serve as a light dinner. Offerings including appetizers such as spring rolls or sliders, a salad, a soup, and two entrees each night (mushroom risotto and chicken wings one night, beef kabobs and a chicken/mushroom pie the next). An unusual feature that promoted us to book this hotel (since we were between safaris with piles of laundry to wash) is a self service laundry, available 24/7. Charges were modest, but note that the laundry machines are also used by hotel staff to wash towels and sheets. Expect delays. All of the above would warrant an excellent rating for this hotel, but there were issues. The in-room wi-fi was essentially non-functional, although we later found a signal on the patio of our room. Absent that, you'll need to sit in the small lobby to use the wi-fi. Hotel staff were not helpful in resolving this problem,. A bigger problem: we had no hot water for early morning showers. After an uncomfortably cold shower the first morning (despite letting the "hot" water run for 5-10 minutes) I decided to be more patient the second morning. After letting the hot water for 17 minutes, there still was no hot water. Another cold shower. Hot water was available an hour later, however. Finally, this hotel is a 10-12 minute walk from the Gautrain station, longer than you're likely to want to walk with luggage. And there is no fitness center. The similarly priced Radisson Blu Gautrain offers better service and a more convenient location.
Read more
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Responded Jan 9, 2018
Thank you for staying with us and for your sharing your comprehensive review. While we're really happy that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay - we're sorry to hear about the wifi and water situation. Please accept our apologies that you were let down in this regard. We have brought both issues to the attention of the hotel's management. We'd love to see you again so we can have a chance to improve your experience.
Read more
Rooms are big, well set out, outside veranda is very pleasant. Great little kitchenette with microwave fridge etc.. Great bath with shower. Easy safe walk to Convention centre, Mandela Square, Sandton shopping mall. Much better value than some of the other hotels. They were having Wi-Fi issues - only fly in the ointment- they need to get it sorted as although free and unlimited - it is not work properly. Free gym access next door - the booklet does not make that clear
Read more
Response from The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Responded Nov 17, 2017
Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$92 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard sandton, sandton courtyard
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing