We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Midrand Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Midrand Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was invited as a guest speaker to a conference at the Midrand Conference Centre. I had to spend the night at the venue prior to the conference to allow for an early start. First impressions were poor. We were asked at the gate to drive through the venue to the opposite end where the lodge is. The route does... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeinDG
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say - for the price we have paid it was such a miserable experience. I cannot recommend the centre especially if the group gets bigger than 20. It seems as if you are then moved to a space where nothing is working. The ablution was dreadful. The food even worse.

Helpful?
Thank VenueHunter2016

Travelers are raving about these Midrand hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

The Hotel was decent, clean. However there were some maintenance issues like the adapter being unavailable telephone not working and wasnt resolved in my days stay. Room alloted to was very small but at the same time was comfortable. FOr Indians, there wasnt much food option. Breakfast options were also limited. Hotel staff were nice but short in numbers. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandygr8
ColletteMCC, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sandygr8, Thank you for taking the time to share your review! Thank you for bringing the shortage of adapters and the problems with the telephone lines to our attention. We have subsequently purchased additional adapters for all our guesthouses. We have also had the telephone technicians onsite to address the problems experienced. With regards to our meal options for... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

I've done training at many different venues, but this is my favourite. Big, well equipped training rooms, dedicated support, Jabulani is a gem and always willing and quick to make a plan. Catering and food is excellent. All within easy reach if Gaitrain Station. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Ria8653
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Ria Thank you so much for your compliments - your message is greatly appreciated. We are so glad Jabulani and our chefs are recognised so publicly and that you enjoy our beautiful venues and great food. We look forward to hosting you again and again My sincere thanks Warm regards Kaylene More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

Staff that have no manners or hospitality training... Difficult check in. A 'welcome' letter that detailed more 'fines' for breaking the rules than an average prison... Horrible room with complimentary water that was opened and half drunk. TV that was mounted at a neck breaking height. Dirty bathroom, Intoxicated guests running riot and partying in the car park (Sunday afternoon).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Living in the uk, my mom had to try organise the wedding with my input by telephone, the venue were so professional and helpful. Our wedding coordinator plexedes was amazing!!! highly recommend her. All our overseas guests commented about how great the venue and staff were. We couldn't have asked for enough, I felt like an absolute princess on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirelle V
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Shirelle Thank you so much for your wonderful review - this means a lot to all of us. We appreciate this enormously. I can only agree with you that Plaxedes, one of our superb Wedding Co-ordinators, is really brilliant. I have shared your review with our full Weddings, Operations and Accommodation Team Next time you are in SA, pop... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Attended a 2 day training seminar. All the necessary equipment available. Lunch venue was a short walk accross the road. On a rainy day not the ideal situation. If I had to compare with the various other venues I have visited over the years, I can understand why this is a budget venue.

Helpful?
Thank John D
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi John D Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our venue. Kind regards Kaylene More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

I stayed at a couple of hotels in Midrand before and it is tough to find one of quality. This was the best of the lot in the past and decided to book here again this year after a two year gap. Staff was friendly, room was great and I could walk to Gallagher.

Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
Kaylene W, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear FireflyAfrica, Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are so glad that you decided to give Midrand Conference Centre a try again! We have been focusing on our service by re-training our front end staff and we're happy that our guests are noticing the improvements. We are also improving our offering to our guests and... More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2016

We travel extensively and we arrived a few days earlier for a conference and we were put into the Villa Tuscana. This section should not be occupied. The rooms are small, dark and dingy. They were not clean and cockroach infested. The shower doors didn't work and the curtains were falling off the rails. The reception area was noisy and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie_Travels63
Kaylene W, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Bernie_Travels63, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor! We are sorry that your experience was not a pleasant one. We would like to address the points that you have raised as we believe that many were dealt with during your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our Villa Tuscana guestshouse. This... More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
242 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

Very friendly staff and service. Around 1.5 kms away from the Midrand train station. Can be reached by bus no. M3 from the Midrand Station. Very spacious place. lots of parking options. They have a helipad also. Free wifi. swimming pool, overall very good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Spurkait
Kaylene W, Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Spurkait, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Midrand Conference Centre! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. The Gautrain service is a great option for our guests travelling to Midrand on business. It offers an affordable transport option in Johannesburg and Pretoria. If you are travelling by car, our parking area... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
0.3 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#6 of 9 in Midrand
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#37 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Midrand
Protea Hotel Midrand
#2 of 9 in Midrand
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Waterfall City
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Samrand
Protea Hotel Samrand
#3 of 9 in Midrand
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Midrand Conference Centre

Address: 661 Pendulum Road | Halfway House Ext 12, Midrand, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Price Range: $58 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midrand Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Midrand Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay