We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Save
Share
191 Oxford Road Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196 South Africa
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 09/30/2021.Read more
Expedia.com
eDreams
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (302)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (27)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Updated 10/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 92 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more
958Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 428
  • 317
  • 124
  • 49
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Malikah wrote a review Oct 2020
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
We arrived on a layover to Camp town. The hotel is nice but there is really nothing to do at night as we were in the Financial District and everything closes at sundown. The staff did nothing extra than what was expected of them. It was worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Traveling Black Therapist wrote a review Apr 2020
Atlanta, Georgia7 contributions2 helpful votes
I don't even know where to begin with this place. I read the reviews so I was truly excited about staying here, but was sorely disappointed. Let me start with the good stuff. The location is pretty nice. I loved that it was kind of in it's own little village, with several restaurants and stores connected to it. It's also in walking distance of several other restaurants and a short uber trip from most tourist attractions. The food at all the restaurants were tried were really good and the plating was quite beautiful. Everything else was..... Let's start our check-in. Our trip was booked through Delta vacations, so everything was paid for prior to coming. We get to the Check-in and they say our room wasn't paid. We show them the paperwork and they basically said, sorry no dice. okay, that's not their issue we were going to call our travel agent. We had to pay for the 1st night though,while we sorted it out. Fast forward, they did get the payment and there was a mix up on their end, which would have been fine, had they not told our travel agent they didn't tell us we had to pay for the rooms only for incidental. Since when is incidentals $400US? The layout of the room appeared nice a first (view of the surrounding area is beautiful) until you realize that the light and the outlets are connected. This wouldn't have been a problem if there were different switches for each. However there was literally one switch for both. So either you had the light on and charged your devices or let them die so you can sleep in darkness. Yes, we ( my sister and I ) complained about this and received the response of, they are sorry and would see if they could find us another room. They didn't. The bathroom looks gorgeous, until you realize that the shower head is hanging from the ceiling, so the only way to wash off is to stand directly under it, getting your hair wet. While this may work for some guests, it won't work for many. Soaping up and then trying to wash off was an ordeal. No, there weren't any other removable devices that would allow you to wash off. I also mysteriously lost $160 while at this hotel. I cannot confirm that it was the staff, as I didn't see them take it; all I know is that I counted my money every single day of that trip. I counted it right before we left to go to the apartheid museum. When we left the hotel the next day, we were running a little late for our flight and I didn't count it until we got on the plane, which is when I noticed it. I noticed it immediately because the money was out of order ( yes there is a certain order I out my money in). When I notified the front desk about it once we landed, they said I probably dropped it. Which is curious that I didn't drop all of it, and the rest of it was in the exact same place, (a wallet and 2 purses into my suitcase) when I found it. Overall, I did not enjoy my experience at the hotel and I would not recommend it at all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from NadiaB3563, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded May 5, 2020
Hi Natalie, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed Hyatt stay experience and for choosing to stay with us. It is not acceptable to read that you were charged for a room when the error to pick up the payment was on our side. We sincerely apologise for this. The lighting/charging point issue will be investigated to see how it can be improved as we haven't come across a similar complaint previously. Nevertheless, it doesn't change your experience and will be looked into. Sorry for the inconvenience. We truly hope that, despite this, your time in South Africa was memorable and special. It's a pity that the missing money wasn't reported as it would've given us the opportunity to act and investigate immediately. I can assure you that instances of missing money/items rarely, if ever, occur as we don't tolerate this at all. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Celma2016 wrote a review Mar 2020
Maputo, Mozambique6 contributions
I have used this hotel in business and holidays, always great experience, very good location. I recommend the hotel. The food and service was also very good. The valet service was also very professional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Hi Celma, Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to write this review. We hope to welcome you back soon again. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
MiguelAlvim1973 wrote a review Mar 2020
Maputo5 contributions
Very happy with overall service, very good quality for money and very well located, right next to the Rosebank Mall. Clean, confortable and with a very nice breakfast. I will definitely choose the same hotel again for a similar trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Hi Miguel! It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! You have outlined the aspects of our property that we truly take pride in and hope to serve customers with time and time again. Best regards, Nadia from the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Neil H wrote a review Mar 2020
Reading, United Kingdom133 contributions36 helpful votes
I am biased as although I live in the UK and indeed was born there I consider South Africa “home” the hotel fits with the friendly welcome vibe you find throughout the country. Staff go out of their way to please. Rooms are spacious, separate shower and bath, no complaints. Breakfast slightly disappointing in a country where fruit is plentiful the selection lacks imagination. Cannot comment on dinner as I ate in local restaurants of which there are many, located in the mall behind, a safe walk from the hotel. Car parking is shared so chargeable. Hope to return soon. Look at for the roof level swimming pool.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Hi Neil, Thank you for your detailed review. The specific elements you highlight are valuable and great to note. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We hope to welcome you back home again soon! Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency johannesburg hotel johannesburg, hyatt johannesburg, johannesburg hyatt regency
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Nearby attractions include The Zone @ Rosebank (0.00 miles), Galaxy World (0.00 miles), and Soul Traveller Tours (0.00 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include O'Vicente, Calisto's Portuguese Restaurant, and Yamato.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hyatt Regency Johannesburg have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt Regency Johannesburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.