We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Save
Share
Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$1,119
View Deal
Agoda.com$1,120
Tripadvisor$1,119
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (560)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (38)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Grahamstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. The 3 main aspects of any African safari are the game-viewing, the accommodation and the food – at Kichaka we take special care to ensure that heartfelt service combines with these three “ingredients” to make your Big 5 African safari experience a memorable one.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Spa
Concierge
Gift shop
Private check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
DVD / CD player
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148 South Africa
Getting there
Port Elizabeth Airport55 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
451Reviews12Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 417
  • 23
  • 8
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris567travels wrote a review Apr 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom55 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Kichaka Lodge is simply fantastic. The food, the lodge, the staff, the reserve & animals, the game drives and most of all the experiences are all out of this world. We had one of the bush facing villas which are lovely and spacious, the bed was large, extremely comfortable and warm for the cool South African nights. The layout is open plan and there is a patio area which is private and has a couple of loungers, a large plunge pool and a shower. Make sure to spend some time looking at the stars late at night, the environment is so dark and peaceful and the night sky looks spectacular. The room was immaculate, very clean and alway kept tidy. The bathroom had a shower, toilet, large bath, two sinks and two large areas for storing luggage and clothes / toiletries. We never spent a lot of time in the room as we loved watching for animals coming to the water hole between our game drives but the villas are a beautiful place to spend time. Game drives start early in the morning around dawn, we enjoyed a cup of tea or orange juice at the lodge before heading out for the approximately 3 hour game drive. Most of our sightings were on the morning drives including watching three lions feast on a small buffalo after completing their kill. The vehicles do bounce around which wakes you up quickly! At the start of the drive it was quite cold so do take something to cover up for the first hour or so, it does warm up quickly once the sun gains some strength though. Evening game drives are also about 3 hours in length and leave mid to late afternoon and return to the lodge just before sunset. We were very lucky with the weather and had clear, hot weather both days meaning the sunsets were other worldly, absolutely beautiful. It is worth asking your guide to stop for a few minutes on the way back to the lodge to appreciate the sunset at the end of the drive. It is worth mentioning that you can do game drives after dark for a very reasonable additional fee. You will see a lot of animals, our favourites sightings were lions, cheetahs, rhino, giraffe, zebra, ostrich and buffalo. The food at Kichaka was way above our expectations. Breakfast is served after you return from the morning game drive. There is a nice small buffet and you can order cooked items, presentation is beautiful and all of our food always came quickly. Lunch is served around 1ish with some lovely options including, steak, salad and noodles. There is something for most tastes I think. Dinner is a short time after coming back from the evening game drive and is ordered earlier in the day. Some of the steaks are fantastic and there are some different options such as kudu and warthog. Interior design of the lodge is stylish and thoughtful. I really liked the decor of the dining room which all looks smart and like it belongs there. The plunge pool next to the water hole is a great place to cool off in the heat of the day and we saw a giraffe, warthogs and a water monitor all in just a few hours. There are six sun beds next to the plunge pool which are super comfy for spending the hours between game drives. It is also possible to have a range of massages as well during the day. Overall our experience was a dream, several months on we still talk often about the three days we spent at Kichaka, it was simply brilliant. Thanks to everyone there who made it an experience of a lifetime.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kichaka-Luxury-Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Responded May 8, 2020
Dear Chris Thank you for your wonderful, detailed review of Kichaka Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your recent stay with us. The bush facing suites are lovely as they make you feel like you are tucked away in the natural bush. We are happy to know that you saw many animals on your game drives and that you even have some favourites to remember. We will pass on your kind words to the Kichaka team. The chefs will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and that you were able to taste some local dishes. We hope you will return to Lalibela in the future. We would love to welcome you back for another visit. Kind regards, The Kichaka Team
Read more
WendyL wrote a review Apr 2020
London11 contributions
+1
I just do not know where to start!! This place was our highlight of our 3 week travel in South Africa. We left feeling emotional and grateful that we was lucky enough to experience it. We originally was only staying 2 nights but this place was so incredible, we had to give it another night. The accommodation is perfect. We had the lake view and it was simply gorgeous. The staff and service are outstanding! They all made us feel like we was royalty. The food.... was AMAZING! I mean we was so spoilt with food there. A typical day starts around 5am. Everyday and drive, you get a wake up call from your ranger, you meet him at the dining area for a small breakfast buffet (which you spoilt for choice)! We was lucky enough to have the head ranger. We are a group of 4 and we totally fell in love with Ashley, his knowledge with the animals, the wild, random plants, the stars, in fact his general knowledge is impeccable and my father in law said he has turned into a green eyed monster because of him. Ashley always went out of his way for us and he made sure that every single one of our drive was special. We learnt so so much in 3 days being in his company. We manage to see 4 out of the big 5 but honestly, I could not care less that we didn’t see the cheetah because everything else we saw and experience really took our breath away! The giraffes in the horizon was my favourite memory of it all. Oh and the lioness eating her kill was also insane to watch! On each drive you have a break, a lovely drink and some more snacks. A drive usually lasts around 3 hours so after the early morning one is done, you’re dropped back to enjoy a big delicious breakfast. Then you have lunch which is served around 1-2pm and then high tea at 4pm... YES HIGH TEA! Nom nom nom! This happens just before your afternoon game drive which is usually around 4:30pm. After our drive and on the arrival back to our lodge, you are greeted every time by a staff and a lovely cocktail and then dinner is served (which you pre order when you are at high tea). Hats of to the chef, we never got to meet him but the food never failed on every meal and we have got some really hard people to please in our party 🙈 We also did star gazing and a night drive with Ashley! Hugely recommended as well as they are both so special and a different experience. We thoroughly enjoyed all our activities. My father in law and his wife has been to South Africa 5 times and has previously done 3 other game drives and they have said, they all did not come close to Kichaka and it was definitely worth every penny. It was mine and my fiancé’s first game reserve experience and after that, I’m going to make it our last because I don’t think another one will top it so I rather not get disappointed and leave myself with amazing memories. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel so welcome and doing such an amazing job. A huge huge thank you to our ranger Ashley. I think his ears will be burning now. Wendy, Sam, Robert & Sarah Tiffin
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kichaka-Luxury-Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Responded May 8, 2020
Dear Wendy, Sam, Robert and Sarah Thank you so much for your amazing review of Kichaka Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time on your first safari and that you were able to share this experience with your family. We are so happy that you decided to stay an extra night with us. Ashley will be so excited to hear that you enjoyed the game drives with him. It is lovely that you were able to go on a night drive and enjoy a stargazing experience. This is such a wonderful way to enjoy the reserve at night time. There are so many nocturnal animals to see. We will pass on your compliments to our chef. They really like to ensure that our guests are well fed with plenty of options to choose from. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, The Kichaka Team
Read more
Heidibex82 wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom30 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
I’ve just got back from staying at Kichaka Luxury Game Reserve for 3 nights at the end of the Garden Route for our honeymoon. As soon as you stepped foot on site we knew this was going to be next level. It oozes class, beauty and an atmosphere that I cannot put into words. Once we were escorted to our lodge, and upon seeing our room across 3 different levels and private infinity pool we were blown away. We even did an excitable dance once the lady left us. The website and research doesn’t do it justice. It’s so stunning. The lodge itself is so private, it doesn’t host many guests, but those that are there start to feel like family. You’re all up early, having drinks after the Safari, eating together, mingling, talking, and it’s just a lovely, lovely vibe. It’s incredibly intimate, and I’d never stay at a lodge any bigger. This also meant that the service was world class. The attentiveness, awareness, kindness, rapport, generally everything from the staff was next level. Massive shout out to James to mixologist. His drinks are a work of art, he cares so much about how they look, taste, and most importantly what you think of them. There were a few little surprises thrown in by him too. Knowing our love for Bloody Marys, he taught our ranger how to make them so we had bloody Mary’s for breakfast out on Safari! Awesome. He then made us them on Sunday at the bar, they were waiting for us, unprompted. Attention to detail is brilliant. James is a top guy and a world class mixologist. Onto Safari - this is the element of the honeymoon we were both looking forward to the most. We had Woody as our Ranger. You can never, ever feel sad or tired in his company. How these guys get up at 3.30am, meet you at 5am with the biggest smiles on their faces, know every single detail from the smallest bug to the biggest animal is beyond me. We were so fortunate to see so many amazing animals. We didn’t see a leopard but we went off on a tracking walk to try and find them on foot. This was a super special experience too. There are additional activities that you can pay for - my husband went fishing, I had spa treatments and of course the day out walking around the reserve. Star gazing is also an activity we would have liked but we were so tired or drunk by 9pm haha. Woody made us laugh, answered all our questions, loaned my husband his zoom lens as left it in England. He brought it on every safari without being asked. Very kind and generous. The reserve really does go that extra mile! From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. My only critique would be more evening meal options. You get 3 and sometimes I wasn’t in the mood for ostrich, impala, water hog (like ever haha) so it eliminated a couple of options out of the 3 for me straight away. Food is excellent though, and presentation is amazing, breakfast is superb. I’m not a fussy eater at all, I just find 3 a bit limiting. But I also understand it’s a small lodge and it can’t have too many choices as that could jeopardise quality. On the whole James 10/10 Woody 10/10 Kopinky (cleaner) 10/10 Lodge overall 100/10! We did some research into the whole tipping thing, because even though it’s all inclusive, South Africa does have a tipping culture. We tipped all over Cape Town etc so why wouldn’t we tip were the service was the absolute best? Small amounts show your gratitude and mean a lot to the team there. I was advised by my travel agent, lonely planet and also speaking with couples along the garden route which helped us know what to do. In the end we followed the guidelines and a little extra as it was truly deserved and completely unexpected.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kichaka-Luxury-Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Heidi Wow! We are blown away by your amazing review of Kichaka Lodge! Thank you for choosing Lalibela as one of the destinations for your honeymoon trip. We are delighted that we were able to make this trip a memorable one for you. The extra activities on offer are great for between game drives as you can either relax and unwind while having a massage or you can participate in a more adventurous activity like fishing or a bush walk. A bush walk is a great way to view some of the animals on foot as it gives you a different view on the animals in their natural environment. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Woody, James and the rest of the Kichaka team. They will be so happy to read your wonderful feedback. We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, perhaps for an anniversary trip? We would love to welcome you back. Kind regards, The Kichaka Team
Read more
An0nymou5 wrote a review Feb 2020
Greystones, Ireland39 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed in Kichaka in February 2020 and from start to finish we couldn't fault a single thing. From arriving at check in, getting a personal greeting and meeting our our Ranger, seeing Elephants before we even got to our lodge, the cocktails on arrival, the hot towels after every drive! It's the little personal touches of each and every staff member that makes the place. It's a little piece of paradise and it's website/advertising does not do it justice in our opinion - This is a premium hotel/lodge. We'd recommend this place to anyone. It's small and private and they have a very high staff to guest ratio making it all the more personal and unique. We were so lucky to have private game drives with David, who was so knowledgeable about every animal, big and small. He was great company on the game drives and more than accommodating for any requests we had. We even had some very rare sightings on our night-drive and I don't mean hedgehogs! After our first cocktail from James, (Kichaka's dedicated mixologist) we decided to just let him do his thing for all our drinks! I could write about Kichaka for hours, it was the highlight of our holiday of a lifetime, that should tell you all you need to know. Do not hesitate with this place. Book it! They are even going to be doing some decorative upgrades in the coming months. We will be back at some point, I hope. Cool, cool, cool, cool.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: A lodge with a view of the watering hole - Amazing!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kichaka-Luxury-Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review of Kichaka Lodge. We are so glad to hear that the elephants were there to give you a warm welcome on arrival. At Lalibela we believe that the small personal touches add to the guest experience. David will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed the game drives with him. It is great to hear that you participated in a night drive during your stay. There are so many amazing nocturnal creatures to be seen. We are so happy to know that you will be visiting us again, we would love to welcome you back to Lalibela. Kind regards, The Kichaka Team
Read more
Jill C wrote a review Feb 2020
Lancashire, United Kingdom112 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We recently stayed at Kichaka game lodge for 3 nights, and I can honestly say it’s the most wonderful place I have ever stayed. We were warmly welcomed at reception and driven down to the lodges by our ranger Ruan. The place is every bit as idyllic as the photos. Over the next 3 days we went out on several game drives with Ruan who was just amazing at spotting and tracking animals. I cannot believe how close we got! . He was so knowledgable, we learnt so much about the animals and birds in the reserve and also the flora and fauna. Ruan was polite and helpful despite 4 babbling Brits continually clicking cameras and excitingly pointing iPhones. The memories of the gin and tonics watching the African sunset by the milkwood tree will stay with us forever. Our lodge was spacious, beautifully furnished with a private deck and pool, most afternoons we had small deer passing which was just magical. The food was delicious and plentiful with a great choices each mealtime, we also experienced fabulous cocktails by James. We brought a few items of clothing and flipflops, etc for the local school children and felt so humbled when it was explained to us what a difference these things make, I would encourage everyone who visits to bring a few items with them. My heartfelt thanks to each and every one of the wonderful team at Kichaka who thought of everything to make our stay a perfect one. My friends and I would love to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kichaka-Luxury-Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Jill Thank you for taking the time to review Kichaka Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay with us and that you made life-long memories on safari watching the African sunset across the reserve. This is such a beautiful time of day to be out in the bush with a G&T in hand. Thank you for your wonderful contribution to our community outreach programme. These contributions would not be possible without the help from our guests. There is nothing better than seeing the children smiling from ear to ear. It makes everyone's hearts so happy and warm. We would love to welcome you and your friends back for another visit one day. Kind regards, The Kichaka Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$795 - $991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kichaka luxury game hotel grahamstown
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeGrahamstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.