We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

TripAdvisor$109*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$145*
$109*
$145*
$145*
$109*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,158: English reviews
Munising, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poor and disruptive service. Was not given payment details at checkin. But i paid half bill upfront voluntarily. Then I was rudely interrupted multiple times at 2nd night (e.g. whilst on toilet at ~10pm, having spent 12 hrs in the hotel in a small breakout conf room...thus, i would have been very easy to locate during normal daylight hours!, again...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V9427GZ
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Jennifer H, Thank you for taking time to complete a review and for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to sincerely apologize for the various shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. We have investigated the matter and addressed it with the staff involved accordingly. I would like to assure you that we take...

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Keep up the good standards you have at Southern Sun Hotel. It is a good and excellent place to be. Everything else is just up to standard. I however suggest that you put bar fridges in rooms. Keep it Up.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leocardiac
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear leocardiac, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comment regarding the bar fridges and will take this into consideration when we reveiw our room standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed April 18, 2017

great stay at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, staff and everything was super amazing and one to remember. Definitely a great stay and looking forward to staying there in the future. Well done to everyone involved as well.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alvinp296
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alvinp296, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Zuki

Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during a stopover in Joburg and was pleasantly surprised. The staff was extremely helpful and gave us late check out. The dinner buffet was good, but the breakfast buffet was one of the best selections I have seen that comes free. The wait staff were attentive and really nice. They made friends with out toddler...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wesw78
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wesw78, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially your resturant experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Kind Regards Zuki

Haslemere
Reviewed April 17, 2017

My wife and I stayed at this hotel overnight between flights. Everything was absolutely perfect from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient and couldn't do any more than they did to make us feel very welcome and comfortable. The food was of the highest standard both for dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bracken3Haslemere
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bracken3Haslemere, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Kind Regards Zuki

Harare
Reviewed April 16, 2017

The toilet and shower was clean. the dinning room was very clean and tidy. the reception area was clean and tidy. The airport shuttle busy driver was courteous and his driving was excellent. The checking in was efficient

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petersL9432IC
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear petersL9432IC, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Zuki

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed April 16, 2017

All good but with noisy people close to our room that couldn't allow us to sleep till late night .. we called the staff for 3 times to help us and nobody came ..very annoying ... Breakfast excellent, worth value ...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Márcia S
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Márcia S, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I would like to apologize for the noisy deruption during your stay which affected your sleep and that the staff did not respond to your request. We will ensure that this is dealt with accordingly in order to ensure...

Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Reviewed April 15, 2017

This is a hotel tsgo has forgot about. The rooms are dated beds uncomfortable. It's a shame as we love tsgo hotels but I don't think we will be staying here again. No sleep at all as the beds were so overused they were flat and hard not what you expect from this brand of hotels

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonsK223DU
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alisonsK223DU Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent experience at our hotel. I apologise for the various inconveniences you experienced and for having created an unfavourable impression. The points you have raised are noted and will be shared with our headoffice. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to positively influence...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed April 13, 2017

I was welcomed with a glass of red wine by one os the staff members while stil checking in. The hotel staff all know me by name and I feel at home there. I usually have the oxtail for dinner. Unfortunately it was not available but the lamb chops and friendly waitron made up for it. Another worthwhile night at...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jansteve_12
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jansteve_12, Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Southern Sun O.R. Tambo. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments will be shared with the team. We do hope that you will inform us in advance of your next stay with us and we will ensure that chef...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed April 13, 2017

The hotel is very dated and the rooms are in desperate need of serious renovations. Our room overlooked the rooftop of another part of the hotel. The hallway leading from the elevator to our room was dark and smelled musty! The hotel only allots you 500 MG of free wifi which we used up a half hour after check in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Itravel50
Zuki Q, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Itravel50 Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent experience at our hotel. I apologise for the various inconveniences you experienced and for having created an unfavourable impression. The points you have raised are noted and will be attended and shared with the relevant managers . This is regarding the renovations. lighting and the wifi...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a bigger room”
harrisonm466, 2 days ago | Read review
“I stayed on the first floor”
kwesis_13, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The wifi is 500 mb free, rooms towards the pool have the best view”
  • Neat and clean with all conforts
SaumyaAnand, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for non smoking room if you don't smoke”
lorrinj2016, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“airport hotel but rooms are soundproof.”
travakrk, Apr 6, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$109* /night
View Deal
Cancelon$145
Expedia.com$109
Orbitz.com$109
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates