We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Airport Game Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Airport Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Lodge was perfect for us. We stayed a total of 3 nights before and after our 4 week trip around South Africa. The free shuttle to/from the airport was quick and easy. Our room was clean and spacious, the breakfast was great and the staff very nice!

Helpful?
Thank ingridh173
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here as part of a tour group at the start of the trip. The lodge offers free airport transfers from Johannesburg airport, however I tried emailing the email address provided on their website and received no response, leaving me, a single female traveller, to catch a taxi alone. Adding to this the wifi was down, which meant I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel B Thank you for taking the time to give us honest feedback. We apologize for all the inconveniences you suffered. With regards to the e-mails which we did not respond to, we are not sure how that happened as our staff usually send prompt responses to our e-mails. We are also sorry that you had to catch a... More 

Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good stay at the airport game lodge. The airport shuttle was quick and reliable, the breakfast was tasty and the room was clean and comfortable. At the lodge, we booked three interesting guided tours to Pretoria, Johannesburg and Soweto which we can recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 188dk1990
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to publish this review. We appreciate your recommendations about our lodge and the tours we offer. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
427 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for a total of four nights before and after a two week trip through southern Africa. It's a lovely peaceful place with a nice lawn to sit out in, tame game to watch and comfy hammocks to snooze in. It has a pool but as I was there in einter it was far too cold yo use. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bozeman Thank you for providing us with honest feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide a relaxing and helpful environment and your feedback motivates us further. We are glad that you were helped to order-in a meal and we apologize if our food options were not adequate enough to satisfy... More 

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean rooms surrounding a beautiful green area with ostrich, springbok, duiker etc. This is a simple set-up located 10 mins drive from the airport. The staff pick you up when called and shuttle you back on a regular basis. Serves a full breakfast and will get you take-away for dinner if you wish. Has a vending machine stocked with beer,... More 

Helpful?
Thank dgr8
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our services. We are very glad that we have reached your expectations. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If necessary to overnight in Johannesburg, I always use the Airport Game Lodge. There is a courtesy bus from and to the Airport. The rooms are large and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, all at a very reasonable price. I will continue to patronise this establishment because it is good!!

Helpful?
Thank einhorrido
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Ms Einhorrido Thank you for taking the time to recommending our lodge. We are glad that you enjoy staying with us. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for two nights before beginning a tour with STA travel. The free airport collection service was excellent. The staff were friendly. I stayed in the 'funky' room for the first night and an ordinary twin room for the second. It was quite cold but there were heaters in the rooms. Unfortunately the wifi was not working while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrice L
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms Patrice L Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience with us. We are glad that you were happy with our overall service. We apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the internet problem we were facing at the time. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards More 

Maputo Province, Mozambique
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Rough stay here! Room was so very cold. Temperature was below freezing and we had a tiny space heater that was not sufficient for the room. We asked for another heater but they didn't have one. It was a tough night. Very cold.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruanne B
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ruanne B Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We feel great regret that you were not offered a hot water bottle or an extra blanket since we did not have an extra heater available. We apologise sincerely for your cold experience. Kind Regards More 

Marloth Park, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

We stayed in a lovely clean and airy room. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. We experienced the very adequate shuttle service wich is free of charge.. Enjoyed the breakfast.This was the second time we stayed in Airport Game Lodge and will come back here when we need to stay overnight in Joburg.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simonsR9356FT
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Simons Thank you for taking the time to publish these kind words about our lodge. We are glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your feedback is much appreciated. Kind Regards More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

I stayed here for one night before starting a G Adventures tour. The hotel does free airport transfers, email ahead to arrange. I was met in the arrivals hall and all was very smoothly. I arrived at the hotel at 7am, and the staff did all they could to get a room ready for me asap, which was 8am, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank footballfan123
Airport_Game_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Footballfan123 We are delighted that we could make your stay with us an enjoyable one and that everything went smoothly. Your feedback is much appreciated as it motivates our staff to continue providing a quality service to our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 25 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
#10 of 25 in Kempton Park
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
5.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
5.8 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $31 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay