We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lebo\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us joined Lebo's cycle tour through Soweto. What an excellent and amazing experience!! Our guide, Chico, was very well informed and gave us a real African experience. We visited different communities, from the poorest of the poor where we were made to feel like honoured guests, to the ''yuppies' of Vilikazi Street where Chico gave an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Appie P
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

I planned to stay one night at Lebo's in Soweto but ended up staying two (and would have loved to stay even longer). Lebo's lovely staff make this backpackers a very special place, and the bike tour with Linda was one of the highlights of my time in Joburg. I'd highly recommend anyone to spend a couple of days in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna O
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lebo's Backpackers is one of the best places we visited during our stay in South Africa. Integrated in the local community, this place provides plenty of opportunities to truly interact with locals. The crew is wonderful, friendly, helpful and makes you feel very welcome. We especially enjoyed how open this place is - it was the first time we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really cool way to see Soweto! We were picked up at our hotel and brought to Soweto where we met Linda, our guide for the day. Linda is a native of Soweto and was so knowledgable - we learned a ton throughout the 4 hour tour. It's a good workout while not being too strenuous - and despite rain we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
London, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

I took the four-hour tuk-tuk tour, and it was great. The right mix of entertaining and informative, seeing both the modern condition of Soweto as well as its history, hope and heartbreak. Our guide was fantastic and knew a lot about the various communities of the township.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shaunism
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My mother and I took the 4-hour tuk tuk tour on recommendation from my travel group. It was an excellent view of the history of the area from the viewpoint of people that actually live and work there. I knew that I did not want to take a tour from someone offering it in a big bus like the citizens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DamaliC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just took a tour there but next time for sure I would also stay the night there. A lovely place in Soweto, where real township life happens. It's nicely designed and offers plenty of activities. I took the bike tour which was well guided and totally safe You could talk to staff and get more explanation. Lunch in their beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
Austin, Texas
Reviewed October 31, 2016

I stayed at Lebo's Backpackers for 4 nights.The first night I arrived late around 11 pm. The next morning I went to reception to check in. I didn't get a warm welcome nor did I get an orientation of the property. I signed up to do the 4 hour bicycle tour that morning, which I really enjoyed. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamika H
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 26, 2016

My husband and I live in Johannesburg and we booked a 2 hours bicycle tour on 13 October 2016, when my sister came to visit. We absolutely loved it. It was so nice to see Soweto from a different perspective. It was easy going yet very informative. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and happy to share just enough info without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathalieboucry
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time and write a review and give us feedback on your experience with us. We are also extra happy that you are locals from around Johannesburg as we really want our fellow South Africans to explore their own backyard. We hope to see you back! Warm Regards Maria Malepa

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

We did the 2 hour bike tour today and it was really really cool. After reading reviews that suggested the 4 hour tour was too long we decided to do the 2 hour. It was so hot, the bikes were not the best so the 2 hour was perfect for us. Th guide was awesome. Very knowledgable and friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesHRL
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and write a review and give feedback on your tour experience with us! Good to hear that you had a great experience and you are happy with the guide. Our tours are designed to take in different aspects of Soweto but of course Soweto is famous for the political turmoil and anti-apartheid activism so...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
7.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
632 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#37 of 70 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
11.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
9.5 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 89 in Johannesburg
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $11 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The double room is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles annaoY2016PD, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a fan to be put in your room in the hot summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles garethcraig, May 5, 2016 | Read review
“Dorms are cramped and crowded. There are only 2 single options. The double room is the best room but is expensive if you are on a budget.”
 of 5 bubbles littletripper1968, Feb 19, 2016 | Read review
“Have both shared and private rooms, according to your preference.”
 of 5 bubbles 277tamaraw, Jan 27, 2016 | Read review
“The room located just behind the reception is a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 529franka, Oct 3, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay