We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Expedia.com$129*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 848: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
 Click to rate
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I was in transit and need a hotel, close to the airport, for a day use ( 7 hours stay). Called the hotel and I was told that rooms were available and no need to book. At the reception, the receptionist had no idea what a Day Use was. The rate offered was 50% more expensive than the one offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plemos
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was excellent. Clean and cumfy with a huge king sized bed. Very relaxing. The bar had the most amazing decor with stacks of used tyres as barstools. The staff were friendly and very accomodating. Now for the "Continental Breakfast " this left a lot to be desired. The "hot" food was cold. Had the savoury mince and chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Phillip H Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations at least regarding the room cleanliness and bar décor. As a Valued GUEST, your...

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Personally I find the restaurant ambiance cold, food good, waiters take a bit long to revert, rooms are modern. I found hotel noisy, prefer the Protea Hotels such as Umhlanga, Wanderers and Hilton. Hotel ok, for flight change/ stopover.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAL047
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear JAL047 Thank you for your valued feedback and it disappoints me to hear that you had not enjoyed your stay with us and especially the service in the restaurant that was offered. This is not a true reflection of the service we are proud at offering our GUESTS. We do take your feedback seriously and we do hope to...

Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The front desk staff was so accommodating to check us in at 8:00 am (we arrived at the airport at 6:00 and the hotel at 7:00). We were exhausted from 36 hours of travel. We'd called ahead to see if we could get a Very early checkin and they said they'd try. They certainly did! The hostess and wait staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Lisa K Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback on our Property. We will most definitely share your feedback with the TEAM to continue to motivate them in keeping up the good work. Thank you so much that you had thoroughly enjoyed the room setup too, we created the rooms as such to utilize the space in...

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Surprisingly nice stay within view of JNB airport. I attended a three day meeting that was held at the hotel, had low expectations when I arrived, but ended up being pleased by a comfortable and soundproof room - no airport noise at all, which I had feared (as I gazed out my window at the BA jets parked quite nearby)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm at Protea ORT... not so good, even I have to instruct FnB floor staff that tables need to be cleared etc. for waiting Diners ! 😆😆... Def will tell others to keep away! Pity. I have had better service at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo .. But demand there often outstrips supply .. probably for good reason, maybe that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTheThirstyTraveller
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear KTheThirstyTraveller Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport with us. As a Valued GUEST, I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our dining outlet. With aspiration to always exceed guest expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your recent stay. Your valued feedback...

Makkah Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed there on 2 separate nights in the same week for business. Hotel is a short distance from the airport and they provide a free shuttle. Room was clean and comfortable. Food was ok but not amazing. Breakfast was not that great but was ok. Staff very professional and friendly. Overall worth it. Make sure that you secure your luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al A
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Al A Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM...

Comox, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was very cold and wet in Joburg. Hotel reception appears not to have heat, People wearing coats to eat. Tried to increase heat in my room. Had someone up twice but the temp did not go up much. Was disappointed in that. Pickup area a bit of a haul in the bus station. More than likely someone will target you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cactus52
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear cactus52 Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a very cold stay with us. We must definitely look at the heat we supply our GUESTS. I am very happy to hear that you had found both dinner and breakfast to be good. Thank you once again for staying with us and hope...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Does the job. We were there for a quick overnight between flights. Take an Uber there rather than wait for the shuttle which leaves on the 15 and 45 past the hour. Uber is only about 50 south african rand.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nrch1
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Nrch1 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight between flights. The airport has great view to the airport and you can see a bit of the operations. Food was reasonable although the service in the restaurant could be improved. The shuttle to/from the airport is a plus. I think they can also take you to a nearby shopping area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrsee
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear jrsee Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations with our food and shuttle however I am disappointed to hear that you experienced some...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

386 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (275)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $91 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travelers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room, not facing airport or highway.”
JAL047, 5 days ago | Read review
“If you want to see airport operations be sure to ask for a room facing the airport”
  • A380 BA, AF, EK
  • SIA A 350
  • kulula Airlines jet departing in the background. AF 280 in the foreground
  • Room with open bathroom
  • Emirates 777 departing from JNB
  • The room, airport just outside
jrsee, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Not room 125”
Stuart_Redsell, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We were on the airport side of the hotel and we didn't notice any noise.”
Doris20151024, Apr 22, 2017 | Read review
“If you have to stay here, make it short and go out for dinner”
rosannes125, Apr 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$129* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$136
Hotwire.com$130
Booking.com$131
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates