We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Castello di Monte

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castello di Monte
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for ons night. The dinner en service was fantastic. The room we stayed in was spacious and the bed great. Having breakfast on the terrace was peaceful and the views beautiful. The breakfast has a small continental breakfast as well as a varied warm breakfast. The service at the guesthouse is 5 star. This is definitely a place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janloubser
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Used as a stopover beautiful building, superb bathroom, lovely, friendly staff. Quiet location. Nice food. Large, spacious room with everything you needed. Staff very good at looking after your needs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher & J... P
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Respected Guest, We appreciate your encouraging feedback , thank you. We strive to provide the best service to all guests; to make them feel at home but also to provide great experience and create beautiful memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castello Di Monte. Best Wishes Tanja More 

Porthcawl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A truly stunning hotel, beautiful decor and very attentive staff. Great stopover hotel for Blue Train experience. Food was excellent and attention to detail present at all times. Would highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elaif
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your generous and affirmative comments , thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castello Di Monte. Yours Sincerely Tanja More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for only one night. It's got a great location in Pretoria. It was built as an embassy (I'm guessing Italian) but never occupied as such. It's very nice, but I wouldn't say it's 5 star. The amenities are not quite there, and the service/staff are nice, but not overly friendly (except our waitress was excellent). The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank LisaLosAngeles
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Respected Guests, Thank you for your constructive feedback. It is truly appreciated. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Previously we were not on standard as we had anticipated. Castello has appointed a new chef, Stephen Nortje, on the 17th September 2016. We can now with confidence promote our restaurant and function/wedding venue.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful, Tuscan-style hotel in the upscale Waterkloof area of Pretoria. We stayed here twice in three different rooms. All were stunning. We really felt like we were in a wonderful Italian villa. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. The meals were very tasty. Our only drawback was the typical high wall and electric wire combination along... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan G
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests, Thank you so much for your encouraging feedback. It is truly appreciated. We trust you had a good journey and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Tanja More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the Castello di Monte while attending the AAD air show in Waterkloof, on the recommendation of a colleague who was a guest two years earlier. I thought the standard of service and accommodation was exemplary. I had dinner on two evenings and found it exceptionally good and great value. Perhaps the highlight though was the spectacular 360... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank murdom215
Castello_Di_Monte, General Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back for the next AAD air show Warm regards Madeleen Jacobsz More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very disappointing experience for me & my guests. The service was good, a 3 out of 5 but the food was not at all on the expected level of a 5* venue. The food was definitely not freshly prepared as the breads were very dry & so were the toppings. The scones were cold and not served... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 499laurindam
Castello_Di_Monte, General Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I am terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on the High Tea you hosted here on 10 September 2016. I would like to assure you that we now have a new chef (since Saturday 17 Sept) and that the food is now on a five star level. My sincere apologies for the... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights and felt so far ok. Just sad to see, that the potential of this wonderful building is not fully used. A bit a lack of management and lack of feeling live in the house. During the night nobody was available for contacting when we had power off in our wing.

Helpful?
Thank Marco M
Castello_Di_Monte, General Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Respected guests, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We do value your comments. We would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the power outage. Our electrician found that the power at the DB board closest to your room tripped that evening. Our phone line went down due to this. We are so sorry as our... More 

New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is truly a superb experience. Like staying in a European Vila. Outstanding service and food. Views from the top of the Vila were outstanding. Rooms element. Staff was always at your service. Lush gardens surrounding. Truly a place to remember.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob-Raisa
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your compassionate feedback, we truly appreciate your observations. We hope to welcome you back to Castello on your next visit. Yours Sincerely Tanja Kitching More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a number of hotels in Pretoria and I must admit Castello di Monte is the best Guesthouse - a guesthouse that is far better than all of the hotels I stayed at. The staff is so friendly and are ready to help with anything. I love the location and the views. The rooms are clean, spacious and... More 

Helpful?
Thank an12349
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Respected Guest Thank you for your generous feedback and we truly appreciate your opinion. It warms our hearts to know that you had a great experience and we will thank all departments involved, as we work meticulously together to create an unforgettable experience. We look forward to welcome you and your team back to your “home” and wish you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.1 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#2 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
10.9 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#8 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohemian House
Bohemian House
#1 of 342 in Pretoria
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castello di Monte Is a Five Star Guest House, situated in Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria. The Tuscan style estate portrays pure luxury and elegance and offers spectacular views of the hills in and around the capital city. The landscaped gardens with mature olive trees and lavender bushes give an Italian flavour to the African landscape.You will hardly notice that you are in the middle of a bustling city. At Castello di Monte it is easy to believe that you had found paradise Introduction If luxury is in the detail, then a stay at Castello di Monte is filled with pure indulgence whether you are walking the dramatic stairways made of the finest granite or feasting on the elegant art that adorns our walls you will be pressed to find a more extravagant surroundings. Be it for a corporate meeting or a romantic getaway on our Panoramic deck, Castello di Monte offers the perfect setting. When it is time to retire, you will be spoiled for choice. Will it be our presidential suite complete with a grand fire place and a four post bed or our honeymoon suite decorated with hand painted murals or our freshly made classic rooms fit for royalty, a sumptuous night is ensured. Castello di Monte's sixteenth century splendour is complimented by every modern amenity. Fully stocked minibars and DSTV right down to underfloor heating, air-conditioning and the creature comforts of tea, coffee and local papers, at Castello di Monte your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castello di Monte

Address: 402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: $126 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Castello di Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay