We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

942 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 809: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
 Click to rate
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here 3xs for 1 night each time as a stopover and for this purpose it's fine due to the good location to the airport. The restaurant has good food. However the front desk staff need help with service etiquette and the poor restaurant serving staff have uniforms that are a parking vest. The swimming pool is not swimmable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahunter2008
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was nice to get rest before catching a connection flight, stayed in the hotel for 4 hours, the wi-Fi was great, and so was the food. However the TV wasn't working in our room and it was a bit pricy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panagiotis S
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Panagiotis S Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and you had found rest after your long flight. Please accept our apologies for the TV not working in your room, please could you elaborate on which room you were staying in...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Next to the airport and highway but nothing around it. Very noisy hotel. My room was airport side and single glass. I could hear everything! Breakfast is good but pricy. Dinner was nice. Gym is extremely small and so is the swimming pool. I do not recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annika T
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Annika T Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. We have brought your concerns to the attention of our Management TEAM so as to keep in mind all feedback received when making decisions in future. We have also made it our priority...

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed over at the Protea Hotel while attending a 2 day seminar. The services was excellent, the food was great, wi-fi was available, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable big rooms. Although near the airport the "noise" didnt bother me. Although I could've made use of the shuttle service to attend the seminar at a venue nearby, I chose to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta A
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Henrietta A Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM...

Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are just here for one night but I find the staff and hotel very pleasant. We ordered room service and the food was delicious. Try the spatchcock chicken. We ordered a bottle of great wine, what more do you need? Internet is working great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandylq
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear sandylq Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to...

Haguenau, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent one night there,doing some business before heading to Durban and Cap town. The rooms are big enough, the food was fine. Wifi was working perfectly and the personal at the front desk very helpful to monitor some visits. The only negative point was the cleanliness of the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hugues S
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Hugues S Thank you for taking the time to review our Establishment. It gives me great pleasure to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We will most definitely share feedback with our TEAM in order to motivate them in keeping up the good work. Thank you once again for staying with us and we do hope to...

Tisdale, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

On entering the room the toilet flushing unit face crashed to the floor. The shower basin would not drain (plugged). The air conditioning did not work. The south side rooms overlook the airport (not the problem) and the highway (problem). The room has a small window of single pain that amplifies the highway noise. The second night we asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D L
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear D L Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. I assure you that this...

Edegem, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a week for business. The hotel is located next to the highway and airport. So ask for a room at the parking side and a high floor. Rooms are ok with good queen size bed. Stable foc wifi. Seperate toilet. Limited choice of food in the restaurant but all is ok. No restaurants around the hotel. Very small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carlvanloey
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Carlvanloey Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. I assure you that this was...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over at the hotel on a business trip and was pleased with the good level of service. The supper buffet offering could have had more variety. I did like the tea and coffee station at the reception as the supplies in the rooms do not go very far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Lance B Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. We will most certainly share your feed back with the TEAM as so to motivate them to continue with offering the best service available. Your concern regarding the supper buffet has been brought to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager as well as...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

With the exception of the service from the bar, this is a good airport hotel. I would recommend requesting an odd numbered room on the fourth or fifth floor, both of which have great views of the ramp used by all the arriving / departing international flights. On one day, we saw three A380s, two 747s and numerous 777s come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenneth B
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth B Firstly thank you so much for your lovely feedback on your stay with us. I am extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities and meals offered to our GUESTS. I agree that it is fantastic to be able to experience the views of the airport and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

373 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,793 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $83 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travelers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pick a room on the parking lot side, much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 54dl, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the parking lot. The road on the other side is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceM53, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Upper room facing airport for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles REVJCF, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the airport if you want to watch the planes.”
 of 5 bubbles SlothBristol_UK, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the airport if you want to see planes coming and going”
 of 5 bubbles 142RuthS, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question