We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HomeBase Melville

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
HomeBase Melville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

This hostel was recommended to me by a fellow traveller and on the whole it was okay. A shaky start when all the activities I had prearranged with them via email, started to change in price due to me only being one person, even though I had stated this in the emails. The trip I did do through them was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

I hardly ever write reviews about most places we have stayed because I understand what can happen in backpackers... and even in this case i was not going to until i saw a review about racist treatment - so clearly it was not a one off. My experience at HomeBase Melville left me with a bitter taste in my mouth.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tendai88
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

Two of the three double rooms we had booked were rather smelly and one of the bed was quite terrible (springs poking through). Showers do work, you just need to wait for a good 5 minutes until the warm water arrives. But once it's there, it's good. Atmosphere isn't what one would typically find in a youth hostel. The tv... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Sbt
Jaysoncvl, Owner at HomeBase Melville, responded to this review

Hi there Rachel! We apologies for the discomfort of your stay. We have found the mattresses that you mentioned in the review, and we have replaced it with a new one! Thank you for letting us know! It was unusually quite during the period that you stayed with us, and that may have been why you didn't feel there was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Close to many restaurants, Spar supermarket. Guesthouse with a big kitchen, big tv screen, friendly staf. Nice rooms and a lot of information staff is friendly to help you with. A small swimming pool and price include breakfast. Same owner as in Capetown, I get a discount cause I stayed in Homebase Capetown. A guesthouse I recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Su u
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

This was my fourth stay at Homebase and I have always enjoyed it but my last stay wasn't so memorable. I checked in and I was immediately informed by Bruce the manager that they no longer take "locals" but because I had paid before I arrived I would be allowed to stay. My friend checked in as well and everything... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SeaAh
Jaysoncvl, Owner at HomeBase Melville, responded to this review

Hi I am so sorry to hear of this situation. I have been away for three weeks but as yet have not seen a personal email from you. This situation is completely unacceptable and is definitely not our policy. We have always welcomed South African people at both our hostels. I will be investigating this immediately and will be taking... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Doesnt offer much, but what it offers is good. Comfortable lounge with tv and wifi, spacious dorms, plenty of toilet/showers, fully equiped kitchen and breakfast. Very helpful staff, got up an hour and a half early to check us out. Just 3 blocks away from 7th avenue with loads of nice restaurants and bars (15min walk or 5min uberride fcor... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

I spent 3 nights at Homebase Melville and had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly. The hostel is well located and close to everything you need. I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Johannesburg.

Helpful?
1 Thank LeighKatzen
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

I picked this backpackers to try out the Melville area. The dorm was fine, bathrooms a little grungy, breakfast very basic. Most other backpackers have been very welcoming and helpful with tour info and local neighborhood info and I really didn't get any of that here. If you're interested in Melville, stay somewhere else and visit by taxi or uber.

Helpful?
Thank Ditha311
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

We used this backpackers as a hub for going in and out of Johanesburg. The stay here was just as nice as last time. We got in late and they greeted us even though it was so late. The guys that work there are also really nice. Big kitchen that never feels too cramped. Internet thats fast. Warm. Only 4/5... More 

Helpful?
Thank ptrpdrm
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

I stayed here 2 weeks before Christmas. The place was deserted because apparently everybody goes to the coast during the (southern hemisphere) summer holiday. I had an eight bed dorm to myself which was nice. The bed was clean and was reasonably comfortable. There was a very simple but decent breakfast included. Melville was a pleasant neighborhood to stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gert-Jan S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
4.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 89 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#2 of 89 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#2 of 277 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#9 of 89 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#16 of 277 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering an outdoor pool, HomeBase Melville is located in Johannesburg. The property has BBQ facilities and guests can use the shared kitchen and TV area. Free WiFi access is available. Other facilities offered at the property include a garden, tour desk and free parking. The hostel is 3.1 km from Parkview Golf Club, 8.1 km from Johannesburg Stadium and 11.2 km from Gold Reef City & Casino. O.R. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HomeBase Melville

Address: 37 First Avenue, Johannesburg 2109, South Africa (Formerly Melville International Backpackers)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $20 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your HomeBase Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay