We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Frankfurt
Reviewed yesterday NEW

+ Breakfast was good (choice of eggs or cereals - latter is absolutely recommendable!) + Rooms are clean (a little bit small) + Good service + Nice location, very central + Has an own bar where you can chill in the evening

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philippt164
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were surprises how much awesomeness can even fit in such a place ! First off hardy, our host, set us up and shower us around. He is a very kind guy with even better sense of humour. He will give you all the informatie you need and want ! The accomodation is very Nice with 2 yards. One for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rbn N
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff here are great, they are friendly and make you feel like family. Food options at the lodge are good value and the accommodation is nice. Conveniently located just above the main road and within walking distance of the beach. Good cooking facilities too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DannYB010
Hamburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice athmosphere in the "living room" with games and drinks. A nice south african lady offers south african dinner, it was very tasty. I would come again to this friendly place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 731lidias
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Stayed with family of six. Two rooms were really spacious, with coffee/tea making facilities and a couch/chairs. The third was smaller. The laundry service is nice. It's an easy walk to the shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirjam205
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mirjam Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your feedback. Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Nothando is well located - a short walk from the beach and restaurants but in a quiet neighborhood. Staff are super friendly and informative, and the lodge is well run - clean, everything works as it should, and it has all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. My double room even had a hairdryer! There is plenty of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 185tammyf
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tammy Wow!!! Thank you so moocher your wonderful review of Nothando. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels and if possible, please visit us again in the near future. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Nothando is a great place to stay for backpackers in Plettenberg. Very well organized, friendly staff, nice and clean dorms (they even provide towels), central in town. There is nothing to complain about. I would have liked to stay longer... Unfortunately, they were fully booked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneOnguma
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne Wow!!! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed December 21, 2016

We only stay there for a night and we enjoyed it, we slept comfortably. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. There is a safe parking space which is very important. They also serve good breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lexter0536
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. It is great to get feedback. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and always welcome to stay with us again. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as a base for exploring the Garden Route, it's ideally located for it. We stayed in a double ensuite room and it was absolutely perfect for our needs. Spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable bed, secure - all of which made it great value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sander P
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow!!!! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. Much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team

Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

Brilliant hospitality would have loved to stay longer, will definitely be back, and make our stay longer thank you for receiving us so warmly and for the kind and friendly service, this is indeed one of those places where you meet, and make new friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regenald Jacque... S
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow!!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
635 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#10 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#19 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $12 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nothando Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 3 is the best - on suite, roomy, nice double bed, away from bar/late night noise,”
 of 5 bubbles MJV9, May 17, 2015 | Read review
“Splash out a little and get a room with an ensuite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneMeier, Apr 18, 2015 | Read review
“Both the 8bed dorm and the private double were excellent - can't go wrong here.”
 of 5 bubbles katiem227, Aug 4, 2014 | Read review
“The shared room is very nice! The privetes even better!”
 of 5 bubbles AndreMiyashiro, Jul 17, 2014 | Read review
“Dorms seem vibrant & full of life for a quieter stay book a private room all are great value”
 of 5 bubbles babooshkaphillips, Feb 12, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question