We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Brooklyn Guesthouses

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brooklyn Guesthouses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Mokopane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

The guest house is located in a safe and quiet surburb of Brooklyn. The Breakfast is okay. The room we were located needs a lot of work, I was not happy with the bed (old and noisy), the room did not have a heater or air-conditioner (it is winter time).

Helpful?
Thank Mantshom
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Good day Sir First of all thank you for honest comments, I do apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced at our establishment. We are busy refurbishing all our rooms but the process takes time, the reception does have extra heaters and all our rooms do not have Air-Conditioning. This however I know is not your responsibility. Thus we would like... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

The friendly staff makes you feel welcome when you arrive and throughout your stay. The rooms are mostly old manors and thus roomy. The facilities are basic, but you have all self-catering facilities in the house, if not in the room. They have small conference facilities, a large garden to relax in and a pool for the summer. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sakkie58
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for kind review, We love to hear that our establishment is enjoyed by our guests be it business or leisure We hope to see you again soon Kind regards More 

Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

We visit Pretoria twice a year and always stay at Brooklyn Guesthouse everytime, the most beautiful place with accomodation for everyone's needs. We love room 24 that is a private garden cottage at the swimmimg pool, were we can enjoy breakfast on the patio in the mornings. The staff is very friendly and very helpfull. We can highly recommend Brooklyn... More 

Helpful?
Thank wilnarossouw
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

You are so welcome Wilna Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon. It is always a pleasure having you with us. Till the next visit. More 

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

I stayed at the Brooklyn Guesthouses for three nights as an educator for a school tennis tour. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All 10 rooms were clean when we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and the guest house gladly accommodated us with an earlier breakfast due to our tour's demands. The guest house is ideally situated in walking distance from Brooklyn... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaricelleSA
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Hi Maricelle It was a pleasure hosting your group and meeting all of you. We hope to see you again on the next round. Thank you for your well mannered students and your friendliness. Micheal More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

I am currently staying at Brooklyn guesthouses over a period of 5 nights. The room was adequate for my needs including dstv & wifi with tea/coffee facilities. The shower could have been cleaner as there was still evidence of the previous occupant left in the shower. Complementary shampoo & body wash were provided but obviously left by the last occupant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharnay N
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Good day Sharnay N Thank you for you honest review of our establishment, I must apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced, it is unacceptable we have taken it up with the cleaning staff. We do service every room every day and supply new amenities to those new arrival rooms. Your other concerns has also been addressed. In your future visits... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our two young kids. It's a big compound with a lot of space. Our room was actually part of a house with big living rooms and kitchen shared with other rooms. The room itself was fine, nothing special. Nice pool. Pitty you cannot have dinner there but they can order take away for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ewout I
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

They say if you stick your head in the fire and your feet in ice, you will feel fine, "on average". We'll I feel fine about this visit. The venue is quite interesting and creates a positive environment. Rooms are typical hotel rooms (neat, good bed, clean bath room etc), even though I had to swop to get to a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Loved my stay here. The place is designed as a mini-neighborhood. There is one main house and several villas around the compound. The staff is friendly and made me feel like I was staying at a friend's house. Everything was kept clean and food was average. Food is a bit eclectic (fish and chips for breakfast right along yogurt, toast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank K G
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

This hotel is in fact several houses in a compound that the owner bought one by one, each house being totally différent from the others. This originality alone is reason enough to stay at this place. Also, plenty of lttle corners with plants and shade like small gardens. Our room and bathroom were nice and clean, staff friendly. Brooklyn is... More 

Helpful?
Thank BelgianOnTheRoad
new york city, new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the guest house for a week while attending a conference in Pretoria. My room was clean and comfortable- The staff was pleasant- The breakfast and meals were consistently good. The location was safe- The price was reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank artlovernyc22
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Osborne Guest House
Osborne Guest House
#47 of 342 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wardrobe Guest House
The Wardrobe Guest House
#18 of 342 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Brooklyn Manor
#150 of 342 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
About Guest Lodge
About Guest Lodge
#91 of 342 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Bwelani Guest House
#74 of 342 in Pretoria
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Street 137 Guest House
Murray Street 137 Guest House
#164 of 342 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brooklyn Guesthouses is situated in the tranquil suburb of Brooklyn – one of Pretoria’s most exclusive residential areas.Brooklyn Guesthouses is ideally situated for business, academic, training, sport and leisure itineraries in the greater Pretoria area. It’s a mere 5 minutes drive away from the central business district (CBD) of Pretoria – the capital city of South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brooklyn Guesthouses

Address: 128 Murray Street | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: $47 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooklyn Guesthouses 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Brooklyn Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay