We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Road Lodge East London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Road Lodge East London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

I had a two night stay at East London road lodge. It is a very average place and only had a smoking room available. The room was very smelly even though im a smoker myself i would not recommend a smoking room. Service were average and the tv in the room are very small. The wifi is great and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pette007
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We constantly strive for service excellence and we apologise for falling short of your and our own expectations on this particular stay. We would like to sincerely apologise for the lack of care in allocating your room and do hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We are concerned and disappointed... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Clean neat, well setup and managed, excellent buffet breakfast... More business or short small family stay over - if you're in a hurry and you need a place i recommend it Typical compartmentalized setup, modern amenities and reasonably centralized

Helpful?
Thank Quinnten C
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Quinnten and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

The East London Road Lodge was a good choice when we were attending a schools sports weekend at Selbourne High School, less than a kilometer away. For less than R600 per room for 3, value was the main decision. Room is small but very clean and bathroom in good working order. Did not have breakfast, but enjoyed a complementary cuppachino... More 

Helpful?
Thank bruce9992014
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

cape town
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2016

Easy to get to from airport. Room was clean and neat. Perfect for a short stay. Parking secure. The service and helfulness from SADISIWE from booking enquiry to checking out was fantastic. She is a real gem.

Helpful?
Thank Hermann21
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; and enjoyed the hotel facilities - one of our key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

I always stay here when in East London. Staff are always friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Rooms size is a bit small but perfect for a single person. Hotel is always clean and great value for money

Helpful?
Thank B K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

The place is cheap. That is its saving grace. The rooms are small but serviceable, the TV is about the size of a laptop screen (really !). The shower cubicle is also too tiny, and the shower head is fixed, so you keep bumping the tap while showering. Anyway, it's fairly clean (though showing signs of wear, tiles on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pramodius
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

It is a well secured property with a huge gated car park. Staff is prompt and friendly. The rooms are very small but that is expected from a 1-star property but they are air-conditioned, which is a must if you spend the summer around Christmas/New Year here. It is close to Vincent (2 mins drive), where one can shop/eat/bank/refuel etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sachin26582
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We stayed at Road Lodge East London for one night on 29 Dec 2015. We did not book a smoking room but were given room 111 which is a smoking room. The room was smelly and the aircon did not work. When I informed the lady at reception by the name of Sandisiwe, I was treated in the most unprofessional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garwil
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with the receptionist. We will be taking this up with hotel management as this is not a true representation of the quality and the level of excellence that we usually offer. We hope to see you soon. More 

Travelers are raving about these East London hotels

Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

The room was small but neat however it had a no smoking sign on the door but the room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. Even the duvet smelt of the smoke. That was very unpleasant. The access cards are terrible. Took us a really long time to get in and others were also struggling with it.

Helpful?
Thank M3298VJmm
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with your room and the access cards not working. This is not a true representation of the quality and level of excellence that we usually offer and we will taking up your complaint with hotel management. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope to... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

I checked in rather late and the reception was very helpful. The rooms are small and best suited for a short stay as opposed to a longer stay. Room that I had, only has a shower and i found it a bit small as I am a bigger person. I picked up free WiFi which was a bonus although this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us even though you experienced a problem with space and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#2 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#11 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#8 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
1.5 mi away
Southern Sun Hemingways
Southern Sun Hemingways
#3 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located between Cheltenham Road and Union Avenue, Road Lodge East London offers business and leisure travellers 90 value for money rooms close to all of East London’s major facilities. It provides a variety of features synonymous with Road Lodges around the country and is an ideal accommodation option for visitors to the city and those venturing elsewhere into the Eastern Cape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge East London

Address: Cheltenham Road | Selbourne, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: $40 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge East London 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Road Lodge East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in East London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay