We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

HomeBase Melville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
HomeBase Melville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Florence
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Love the place, friendly staff and nice place . Love the caramel vodka and the barbaque. 😊😊😊😊😊😊 Just a stop over for the trip down to Kimberley and the animals. All ages stayed here so its a good mix.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tone M
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Homebase for 2 nights as part of SAVE. This was my first time staying at a hostel and I was very happy with my experience. Location was off the main strip. Conveniently located within walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and sufficient with different options available. I appreciated that the gate required...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brit120
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Hostel located in a safe neighborhood of Johannesburg. The staff is nice and helpful. Basic breakfast included, so do not expect a big variety. We used a private double room, which was small, but comfortable. The bathrooms were very basic, but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxime A
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the first day of our Africa adventure. We had a nice room with a great bed. Which I always find great after a long day traveling. The hostel does a lot of work hosting volunteer workers for animal centers so we met some nice people there. The guy running the place told us there was a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen V
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

A home converted to hostel! Basic breakfast but ok! Clean enough, in a safe neighbourhood and really warm "home" atmosphere. Really helpful and friendly staff and young people from all around the world to interact with!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex K
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 8, 2016

This hostel was recommended to me by a fellow traveller and on the whole it was okay. A shaky start when all the activities I had prearranged with them via email, started to change in price due to me only being one person, even though I had stated this in the emails. The trip I did do through them was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frankie B
Reviewed June 7, 2016

I hardly ever write reviews about most places we have stayed because I understand what can happen in backpackers... and even in this case i was not going to until i saw a review about racist treatment - so clearly it was not a one off. My experience at HomeBase Melville left me with a bitter taste in my mouth....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tendai88
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed May 7, 2016

Two of the three double rooms we had booked were rather smelly and one of the bed was quite terrible (springs poking through). Showers do work, you just need to wait for a good 5 minutes until the warm water arrives. But once it's there, it's good. Atmosphere isn't what one would typically find in a youth hostel. The tv...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel_Sbt
Jaysoncvl, Owner at HomeBase Melville, responded to this review

Hi there Rachel! We apologies for the discomfort of your stay. We have found the mattresses that you mentioned in the review, and we have replaced it with a new one! Thank you for letting us know! It was unusually quite during the period that you stayed with us, and that may have been why you didn't feel there was...

Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Close to many restaurants, Spar supermarket. Guesthouse with a big kitchen, big tv screen, friendly staf. Nice rooms and a lot of information staff is friendly to help you with. A small swimming pool and price include breakfast. Same owner as in Capetown, I get a discount cause I stayed in Homebase Capetown. A guesthouse I recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su u
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed April 22, 2016

This was my fourth stay at Homebase and I have always enjoyed it but my last stay wasn't so memorable. I checked in and I was immediately informed by Bruce the manager that they no longer take "locals" but because I had paid before I arrived I would be allowed to stay. My friend checked in as well and everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SeaAh
Jaysoncvl, Owner at HomeBase Melville, responded to this review

Hi I am so sorry to hear of this situation. I have been away for three weeks but as yet have not seen a personal email from you. This situation is completely unacceptable and is definitely not our policy. We have always welcomed South African people at both our hostels. I will be investigating this immediately and will be taking...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 89 in Johannesburg
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 89 in Johannesburg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#2 of 89 in Johannesburg
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 281 in Johannesburg
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#9 of 281 in Johannesburg
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering an outdoor pool, HomeBase Melville is located in Johannesburg. The property has BBQ facilities and guests can use the shared kitchen and TV area. Free WiFi access is available. Other facilities offered at the property include a garden, tour desk and free parking. The hostel is 3.1 km from Parkview Golf Club, 8.1 km from Johannesburg Stadium and 11.2 km from Gold Reef City & Casino. O.R. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HomeBase Melville

Address: 37 First Avenue, Johannesburg 2109, South Africa (Formerly Melville International Backpackers)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $11 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HomeBase Melville 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your HomeBase Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from HomeBase Melville staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from HomeBase Melville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Travel from OR Tambo to hostel -> gautrain to city center (station 'Park'), take cab from there. Gautrain: 150 ZAR, cab: 100 ZAR, both safe”
 of 5 bubbles 379gertjans, Feb 9, 2016 | Read review
“Shared room 8 beds Female”
 of 5 bubbles 758mariliaf, Jul 5, 2015 | Read review
“There can be problems with them with fi availability ”
 of 5 bubbles Monkfis, Jul 1, 2015 | Read review
“My room was cheap because i booked a week from online and from my country Ghana before i arrived. Every guest have a key to enter their room, a locker, and electronic security code to go in and out when you want. They also have books which you can enjoy on the roof top. I can only stay in Melville when in Johannesburg.... saves money, make you know people, breakfast is free, if you know how to socialize then everything you are looking for is in Melville *wink*. my name is Percy and am from Ghana, West Africa.”
 of 5 bubbles 633percya, May 3, 2015 | Read review
“Dorms looked clean but basic, there is camping space on a raised deck which looked nice, but the timber cabanas are the way to go if you can”
 of 5 bubbles 14Sparrow, Jan 19, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay