We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Garden Court Mthatha

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Garden Court Mthatha
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very good hotel to stay in mthatha. Excellent accessible gym facilities. Very clean, friendly staff and meals excellent. Great place for business, holiday and leisure for families. Recommend hotel to tourist and south africans.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 181mathiask
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for your inspiring comments, we appreciate your contribution in uplifting our Hotel. We are encouraged to continue working hard to ensure we meet and exceed our guest expectations. Kind Regards Andrew More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always enjoy my stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are always clean. Dining experience is wow. Even when ask for a special meal, the chefs are so cooperative they give you what you require.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nzwaky
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments on this platform. We appreciated your feedback as it assist us to continue working hard ensuring we meet and exceed our customer expectations. Thanking you for your continuous support. Kind Regards, Andrew Ngwenya More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service over all was satisfactory however no one meet you at the entrance and no one take you to your room. The room (136) was very disappointing for the price (R1595.00). The carpets look dirty and the curtains looked shabby. No extra blankets available in the room. In the bathroom there was only a small soap, a small bottle... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank sarelo2016
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very for taking time to comment and give us feedback. We have noted your comments and we shall act on it. However I must inform you that standards of Garden Court vary as we only 3 star. Additional amenities can be sent to your room on request. We are in the process of planning the refurbishment... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mthatha hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are very friendly and helpful Dinner was not great Rooms are clean and well maintained I was only booked in for 2 nights, I think any longer would not have been good. The smoking and non smoking rooms are on the same passage, so for a non smoker it was pretty hard to stomach. Nonetheless if I had to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nkosinathin85
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for the feedback, we appreciate your time taken to post the comments. Your feedback will be reviewed and acted accordingly. We will take the necessary steps to ensure all our guest are comfortable in their rooms. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Garden Court Mthatha. Kind Regards, Andrew More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel needs a serious room upgrade of the furniture and bathrooms and is not in keeping with other Holiday Inns luxury levels, however the staff hospitality makes up for it. Wonderful people and really makes you feel comfortable and like a star. For an indian, breakfast and dinner could be better.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 758rajeshm
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking your time to post comments on this platform about Garden Court Mthatha. We appreciate your support. I am pleased to inform you that we will be starting with refurbishment of the property very soon. We will communicate through our channels once that has been finalised and the start set. We value your... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best service you can get from this hotel. I would definately recommend it to friends, family and colleagues. It is also nicely situated up the mountain. The security personnel at the gate is so welcoming and do regular patrols to ensure our safety.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank thembanelsonj
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer It is a pleasure to read such positive comments on this platform, we will continue working hard and smart ensuring that we meet and exceed our guest expectations. We thank you for your continuous support. Kind Regards, Andrew More 

Roodepoort
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spacious rooms, fresh, crisp, clean lined and pillows! Efficient and very friendly helpful team and value for money Breakfast pack! An unplanned stay as our flight was unilaterally cancelled by Airlink due to operational requirements with no offer of assistance and we were stuck at the Airport @ 18h00. Luckily the friendly and helpful Garden Court team confirmed with each... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 331katherineb
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer It is with a great pleasure to read such wonderful positive comments, it is our aim to ensure all our guest are looked after and make memories last for longer. We appreciate your continuous support and choosing Garden Court Mthatha as the destination of your choice in this area. We are looking forward to welcome you back in... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

My last stay at the hotel was in 2014 and was not happy at all. Tried them again last week stayed for 5days and was very much impressed. So much has improved, Service is just what it is supposed to be and food is very divine. Wifi working perfect and parking lot safe. Hotel requires an upgrade to match with... More 

Helpful?
Thank CHARMSAMA
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments on this platform. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was awesome. We are indeed planning refurbishment of the Hotel we will announce very soon the starting date. We will continue working hard ensuring we meet and exceed our guest expectations. Kind Regards, Andrew More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

The breakfast dining experience and menu was impeccable. The sleeping comfort was also very good. However, you may want to refurbish the furniture in your rooms, as well as the bathroom- bathtubs are very much old school.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank lonwabom727
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments in this platform. We appreciate your continuous support to Garden Court Mthatha Hotel and the brand. I am pleased to inform that we have agreed to start with refurbishment, the project team will soon confirm the start dates. Kind Regards, Andrew More 

New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

I am not satisfied with the rate for my stay, plus the front office changes the rate with out any reasonable cause. I face a problem with the payment. I am not using my card benefits. the kitchen is not serving any Halal Food.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ismailabdelaziz2016
GCMthatha, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking time to post your comments, please note there are two rates reschedule, weekend and weekdays and therefore your stay overlapped and thus why you were charged two different rates. I am not sure what problems you are facing with payments if you could give the Hotel Manager details we will be able to assist... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mthatha
0.9 mi away
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#3 of 37 in Mthatha
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#1 of 37 in Mthatha
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Rose Bella Bnb
#11 of 37 in Mthatha
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the heart of the Transkei, Mthatha is a bustling city that embodies an eclectic mix of old world South Africa and the new. It is a growing business centre and many companies use the city for conferences and events. The Garden Court Mthatha is hospitable, offering the friendly service that is common to the area. It offers access to the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University as well as the city centre, an efficient airport and the national highway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court Mthatha

Address: Nelson Mandela Drive, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Mthatha 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Garden Court Mthatha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Mthatha Hotel Mthatha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay