We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bayview Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Man it is great staying at the Bayview. Friendly staff, nice in town and nothing is to much for all the staff to do or go the extra mile. Near the beach and good restaurants. Shopping is great in Plettenbergbay.

Helpful?
Thank Helma13
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Good location on the Main Street, close to all the amenities, shops and restaurants. Comfortable good size double bedroom with a view. There is restaurant located right next to the hotel reception, and parking is no problem.

Helpful?
Thank ENaidoo
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location is excellent for both being close to the beach, shops and restaurants, as you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back in the future! More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

I found the Bayview Hotel by a recommendation from friends who live in Plettenberg Bay. I only wanted 2 nights but the hotel was so nice I should have stayed a week. It is quite small, but in a excellent position, and most importantly, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My room had all the extras... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob2012Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

The hotel is very nice, just needs a bit of TLC. We had a wonderfull time there. we only stayed 1 night but we loved it very much. We stayed at the penthouse with the most beautifull view of the ocean and the lake. Thank you for making my holliday special.

Helpful?
Thank onsstee
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

Position is excellent. Staff friendly BUT rooms looking very tired. Bathroom not cleaned properly....hair all over the floor!! No milk supplied for in room tea or coffee. On booking.com website it boasts airconditioning - there isn't any. Would not like to be in here in the Summer months. The owners need to spend a night in their own hotel. Happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank veekayhay
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your room. I hope you brought this to the managers attention and these issues could be rectified while you were still there. Our website and Booking.com advertise our rooms as having fans and heating. We are a 3 star established... More 

Goodwood Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

Loved the place, staff very helpful and friendly, Laundromat across the road to the left. Fantastic service. Not impressed with the Bistro on the ground floor, pricey and did not enjoy my starter or mains. Will definitely go back to stay when in Plettenberg Bay

Helpful?
Thank 57Belinda12
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location and staff are two elements that we pride ourselves on. Being based where we are, we are in walking distance of numerous restaurants to meet all tastes. We look forward to welcoming you back! Bayview Hotel Management More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

The location was perfect and the staff were so helpful. If we had a reason to be in Plettenberg Bay again would think about this hotel. Easy access to everything. Staff were extremely helpful. Would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AliMack_12
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

All hotel - members and the manager are very, very friendly and polite. They help prompt when you are on the way to your next town. Also, if you have had a problem with your car the employees will help even.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank horstro
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

We had two nights booked but left after the first. We were on a road trip so wasn't expecting anything fancy, but this hotel was dark and dingy. Tv which was 10000 years old. Dirty carpet and an awful shower. Staff were okay but the rooms let the hotel Down

Helpful?
Thank charbeaumont
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our 3 star property is constantly being improved upon bit by bit. We are busy replacing all the old TV's with flat screens. Level by level the carpets are being replaced (even though they are cleaned regularly) and the bathrooms are on the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Plettenberg Bay hotels

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

This place is value for money. The room was more than enough for what i needed. The bed was comfortable the room and bathroom was clean. They offer free wifi. Close to restaurants and shops. And by far the cheapest in plett. I was there before and i will come again.

Helpful?
Thank Leraffy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#4 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#10 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay