We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bayview Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Bayview Hotel
 Click to rate
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a standard twin room and found it very comfortable. The room and bathroom was very clean. The location of the hotel is perfect. Walking distance from everything. We however did not have many staff interaction but with check in and check out they were professional and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiesCor
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Bayview Hotel. We appreciate you pointing out our comfortable, clean rooms, great location and professional staff. We hope you will visit us again. Kind Regards Bayview Hotel

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good rooms and helpful staff with onsite parking. Large double room with tea making facilities. Personal bottles of toiletries. Central location with On site restaurant which is not run by hotel.Breakfast not included but good value rooms and plenty of places to eat nearby

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelika K
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed staying in our rooms and that the staff could assist you with whatever you needed. Our location is a fantastic plus for the hotel and we are fortunate enough to have a great restaurant on-site. Come back soon! The Bayview Hotel

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a very last minute booking as the previous hotel we had booked was not all as it was made out to be.. We arrived and had booked the "honeymoon suite" (only room left) I would be very disappointed if I was on my honeymoon and turned up to a room like this. The sheets had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank char100290
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I apologise for your experience in this room and can only hope that the staff were able to help you at the time. Thank you for bringing our attention to the restaurant noise that you experienced and we will endeavour to improve on this. Kind Regards Bayview Hotel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have not much to say about this hotel, as i noticed no service, the room was not very nice, the room was hot as h*ll and the hotel was not very close to the beach. There is one good thing about this stay and that is the door to door restaurant that is "within" the hotel but is actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you had a bad experience. Our hotel is 3* and we offer budget accommodation in a hotel setting. Our rooms are serviced daily an we have a 24 hour reception. As you mention, we conveniently have a very good restaurant onsite and the property is in...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please you need to change your beds,they are very bad that the base was broken and we asked for the replace ment, instead they patched it with the plank were it was broken,and the first room we were offered was very stuffy and they gave us the one with broken bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williammJ147ZV
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for drawing our attention to the few issues you had. The beds are slowly being replaced and we will rectify this concern. Regards Bayview Hotel

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed January 10, 2017

The cost of staying at the hotel was not worth what we got in return. Our shower had no curtain and on top of that, we had no bath towels. They said they would take half an hour because they had not been dried yet (this was at about 8 at night). We never ended up reviving the towels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cg20172017
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we can only apologies for your poor experience. This should never have happened and the towel constraint will be addressed. Kind Regards Bayview Hotel

Italian Riviera, Italy
Reviewed January 8, 2017

No air conditioner and over priced for the rooms ,definitely does not deserve it's star rating and for what we paid there was no breakfast included , it is situated in such a prime position and in such a beautiful part of South Africa that one would expect special interest in satisfying people who visit and spend good money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3248CIrobertos
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are blessed with our wonderful location and are working on upgrading the hotel as soon as possible. Kind Regards Bayview Hotel

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed January 2, 2017

I travelled to Plettenberg Bay with a colleague of mine. The Bayview Hotel is in a fantastic location, and we had a very comfortable stay. It was convenient, the view was great and I would definitely go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J4607NPjohne
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you had such a comfortable stay and enjoyed our fantastic location. We hope to welcome you back soon! The Bayview Hotel Team

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Friendly staff , excellent location - short walk to restaurants/bars . Good stop for touring the area. Safe parking. Spacious and clean room. Could be noisy with people leaving early morning. Very good local beaches.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel! As you mentioned, we are right in the heart of Plett, close to everything you will need, including the beaches. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Bayview Hotel

Reviewed October 30, 2016

The Bayview Hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of town and has easy access to all the main road restaurants. Everything one needs is within walking distance. The rooms are clean and of fair size, and the beds are comfortable. It has an in house restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast. lunch & dinner if you decide to dine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amarok2
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. As you have pointed out, the hotels central location, onsite restaurant and reasonably priced rooms makes it a great accommodation choice. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
642 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
761 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
497 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $54 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room was facing on the main road and in busy times like plett rage the street might be very noisy. Ask for a quiet room during busy times.”
 of 5 bubbles RiesCor, 1 week ago | Read review
“Second floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Amarok2, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Room facing Main Street have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ENaidoo, May 22, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a Bay view are excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles Bob2012Sydney, May 7, 2016 | Read review
“great view from the penthouse”
 of 5 bubbles onsstee, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question