We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

87 reviews
Save
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (5)
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good45%
  • Average22%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“managed hotel”(2 reviews)
“first floor”(3 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (87)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
17
34
19
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
17
34
19
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanaged hotelfirst floorgreat facilitiessandton gautrain stationcomfortable roomsgreat staymandela squarebusinesshousekeepinggym
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 82 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2015

The room was perfect, wide and clean. The service was fine but I just got sometimes little issue with the landline phone. It's was calm and discret; that helped me to learn when preparing my exams without problem. I suggest it to every one looking...More

Thank Kamsv12
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton MorningsideResponded September 28, 2015

Hi there, thank you very much for such an amazing review. We hope you got through all the studying you need too. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the phone lines, however thank you for alerting us. We hope to see...More

Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly sevice, the very clean and fresh room. Welk appointed room. Good value in Johannesburg and very centrally located. Well done and well managed. Good for business trips. Excellent and super fast service to the room when I ordered...More

Thank Riël G
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton MorningsideResponded September 11, 2015

Thank you for staying with us Riel. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward...More

Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Understand that it is not the Hilton, but it comes at a good price, is quiet and clean, and the rooms are very livable. The tv and aircon in the room works very well. Nothing wrong here. I find it difficult to understand why this...More

Thank Travelbuddy2010
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton MorningsideResponded July 23, 2015

Thank you for staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having...More

Reviewed May 31, 2015

We stayed here for one night when on transit through Jo'burg up to the Blyde River Canyon. First things first, even with a sat nav the hotel was difficult to locate and those we asked for directions had never heard of it either. Eventually once...More

1  Thank eitak24
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton MorningsideResponded June 4, 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for the review. We are sorry to hear that you battled to find the hotel – we will look into this. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, but it looks like we let you down on this...More

Reviewed April 27, 2015

My wife and I travel a lot to Sandton on business and there is nothing that I love like a hotel that has the best rooms and takes great care of them. We enjoyed our weeknd stay. Its great for romantics on the move.Affordable as...More

1  Thank M0abi
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton MorningsideResponded May 4, 2015

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you and all business partners found the hotel facilities and rooms well-looked after. We look forward to having...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678917
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Center with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Room Service
Free Parking
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
$110 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$110 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kuda N
December 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from The_CLHG_Team | Property representative |
Hi Kuda, Unfortunately only selected City Lodge Hotels have interleading rooms and Morningside is not one of them. Our Town Lodge Sandton, Grayston Drive, which is in close proximity to City Lodge Hotel Morningside does... More
0
Votes
Bonginkosi N
October 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from The_CLHG_Team | Property representative |
Hi there, we cannot give you contact details on Tripadvisor however you can check out our website for the number.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Only experienced their standard rooms - those further from the staircases are quieter."
Read review
"Avoid the basement - too dull and depressing."
Read review
"Avoid rooms on the lower level where the Gym and entrance to the back service areas are if you are a light..."
Read review
"Crisp linen. Fresh smelling and modern bathroom."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing