We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 776: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed August 11, 2015

Stayed for 1 night stopover through Johannesburg. Handy to the airport with the shuttle. The rooms are good, clean etc. Staff were friendly and the checkin/out process was efficient 2 issues were the walls are paperthin and you can hear everything from the room next door and we couldn't buy a bottle of water (mental note - get this at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nightshade81
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to hear that you had enjoyed the rooms at our hotel as well as our Shuttle facility and we will be sure to relay all compliments to the various Department Heads for the STAFF. I would like to also apologize though for...

Reviewed August 4, 2015

I stayed here for one night during an overnight layover in Johannesburg. I found the room comfortable, the customer service fantastic, and the breakfast delicious! I would stay here again. The only annoying thing is catching the shuttle to get there (easy, but would have been easy if it were walking distance). Shuttle runs every 30 minutes between the airport...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarita888
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read such lovely feedback. I am very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us especially the Breakfast had. I will relay all compliments to the TEAM. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

Small rooms, staff didn't seem to care much, close to airport but location other senior is quite poor. You could do better for the price. No electricity in the bathroom. No available of power adapters. It's like the hotel is not able to recognize they are at the airport!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madboston77
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to apologize for the experience had whilst staying at our Hotel. We have addressed your concerns especially pertaining to the attitude received by our STAFF, this is not the standard of service that is usually delivered and that we are proud of. We have...

Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Stayed one night recently prior to departing South Africa. Arrived on a Domestic flight and caught shuttle super easy. Check in was very smooth. Rooms are small but clean and well appointed. Staff was super helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was good, wide range of foods, and staff very attentive. LOVED the gym! Only two drawbacks, walls are thin so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jon C
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It makes me very happy to read such lovely feedback. I will be sure to relay your compliments to our Chef and other TEAM members. It gives me great pleasure to know that you would recommend us and we look forward to also having you stay with...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Well priced, right next to the Airport. Service good, rooms tidy. Friendly stuff. Shuttle service every 30 min. Great location when travelling on business. Not recommended for family travel - rooms are tiny.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eternal_Traveller_BG
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to receive such lovely feedback. I will be sure to relay all your compliments to my TEAM on all their assistance and great service offered. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Anthony...

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewed July 19, 2015

I was rate this hotel as okay. The ambiance is interesting; however, I have never really had a strong desire to sleep in an aircraft hanger. Most importantly, the food in the restaurant, particularly the Fish and Chips, is terrible. I would have to rate the later as the worst I have ever had. The fish was so hard that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldprofessor571
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused whilst dining in our Restaurant. It was unacceptable that our Restaurant STAFF had not come to you to address the situation with the fish that you had attempted eating and this will be brought to our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 18, 2015

On arrival room heating was stuck on and was 38 degrees. No one at reception answers the phone and despite two visits to reception problem was not solved. Rooms needing repainted and having the shower in the middle of the room was strange - especially with a curtain between the shower and bed. Plus point is that beds very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced whilst staying in one of our rooms. It is unacceptable that your concern pertaining to the air-conditioning was not dealt with in the proper manner and this will be addressed with the necessary Department Heads to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed July 17, 2015

The hotel is near the airport, there is free shuttle service running every 30 min, good size, quiet room, comfortable bed, free WiFi and it worked well, good choice of international tv channels, good size bathroom and shower; good breakfast (variety and quality of foods offered) though not included in the room rate. Helpful staff at the Front Desk and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank adm496
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel It gives me great pleasure to read your feedback. I will be sure to relay your compliments to our Chef and STAFF that had made your stay with us as lovely as what you describe. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

Rooms are well appointed and functional and the food selection adequate. The shuttle service was excellent. Service beyond the basics was poor; finding a replacement for a faulty remote took from 9 am to after 4 pm with several trips to reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy that you found our hotel’s facilities and offerings to be good. I would like to sincerely apologize however for the experience had with our staff not offering the service expected of them and I can assure you that this is not the standard that...

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed July 12, 2015

I stayed one night at Protea Hotel in between a safari and then flying to Durban to do some scuba diving. The hotel kept a piece of luggage for me while I was on safari until I checked in 11 days later. This was very helpful as the other hotels wouldn't do it and the airport charged $7 per day!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike F
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us as well as the additional services and facilities that we offer. We do pride ourselves on trying to assist our GUESTS as much as possible in terms of making their trips in and out...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

369 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travelers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Floor 5 for airport views”
 of 5 bubbles Juno101, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Its a Marriott--the rooms are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles ohdesi74, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Poor service, poor shuttle, slow room service”
 of 5 bubbles AlecAus, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“If you prefer bath to a shower make a request as a lot of rooms have only a shower”
 of 5 bubbles K5907HOelaineb, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger room...if available...might be worth paying for.”
 of 5 bubbles doctorbird41, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay