We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 817: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed April 19, 2016

Good room with everything I needed. Was much better than staying inside the airport for 24h lay over. Comfy bed, shower and wifi. What more do you need inside the airport? There is a TV in the room but I didn't use it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Becker
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ryan_Becker Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport with us. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue...

Howlong, Australia
Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

We checked into the hotel after a 14 hour flight from Australia and a reasonably short wait for the hotel shuttle. The hotel is just outside the airport fence but is a 10 min or so drive around the to get there. Reception was friendly and efficient and the room compact and very functional. We had everything we needed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickRiver
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear NickRiver Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed April 13, 2016

We arrived late into OR Tambo airport, we had a 20 min. wait for the last shuttle to the hotel - just glad we made the last shuttle. The shuttle drivers were very helpful with the luggage and even brought me on little bag I forgot in the shuttle due to sleep deprivation (they had my back!). Check in went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara S
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear SMontour, We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently. It is always wonderful to hear that the STAFF went to great lengths for our loyal Marriott Reward members. Perhaps the next time you are in Johannesburg and have more time on your hands, we can assist in giving you more information about...

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is 5min drive from the airport which is great for travellers. There are free shuttles every 30 mins! The hotel is clean and the rooms were spacious and comfy. You even get 500mb free wifi The food was great and reasonably priced too. As we were travelling early in the morning we asked for a breakfast to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMontour
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear SMontour Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed April 11, 2016

We stayed at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, a Marriott property, on two occasions on our recent visit to South Africa - before a flight to Zambia to visit Victoria Falls and when meeting our driver/guide of a Cape Town Tour. The hotel is located less than 2km/1.2miles from the airport, and has a free shuttle that offers frequent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ala13
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ala13 We are also so pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our accommodation so be so comfortable. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie Botha General Manager

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed April 7, 2016

The Hotel reminded of what excellent Customer service is. The only disappointment is the "slowness of service" in the restaurant. What I saw on internet when I searched for a place to stay is what I got, and more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay392015
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Jay392015 We are also so pleased to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Hotel to be exactly what you had perceived it would be. We have addressed your concern pertaining to the service received in the dining room and this has been made well aware to the Restaurant TEAM to...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

Lovey soft bed with soft sheets. Pleasant and good staff at check in Should be a place to get coffee and a snack but apparently not. Lots of kitchen smells wafting through the corridors. No face cloths but perfect for overnight stay. Disconcerting driver left us in running vehicle while he went off for a good five minutes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 365giannad
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear 365giannad It gives me great pleasure to read your lovely review on the Hotel. I will be sure to relay all your compliments to my TEAM on their efforts to ensure that your stay was a fantastic one. We do have face cloths available to our GUESTS on a request basis. We do apologize for the disconcerting feeling you...

Nadi, Fiji
Reviewed March 24, 2016

Stayed here a few times now to break up the journey when travelling around Africa. The rooms are clean with wifi and sky tv. Food is great, staff are friendly and its a five minute complimentary shuttle ride from the airport, what more could you want?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul G
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Paul G It is great to have the pleasure of reading that you enjoyed your hotel services on many occasions. I will be relaying all compliments to my TEAM for their efforts in making each time you have been with us so memorable. We look forward to having you stay with us on many more trips through to Johannesburg....

widnes
Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night to catch a connecting flight the following morning. We was picked up from the airport by a free shuttle which was great. Once at the hotel we was quickly checked in and was in our room. The hotel is really nice and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had two meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jason19922
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear jason19922 Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on the Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read it and makes me very proud of my TEAM. I will be sure to compliment them on their efforts in making your stay with us memorable. I surely hope we do get to have the pleasure of having you stay...

Köln, Deutschland
Reviewed March 20, 2016

I really liked the decor of the hotel, all aviation-themed. The room was nice and big enough and I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, basically chosen because of its proximity to the airport. Two things I would like to mention: the service in the restaurant is extremely slow. Dinner took close to 40 minutes to arrive and during breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airevents
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear airevents Thank you for your valued feedback on our Hotel. The aviation theme is definitely something we are very proud of. We will also be sure to address your concerns with the necessary department Heads so as to ensure that the service is definitely improved. We do offer earplugs as well as added benefits for our GUESTS should you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

397 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (257)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,858 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $84 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travelers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Houston, TX USA

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room that does not face the airport”
 of 5 bubbles 110349, 1 week ago | Read review
“Travellers must choose Airport view when they check in”
 of 5 bubbles guestgB7080CK, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Pick a room on the parking lot side, much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 54dl, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the parking lot. The road on the other side is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceM53, Jan 25, 2017 | Read review
“Upper room facing airport for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles REVJCF, Jan 24, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question