We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 525: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Originally chosen for its proximity to my employers Head Office i continue to choose this hotel on each trip. Service is always excellent with a welcoming smile and a recognition of a returning client. Roomrates are excellent considering location, rooms are always clean, comfortably modern and well appointed. Only slight quibble would be the poor quality of food at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert J
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Robert J Thank you for your recent visit to the Crown Plaza Johannesburg. We are delighted to hear that the hotels services and facilities have met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments with regards to the food quality has been passed onto our head chef who will be evaluating the above mentioned at our Butchers Block restaurant. We look...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I went to this hotel for business I can't stress enough how the staff of this hotel is by far the most friendly the most welcoming hotel I have ever been in. I dealt with Cynthia who manages the hotel. This lady is just the best. Making sure all is good and ready for you. Another person made my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eb1971
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Eb1971 Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Crown plaza Johannesburg and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. We are delighted that our product and service delivery met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all members of the team. Cynthia and Prudence will be recognized for creating...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My friends and i booked this hotel for the 30 September 2016 - the hotel was apparently fully booked as they had a conference but managed to find two rooms to celebrate my friends birthday and bridal shower the next day. Upon check in, we were given such attitude by the host - he wouldn't give me the second key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loobnapatel
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear loobnapatel. Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Crown plaza Johannesburg and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor levels of service. Your comments have been constructively communicated to the relevant departments in order to assist us in improving our service delivery. Please allow...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited from 10th January to 12th January with my friends and family and the experience was very bad. The staff was not cooperative and I even lost my camera in the hotel lobby. When asked about the CCTV footage different staff membets told us four different stories and tried to make a fool of us. At last I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apeksha G
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Apeksha G Thank you for visiting the Crown Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank. After further investigation on the above stated, We can conclude that the matter regarding your camera has been dealt according to the companys policy and that all the necessary procedures were followed in conducting the investigation. Should you require a detailed report of the findings you...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

it was is the third time i went to this hotel and i don' t think i will return, i was too disapointed this time; as it was week before christmas they didnt bother with anything like : spa and steam bath were under maNtenance, so you can t use them; i was dying for one after 12 HOurs trip...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JOHANNA R
Elizabeth K, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear JOHANNA R, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments raised on departure and I can assure you that we will be working on solutions to all problems raised. Crown Plaza Johannesburg strives itself on guest satisfaction and as a valued returning guest to our hotel, we would like to ensure that you experience...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (family of 4) stopped over one night transiting back to New Zealand. Tired and with a few issues to sort out after 3 weeks out of contact, the staff were exceptional in helping us. From the door staff, through to the IHC Lounge team, they are great. Alwyn on the front desk is easily the most helpful person I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GHassell
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear GHassell, Thank you for your kind feedback the staff and service at our hotel during our trip. I will be sure to pass on the good feedback to our staff and we will ensure we maintain our high standards. We look forward to your return. Kind regards Don Jesseman Hotel Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed December 12, 2016

We recently spent a week at this hotel, having had a positive experience on a previous visit. The hotel advertises itself as completely non smoking, which was one of the main reasons why we chose to stay here. We checked in around 5 pm and were told that we would have to wait for our room because it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank skyscraper6
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear skyscraper6, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and...

Groblersdal, South Africa
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Part of a bigger Tsogo Group Stable, The name did not disappoint.From Parking through Reception to the Boardroom, Men and Women are Ambassadors!!!I will not mind to take my colleagues including those who smoke!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoahRasy
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear NoahRasy, Thank you for the 5 star review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property - We will continue to do our best to delight all our guests. Kind regards Don Jesseman Hotel Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed December 8, 2016

With each visit the team seems to improve their service and attention to detail. I am inspired by their commitment to excellence. They are friendly, efficient, and courteous in everything from reception to cleaning to the restaurant and room service. The IHG membership rewards programme is also one of the more immediately beneficial travel loyalty programmes I've belonged to and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear Dave D Thank you for your feedback. Our team is very happy to hear that you experience improved service with every visit. The efficiency of our staff and the benefits of the brand certainly do come together to ensure a memorable stay. We look forward to your return. Kind regards Don Jesseman Hotel Manager

Reviewed December 8, 2016

we stayed here 3 separate times, before and after our safari and just before flying back to Europe. The service was always top notch. They stored our suitcases with city clothes for the week that we were on the safari as well as some electronics in the safe. The breakfast buffet is great as you can get special omelettes and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank victorian5
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review

Dear victorian5, Thank you for your kind review of our services and facilities at the Crowne Plaza, The Rosebank. We are very pleased to hear that you would definitely choose to stay with us again when in Johannesburg, due to the proximity to the Gautrain and malls which are right on our doorstep. Kind regards Don Jesseman Hotel Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

681 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (370)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Club Room (65)
Viewed
Executive Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#31 of 70 in Johannesburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“maybe ask for a room in the new wing.”
 of 5 bubbles skyscraper6, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors of the North Tower are my preference - good views and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 444daved, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“we always ask for higher floor, away from elevators”
 of 5 bubbles victorian5, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“higher floors give a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Girsberger, Nov 11, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors offer amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles OupaGedions2016, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay