We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Start your review of Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay
 Click to rate
Cambridge
Reviewed May 19, 2015

We stayed two nights and used it as a great base to tour the area from. We had a separate chalet room etc from the main house. Breakfasts were awsome and plenty of it. The lodge itself has a great history with lots of rooms full of original family items. We had one evening meal there where every guest sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoobyCambridge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very neat, clean and had all what was necessary. Lovely and close to shops, beach and town. Only downside was that the DSTV and gate weren't working. Otherwise, definitely recommend Luna Lodge!!!!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci W
Gauteng
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The worst place in Plett - A backpackers is better ! For the amount paid (R1500.00), the 4 star status was a shocker! We waited to be checked in by incompetent youngsters. Our TV /DSTV didn't work and was removed the next day! The fan never worked until we asked. There was NO cold water! Try a scalding hot shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexiNorvall
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this room only viewing the rating on booking.com - BIG mistake. A quick look on the ratings here on TripAdvisor would have helped us make the decision Not to book Luna Lodge. It is NOT value for money (we payed 1500 rand per night) during peak season... For a family room with shared lounge, kitchen and terrace. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johannajaakola
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at Luna Lodge, only to wait 15 minutes for the owner to arrive. He was extremely rude! He informed us that a clearner would come to clean the place the next morning - never pitched. When I called him he put the phone down on me. For the amount we paid, was the worst place to stay. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don P
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed January 4, 2014

You need to have something in mind when going to Luna Lodge: you will be on your own. We only saw the manager once, when we arrived. But the apartment is big and well equipped. The location is also very good for those who wants to explore the Garden Route, as it is very close to N2, and also close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LigiaLr
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

kzn
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It started of by hooting at the gate and no one answering , then finding out that unit did not lock .then no one came to clean unit for 2 days that i stayed . The was no one at the unit to complaint to .and when i phone the owner to complaint he only had excuse for every thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadtripper003
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It really depends on what you are looking for. In Luna Lodge we had great privacy, a studio apartment kind of room with a kitchen and a spacious bath room. However during our stay we never saw the host. Even when we checked out we just left the keys in the room and drove off. But for the amount you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohit_1801
Cape Town
Reviewed November 23, 2013

On arrival the luna lodge was all locked up and no-one there . Tourist office rang the owner who I spoke to but he rudely put the phone down mid sentence.finally gained access to our rooms at 5 p.m. No sign of the owner or an apology. Broken floor tiles in both rooms. No key for one room. T.V. not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard H
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good day, We found the room quite nice and the self catering idea was what we wanted - but after all the smell of the room was terrible and the floor was dirty..... The gas hob was not clean at all.... Regards,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaap D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
734 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
506 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
8.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
4.0 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

Address: 6 Leslie Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room on the upper floor to obtain sea view. But really, rather go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles johannajaakola, Jan 6, 2014 | Read review
“Make sure you leave nothing in your room when you go out for the day!”
 of 5 bubbles 860walterd, Sep 26, 2013 | Read review
“Try to stay on the top floor as I am sure the views are better.”
 of 5 bubbles KirstyD664, Apr 14, 2013 | Read review
“dont book the Family Room - due to the shower. I think the other room on the floor (not family room, only double bed) had a shower. :)”
 of 5 bubbles vmizorov, Mar 3, 2013 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles JamesP551, Nov 27, 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question