We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Southern Sun Hemingways

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Southern Sun Hemingways
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Uitenhage, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What an awesome experience. The accommodation and staff was of the highest standard I have ever experienced on all my work and holiday trips. The food was of the highest quality and my room was immaculate. Well done to management and staff. The Hotel leads into the Hemingway Mall. The Mall was very clean and quality shops throughout. I highly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank neilcA7586RM
Hatfield
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall I experienced great service from this hotel. It was also convenient that the hotel is next to a shopping centre. The people were friendly, the room was clean and pretty. The bathroom was nice. The hotel also has a gym. Our travel agent had booked us for dinner, bed and breakfast, but we were not informed that we had... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank lynneK9691RQ
pretoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is the best hotel you can ever find, the service alwayys suprise you and always exceed your expectations. we were very pleased with the welcomimng and treatement recuieved although we did the booking very late but in 10 minutes i was in my room waiting for my dinner. there is no way i cant find my self in any... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank christophersX3465SX
Level Contributor
225 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great welcoming and great service! Everything was perfect from the begin to the end. We also had breakfast and it was excellent. Room was perfect in size and the bed was very comfortable. Thanks to all the staff always friendly and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It is always an honour to hear that all the services we provided was exceeded and that our friendly staff have lived up to their great reputation. We will share your kind words with the team and trust that we will be your hotel of choice when you next return to... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Please refer comments in previous survey. Room non smoking but cigarette burn mark on bath. Bath stained. Air conditioning not working properly. Rate very high compared to 5 star hotel - Boardwalk. When I asked about the high price, they told me price is as per demand!!!! Government employees???

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 959mariets
Retabile, Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Eastern Cape Traveller, We appreciate you taking the time to complete our survey and for your feedback through tripadvisor. I have tried to make contact with you yesterday and this afternoon. I have also taken the liberty to physically check your room and also saw the stains you were referring to, this has been addressed with the relevant parties.... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As always a warm friendly welcome met by a quick and efficient check in. Excellent value for money when it comes to getting what you paid for plus more. Good WI-FI through out the hotel. Thanks again to the staff see you in 2 weeks...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stanley A
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I find the staff very friendly and always willing to please me. I feel like royalty when I visit this hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and functional. The breakfast offering was exceptional and replenished frequently. The WiFI works well.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank gregoryh476
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Keep up the good work . I enjoyed staying with you and level of service was above my expectations. Just sort out your confectionery in the morning. Otherwise, I will recommend you to my friends. Hoping to see you in the next couple of days from now.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank lonwabom189
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Cape Town traveller We appreciate your kind comments about our establishment and thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. It is wonderful to hear that we are your hotel of choice when you visit East London and look forward to your return. Kind regards Madelene Roux | General Manager More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel often to East London on Business. At Hemingways we are always attended to by professional & friendly staff - rooms are cleand and comfortable. Good wifi connectvity. Close to shops and restuarants and easy access to highways make this our hotel of choice.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jessicaspencer2016
umtata
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed staying in hotel very much would really recommend to other people. Staff is so welcoming and helpful. Understanding each and every client is what is done by everyone working in the hotel. Wow the food very nice and healthy

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ncediswaj
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your most positive review and feedback of our establishment. Your comments have been shared with our team, and I am positive that this will encourage them to remain service orientated. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards Madeleine Roux | General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#10 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#11 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
East London is one of South Africa’s best kept secrets with a multitude of attractions but still maintaining that small town feel. The Hemingways Hotel is situated adjacent to the Hemingways Casino and Hemingways mall. It affords easy access to all the major highways, national roads and the airport. Inspired by Ernest Hemingway, this sub-tropical styled hotel offers a unique island lifestyle break, right in the heart of South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hemingways

Address: Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: $141 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hemingways 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Hemingways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in East London
#2 Luxury Hotel in East London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay