We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cycads on Sea Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francis Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cycads on Sea Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Cycads on Sea Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Gideon and Elizabeth were fantastic. Their guesthouse is beautiful, spacious, nicely situated and comfortable but the outstanding feature is the owners unobtrusive hospitality. They really care. We only spent 1 night there but will most certainly return and recommend Cycads on Sea to all that we speak to. Thank for a brilliant break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SA-Travelling
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Cycads is so well appointed. The bed is the best ever. Ever. Crisp white linen. Utter peace. The front of house is extremely well appointed. Even a piano which really works well. The housekeeper is a gem. Try getting oil paint of your new jacket. Dining room is perfect down to the butter knife. Dinner options a plenty down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cycads on Sea. Our room was warm, clean and cosy in the middle of a winters weekend. Breakfast the next morning was ample and eloquently laid out. Will definitely recommend this place for a short stay over. The owner Gideon really makes you feel "at home"

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marvin K
Cape Town
Reviewed July 27, 2016

This is a great place to go for a relaxing getaway. Friendly owner and staff, clean rooms and stunning food. We spend a week with Gideon and found that nothing was too much of an effort for him. The views are beautiful and the atmosphere is so peaceful. I would definitely recommend Cycads on Sea Guesthouse!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annette779
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We arrived at Cycads on Sea without a booking but the owner, Gideon Roos, made us very welcome and was keen to please. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. Our request to have a braai that evening resulted in everything being prepared for us. The breakfast in an attractive separate breakfast room was amazing. Everything about our visit demonstrated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank froggypond
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Cycads on Sea is located on a hill with stunning views of the bay, a few minute's drive from the beach, in a secure neighborhood with on-street parking. It has recently changed hands, and the new owner Gideon met us and personally helped us with our luggage. We were traveling in a large group (six people), and he accommodated us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
GullRider, Owner at Cycads on Sea Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! It was super having you all as guests and we certainly look forward to seeing you again! All the best wishes from the Cycads Team!

Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed April 11, 2016

This guest house is spectacular. The location and view are stunning. The rooms are large, clean and beautiful. The security is top notch. The owner is kind and helpful. I highly recommend this guest house to anyone traveling to the St. Francis Bay area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niccotter
GullRider, Owner at Cycads on Sea Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! It was great having you as guests. Sometime soon again?! Fondest regards!

Worcester, South Africa
Reviewed January 26, 2016

In the first week of January after the madness of the festive season we went to Cycads for 2 nights. While not on the sea, it is within spitting distance...Gideon the host was very helpful professional and always willing to assist. The room was neat and tidy, clean and spacious. The rates were reasonable and the food excellent...just what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGreekBoy
GullRider, Owner at Cycads on Sea Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! It was great having you as guests and we hope to see you again! Fondest regards from the Cycad Team.

Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

It was a very disappointing stay at the Cycads... We had to wait in front of the house to get checked in for more than an hour and then the room number 5 was smelly and the carpet seemed very old. Breakfast and the location were good. Sadly the owner, who tried very hard, wasnt up at 8:30 when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
GullRider, Owner at Cycads on Sea Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we regret any inconvenience you experienced as our guests are our priority! It was an extremely busy time of year with an unexpected amount of guests. On that particular day we had to deal with a guest who became ill and we had to arrange for an ambulance while still tending to the needs...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed July 18, 2015

I enjoyed my 4 night stay with Miemie at her guesthouse, such a lovely lady. My room at the top had a lovely view of the sea. At the time I was the only guest, so I felt very privileged! Great location, only a short distance to the town centre by car. The house felt very homely although needs some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
0.9 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
269 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#6 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When intrepid Portuguese explorer Manual de Perestrelo weighed anchor in this beautiful sheltered bay in 1575, he named it "Bahia de Soa Francisca" after the Monastery of St Francisca, in his hometown of Santareme, hence the name St Francis Bay. Today you will find a tranquil "Village" with an abundance of thatch-roof homes, on the sea, with a lot to offer. Rest, peace, Golf (4 courses within a 60km radius including the well-known "Links" course), walk ways, sea and canal boat trips, superb fishing, super restaurants as well as the Port St Francis harbour. For those who enjoy surfing: "Bruce's Beauties" is world renowned and within easy walking distance from Cycads. During the December holiday season tandem sky-diving is also offered. All amenities are close by. So, come and Feel the Breeze!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cycads on Sea Guesthouse

Address: 17 Lovemore Crescent, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cycads on Sea Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms have good views. Lovely Honeymoon Suite !”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“For those who are interested, there is a golf course close by, as well as world class surfing.”
 of 5 bubbles 888louism, Apr 17, 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs room at the front of the property, or even the ground level room at the front. From these rooms you have the best views.”
  • View of the sea
  • Bathroom ensuite of room 8
 of 5 bubbles T9436MQchristineh, Jul 18, 2015 | Read review
“If you are travelling as couple, i would recommend the room upstairs. The view is amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles vanessaw89, Jan 21, 2015 | Read review
“if you enjoy the sea, beaches & surfing, then this is for you. Overlooks Bruce's Beauties & Huletts. 5min walk to Bruce's!”
 of 5 bubbles paulz2014, Nov 20, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question