We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This was my third stay at this hotel. Rooms are clean, bed is comfy. First time that I ate at the restaurant, buffet meal. Was not impressed. Selection adequate but did not meet with my taste buds' expectations. Breakfast not included in the room rate and the price charged is a bit steep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonelleJ1955
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great place to stay, close to 2 shopping malls. We had a wonderful stay, great service provided by the bar/restaurant staff, very nice welcome at reception, rooms were fine. We'll come back on our next trip to South Africa!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's a nice hotel kind like berries who wants to bay in a Willow. I enjoyed my one night stay at the hotel and it was raining in Bloemfontein. Protea Willow Lake Offer 🆓WIFI ♿️parking access, conference facilities, bar, smoke policy inside the rooms, and they have a pool overlooking at the zoo and the hotel's closer to two malls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mpho C
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Mpho C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you are correct our location is lovely. Once again, thank you, and we would be honored to welcome you back in near future. Thank you Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen General...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

Friendly and effective service, lots of parking and pretty secure. Rooms are modern, fresh and classy. Loved the shower - which is a walk-in glass enclosure within the room - but not everybody's cup of tea I suspect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedRover_no_1
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear RedRover_no_1 What a wonderful way to start the week by reading your lovely review on your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake. I will definitely share your comments with my TEAM in our morning meeting, and I hope we will be honored to welcome you back real soon. Have a lovely week further. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl-Hagen General Manager...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

We stopped over on the way back from the Eastern Cape. Nice hotel, rooms small but neat and clean. The staff were friendly enough. Good little stop over. We arrived around 7 after been in the car for 7 hours. So we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, the only nice thing I can say about the meal were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waides
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear WAIDE, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, this is much appreciated. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels and in view of your comments, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the discomfort and...

Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting. The hotel has great decor with a clean fresh and upmarket feel. The rooms are are really homely and comfortable. Just a few small things that need improvement like the poor security as you enter. Not the typical sign in or out. A little risky. No sugar in the room but besides that an absolute great stat as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksT3155IB
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear marksT3155IB Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with the Protea Hotel Willow Lake and that you shared your valued experiences with us. The hotel can assure you that the shortcomings that you mentioned was most definitely not the norm and we have ensured corrective action in...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel recently with a group of colleagues, the hotel is clean and kept sparklingly clean, compact rooms with beautiful facilities in room, the glass shower is nicely scientifically rounded and does not allow for escape of water. However the exposed shower glass is not something I appreciate and thus for those like me it can be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jabu M
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear JabuM Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. It is always good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the sub standard towel that was placed in your bathroom, as this is not the standard we are proud to offer. Once again, thank you for your review, and...

Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Staying in the Protea Willow Lake turns a hard working business week into a very relaxing time. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and seeing zebra and Gemsbok from my room window was so cool. Had a real treat when the peacocks starting showing off at breakfast. Awesome stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvetteGoussard
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear YvetteGoussard What a lovely way to start the morning by reading your great comments on TripAdvisor. We are extremely fortunate to work at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, as we get to experience the tranquility of the zoo on a daily basis. I am delighted to read that you had an awesome stay, and will definitely communicate your review to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is at great location for business. The hotel looks beautiful (design)with nice furnishings. We were sharing a room and had an open shower with no curtain which was a bit uncomfortable because of the lack of privacy in this instance. The room had x2 double beds, but has little space for moving around. I felt breakfast was overpriced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madzanga
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Madzanga Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. It is important for us to know when we are doing right, but more importantly when we are doing wrong. I will definitely re-look at our breakfast offering with my TEAM, and see where we can improve. Once again, thank you, and may you have a lovely...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the checkout we were greeted with smiles. There is a lovely team working at this hotel which is conveniently located close to the city and access to the main freeway. Food in the restaurant was excellent! We will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear MikeMouse2910 Your review on TripAdvisor was a great motivator for my morning meeting, thank you for that. It is always great to hear that we are doing right, as that is why we are here, to serve our GUESTS. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Have a lovely day further. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl General...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#5 of 23 in Bloemfontein
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bloemfontein
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
#1 of 23 in Bloemfontein
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#12 of 23 in Bloemfontein
90 reviews
5.7 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#14 of 23 in Bloemfontein
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Willow Lake provides a serene environment that blends in with nature and the surrounds. The hotel comprises of modern and luxurious rooms, including 2 paraplegic bedrooms; all of which are equipped with air conditioners, selective satellite television channels, tea & coffee making facilities, executive desk with multi adapter plug points, electronic safes and touch dial telephones. Each room has an open plan shower (no baths), with privacy curtains in all twin rooms. Guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to winding down. Choose to relax by the pool or sip on cocktails in the bar and lounge area. Why not visit the exclusive patio, have a bite to eat and experience a breathtaking view of the Bloemfontein Zoo elephant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake

Address: 101 Henry Street, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range: $71 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor zoo view at back of building”
 of 5 bubbles vintagebydesire, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“View overlooking the zoo, none of the rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles kimroberts7574, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are excellent .They are very well serviced .”
 of 5 bubbles botfam, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms not on street front (Henry street) are comfortable. Some overlook the zoo”
 of 5 bubbles 431johanm, May 14, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room Away from main road”
 of 5 bubbles AstroZD, Apr 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question