We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Conifer Guest House

Save
Share
39 Windermere Road Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (59)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Conifer Guest House
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Conifer Beach House, a lovely 4-Star guest house, in Humewood Port Elizabeth, is a hidden gem closely situated to some of Port Elizabeth's most stunning swimming beaches, major beachfront attractions, as well as the city's airport. The two 1927 houses are beautifully restored to accommodate fifteen stylish en -suite units, all with the same content but the more economical ones are a little smaller in size. Each room has a private entrance with a little patio overlooking the beautiful semi-tropical gardens, and has access to a communal outdoor pool. Every unit at Conifer Beach House is fitted with a flat screen TV with DSTV, free Wi-Fi, Ceiling fans, hairdryers, heaters, tea and coffee facilities, crockery, fridges,small microwave and some of the bigger rooms have air conditioners. Free toiletries are provided in the bathrooms. Secure parking is taken care of by the ample parking space on the premises. Enjoy healthy, delicious, tailor made breakfasts, including vegetarian, vegan and typical African options in the dining area or on the tree filled patios .A short walk brings you to beautiful beaches, Surfing,Snorkelling, the Brookes Hill restaurants and Boardwalk Casino Entertainment Complex. The South End Museum, Health Clubs and the Nelson Mandela University are all close by in less than a ten minute drive. The managing staff are all very keen to assist with tour options and advice on the best possible activities to make your Eastern Cape visit an unforgettable part of your journey
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Clothes dryer
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
337Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 222
  • 93
  • 17
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
IanMalloy wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
I really enjoyed the one night I stayed at Conifer Beach House and would definitely stay there again when in Port Elizabeth. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, the guesthouse is very close to the Port Elizabeth boardwalk and restaurants, I felt safe at all times and the garden and outside area was amazing for relaxing and just reading a book. I traveled for work purposes and the room had all I needed for this, but I would recommend this place to people travelling for fun and adventure, or who just want a break from the city as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Junita Van Dijk, Owner at Conifer Guest House
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Thank you Ian for taking the trouble to write us a nice review! I really appreciate it and hope that after this uncertain time in our history you would come back to us should the opportunity arise! Regards
Read more
Malissa wrote a review Mar 2020
South Africa8 contributions
I have been coming back to Conifer House numerous times as I travel for work! Best value for money! Lovely breakfast and such a clean venue. The rooms are lovely and so are the staff! Can definitely add an extra star to their name!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Junita Van Dijk, Owner at Conifer Guest House
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Wow thank you so much for your kind review! This is precisely what we want that our clients come back and I am glad that you experience Conifer as a "home away from home"! Hopefully we will see you back soon after this unusual time in our history! Be safe!
Read more
dhause502298 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
perfect located guesthouse in the heart of Port Elizabeth. Well maintained rooms and garden area, nice flair and very good and fresh breakfast. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Nice and need, we will come again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Junita Van Dijk, Owner at Conifer Guest House
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Dietmar Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a kind review! We hope to welcome you back at Conifer in the near future! Kind regards Junita
Read more
Enez N wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
The one room's bathroom had not been cleaned, prior to our arrival, no fresh towels as well. the second day- even though we had paid for two breakfasts- there was no breakfast offered. The FULL payment was made on check-in on the 21st of February, and they deducted another FULL amount again on the 28 February, such poor management is quite appalling, we paid twice! As indicated on my booking.com review, we'll give Conifer House a skip next time, this stay was very disappointing. Their standard has dropped. They should drop one star from their rating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Junita Van Dijk, Owner at Conifer Guest House
Responded Mar 3, 2020
I take note of your frustration with the double payment, however, I apologised and when you alerted me , I immediately reversed the payment and informed you that I have rectified the mistake! Amidst the load shedding, we by mistake deducted the amount twice and I again apologise profusely! However, I recalled the conversations we had over the breakfast table , so you INDEED had breakfast! It is a pity that you did not inform us that you would leave very early the following morning and would need a breakfast pack , which we gladly do for all our guests, who informs us, to take away on the road! With regards to your "complaint" that the bathroom was not cleaned, I have inspected the rooms myself, and in those brand new bathrooms, it is very easy to see whether it has been cleaned and whether new towels have been placed in the room! Should it not have been cleaned, why did you use a "dirty" bathroom with" no clean towels" and not informed management?. We have somebody 24 hours on the premises who would have sorted out any problems within seconds!
Read more
pmarti296648 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We had a wonderful time. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and tidy. It was well appointed with fridge and a few other nice touches. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a fabulous breakfast of eggs Benedict. All in all a very memorable experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Junita Van Dijk, Owner at Conifer Guest House
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Thank you very much for your lovely review, much appreciated! Hope we will see you back after this difficult time! Please stay safe!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Elizabeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Conifer Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Conifer Guest House?
Nearby attractions include King's Beach (0.02 miles), Bayworld (0.2 miles), and Humewood Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Conifer Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Conifer Guest House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Conifer Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Conifer Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Conifer Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include BeerShack, Company Social Brasserie, and Raasoie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Conifer Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Conifer Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Conifer Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Conifer Guest House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial (2.7 miles), Old Post Office Building (1.3 miles), and Holy Trinity Anglican Church (1.8 miles).