We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

In the middle of a bustling metropolis you find this tasteful hotel. The decor is tasteful, rooms clean and spacious, a pleasant surprise considering the price one paid. The only "negative" is the sounds of ducks quacking. Probably better than an alarm clock

Helpful?
1 Thank peterpapenfus
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

We stayed here for six nights and really enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere in the hills of east Joburg. The hotel is very close to Eastgate shopping centre as well as Oriental City shopping. It boasts around the clock security with plenty of parking. The room itself was a small suite with kitchenette and a massive king size bed. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sead J
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review A B. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in late January. The room I had was spacious with separate bedroom and living area. The room was cleaned daily and was spotless. The location is great, at least from airport. Breakfast was average. You may choose between english and continental breakfast. There is no restaurant in this hotel, so if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markku R
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Our party of six recently stayed here for five nights. The units are in an enclosed complex and we always felt safe. The units are comfortable and spacious and the WiFi in our rooms was excellent.. We enjoyed the modest breakfast included in our rate. All the staff we encountered were friendly. The hotel is in a good location. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JasonNeuendorff
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Jason. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
437 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Perfect location for central Johannesburg without being in the actual CBD. One traffic light away from the circular freeway and the highway to the airport and 5 minutes from an enormous shopping center. A gym is available in the complex for a fee. Rooms are standard Courtyard chain fare; large, well-equipped, clean to the point of sterility. Good bed, good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

The hotel is business park like area separated from Eastgate mall by a flea market type area, but once inside the hotel gates, environment is pleasant and secure. Rooms are very clean and are kept that way. The staff is welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast is well laid out and service good. No dinner service but you can order from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Masiyapoyi
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Piet Retief, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Attention from Bronwyn, the GM, from the first day of my enquiry was excellent - and carried through to our arrival. Incredible warm welcome from efficient staff. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean accommodation. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank penny n
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Penny and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

I was attending a conference (accompanied by my husband) in Johannesburg and stayed at the Courtyard Eastgate. It was my first experience of their facilities and I was impressed with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly staff. The renovations that were being undertaken at the time did not affect us at all. The breakfast spread was beautiful and at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miz_Sindisiwe
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Summerville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Mu husband and myself arrived at the hotel around 8:00 pm for a one night layover before we headed out early the next morning to the airport. While checking in the man behind the desk said his credit card machine was not working so he made a hard copy with the swipe machine. We did not leave the hotel that... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Connie H
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into this matter on your behalf and for our own edification. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

A depressing joint - the furnishings are clean but outdated, the TV is tiny, there is a noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which drives you crazy, a broken shower door and a soft, useless mattress which leaves you screaming for a chiropractor the following morning. Although it's a centrally convenient location, the view from your patio is a deserted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Note T
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the matters you have raised, especially regarding the shower door, mattress and extractor fan. Please note that the former Bruma Lake site is in the process of being redeveloped, which we believe will be positive for the hotel and other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
4.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
Premiere Classe Suites
#27 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
4.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#24 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay