We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Silver Birch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Silver Birch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was very glad that I choose Silver Birch to sleep over Silver Birch is Ontdekkers and very near the Flora clinic I was also suprised to see the chicken place so near so you go there and buy chicken!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A7720IPsandras
Doha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Kevin made me feel very welcome and comfortable. Mingling with him and other guests over breakfast conversation was relaxed and informative. The accommodation was very comfortable and totally safe. I will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank garywP2065XB
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Kevin and his wife were so friendly and very helpful and accommodating.Would absolutely book with them again - the breakfast was perfect and the value for money was ideal. Kevin very graciously offered some lifts for my student and I which saved us some money with Uber.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kristyb178
Mafikeng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

My wife and I had an enjoyable weekend and we can not wait visit and have a nice sleep at this place again. It is conveniently located for one to enjoy shopping at the nearby Westgate shopping Mall. The rooms are clean and the place is secure We are definitely coming again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lovemorem944
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

I found your establishment to be excellent and well appointed. The garden was especially nice with the perfume of roses and other plants noticeable in my Tugela room. The food at breakfast was great and the company was really outstanding. I will only use your establishment when coming to the west Rand.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 984berniel
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

If you travelling in a group Silver Birch is definitely not for you. On arrival we received such a hostile reception because of a misunderstanding that made the weekend most horrible. Partial of the team left early for an event and not knowing some were leaving later Kevin enters the rooms with his masters keys without permission total violation of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cupido G
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Cupido I am afraid you made the reception unpleasant because you booked for 11 people and arrived with 15 expecting to sleep 4 in a room that sleeps 2 and 3 in 2 rooms that sleep 2. On booking you requested 4 people to join you for breakfast which we agreed to at R 50 per head. On... More 

Kathu, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

A bit overpriced but I stayed comfortably, parking isn't great and a bit difficult if you've got a vehicle bigger than a hatchback or sedan, Kevin as receiption is friendly and helpful, you'll get enough for breakfast

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 328dawiej
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

I had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Room was convenient for me, the staff very friendly. Room was neat & clean. Enjoyed the breakfast, the excellent hospitality by Kevin. The establishment is well run and can be recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dawncO3406BS
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit. More 

Mogwase
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

The B &B is so secured and the warm welcome , hospitality is always remembered, enjoyed my stay there. I will definitely call again once in the area and more so recommend to my friends and family to book in while around..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank masegomokotedi
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review

Thanks. I look forward to welcoming you in the future. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Stayed for a week at the bnb. Close to UNISA, no traffic to campus, close to shops. It was such a pleasant experience, a home away from home, I would definitely book at Silver Birch for my next stay. Kevin could always be easily found on the premises and was most helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kratish
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review

Thanks Kratish. Hope you passed your course. Kevin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
6.7 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
5.1 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Alicia's B&B
Alicia's B&B
#1 of 25 in Roodepoort
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our well designed bed and breakfast is set in a tranquil garden and in a safe suburb. We cater for both leisure and business travellers. For the business man its home away from home and for the leisure traveller its a sample of true Soutrh African hospitality We are 3 Star Graded by the SA Tourism Council. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Silver Birch

Address: 19 Mulder Street | Ontdekkers Park, Roodepoort 1709, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Price Range: $39 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Birch 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Birch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Birch Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay