We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Special Offer
Member Rates
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

We booked one room for a family of 4. Upon arrival there were only 2 towels. After various phone calls to reception and eventually leaving our room to ask for towels at reception,we finally received towels. When informing reception that we didnt have hot water,she responded that we probably didnt know how to operate the tap. 😲😲😲😲😲 We were too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stellavm
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Stellavm. Thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback to us. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and the discomfort that that was caused to you. We regret the unacceptable service you received at our hotel. You are indeed correct that should the room be booked for four GUESTS we need to cater accordingly.... More 

England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

I had a very pleasant stay here last week.. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms were clean and well-maintained. The restaurant has a good range of dishes, and the breakfasts had a wide choice of delicious foods, ranging from the full cooked breakfast, fruits, yogurts, cereal, cheese, ham etc Despite the busy roads nearby, the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimboAndCoco
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear JimboAndCoco, We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. GUEST perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with us is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback Please be... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Colleagues and I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions in the last two months. Whilst the rooms are a little dated - but redesign and refurbishment are on the cards for later this year - the warmth of the welcome and attentiveness of the staff cannot be faulted. Nothing is too much trouble and any problems... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Gillian B. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalized service. We will make sure we commend the TEAM for their excellent service. As discussed with you personally, it is indeed correct that our design TEAM... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

As much as big corporates and large chain operations want to believe and aim to get “the coke to taste the same” at all branches it very seldom is the case. However, I do believe they getting it right at Protea Roodepoort as reception is friendly, alert and ensure a rapid check-in. Have stayed here a number of times because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christelle S
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Christelle S, Thank you for your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience for all our GUESTS travels. We have shared your feedback with the hotel TEAM to ensure they continue to meet and exceed GUESTS expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is probably not one of those you would put among the "must go back" ones. Rooms are pretty basic, no wardrobe, no complimentary water, room key that stopped working three time in four days, there is often bad smell in the corridors... But if the hotel itself should probably need one star taken off the declared 3, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlbertNijn
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear AlbertNijn, I refer to the feedback you kindly sent to us after your recent stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback is viewed in a serious light. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. It is correct that we offer only standard rooms with an open... More 

Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

The hotel seemed good but after our arrival, we had bad surprises!! The hair dryer was out of order, I stayed wit my wet hair waiting for service and they arrived after two hours!!! No iron in room... Empty and dirty chiller in the room and no international channels in TV... Nothing to do in spare time, no pool, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pattykiari1980
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Patrizia G, I refer to the feedback that you kindly sent after your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvenience that was caused to you.We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Roodepoort is viewed in a serious light. We have noted your comments... More 

Travelers are raving about these Roodepoort hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

nice hotel, nice people, nice room. no complaints. Good location near highways. Parking in the evening a problem though, due to Spur resturant next door.Breakfast was nice, good menu, could use a few more DSTV channels.

Helpful?
Thank mohamedallie
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear mohamedallie, Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. We apologize for the delayed response. We are delighted to have hosted you recently. We have communal parking which we share with Spur Patrons, our security personnel are always alert to ensure that the hotel GUESTS get preference to park near the hotel at all times, we will once again communicate... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

The hotel appears 'clean' and the staff was friendly however, there were tiny friends crawling all around our rooms. We stayed on the 4th floor (room 415 & 416) and reported roaches in the room. The first thing that the staff member asked was, 'are the windows open?' Seriously! these are resident roaches, they don't come in an out through... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank disgusted201566
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear disgusted201566, Firstly I would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in our response. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize profusely for the discomfort and the inconvenience caused during your stay. The cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured... More 

Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

I was pleasantly surprised by this venue. Read some previous reviews and was not sure what to expect. Friendly staff, clean facilities, everything was more than adequate. I will definitely stay again. Breakfast might be a bit overpriced? The rest is good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank KiloDelta65
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

We know the Protea group has always held a high standard, so we did not hesitate to book. But what we received was a huge surprise. We staff were so friendly and professional, and catered to our every need. It like they just keep getting better and better. In the rooms, a box of Astro chocolates we waiting for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madelein B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
5.2 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.8 mi away
All Suite on 14th
All Suite on 14th
#33 of 74 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
6.0 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. The Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesburg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Address: 14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Price Range: $56 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Roodepoort 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Protea Hotel Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Roodepoort Greater Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay