We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Road Lodge East London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Road Lodge East London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of Road Lodge East London
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

If you looking for well priced simple Accomodation this is the place for you. The room is comfortable and has everything you need to enjoy your stay. I think my only complaint would be, I wish the shower was a little bigger! Great simple breakfast. Thank you Road Lodge E.L.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed December 31, 2016

I do know this is a budget hotel. However, no kettle, tea or coffee is a bit of a let down. Also the air con trips every 15 minutes and only cicks in again after 15 or 20 min - manually. Cannot wait to leave as soon as it gets light in the morning. Will never use this facility again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank langley122016
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will consider the matters you have raised.

Reviewed October 21, 2016

Out of town so you need a car to get around.Breakfast was good.the staff were very friendly and helpful .If you need to heat up food the staff allow you to use microwave in kitchen as they only serve breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The hotel room is average fro two people and the staff very friendly, although do not give your clothing for laundry it is very expensive cause it is not done by the hotel. The hotel area is nice and quiet but a bit far away for walking to different places and the taxis are very expensive to hire every time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieter i
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Rooms are dated and not exceptionally clean. Everything gives you the idea that road lodge has gone into the motel type industry here. Although the staff were friendly and helpful I cannot say much more for this one. Breakfast has very limited choice with cereal, juice etc. If you like eggs - scrambled egg is what you get, no other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rijan K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us your review and for staying with us. We are so glad that you found our staff members friendly. Road Lodge is our budget brand which we do believe offers good value for money - we will certainly take your comments into consideration for future planning purposes.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

I had a two night stay at East London road lodge. It is a very average place and only had a smoking room available. The room was very smelly even though im a smoker myself i would not recommend a smoking room. Service were average and the tv in the room are very small. The wifi is great and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pette007
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We constantly strive for service excellence and we apologise for falling short of your and our own expectations on this particular stay. We would like to sincerely apologise for the lack of care in allocating your room and do hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We are concerned and disappointed...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed May 12, 2016

Clean neat, well setup and managed, excellent buffet breakfast... More business or short small family stay over - if you're in a hurry and you need a place i recommend it Typical compartmentalized setup, modern amenities and reasonably centralized

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinnten C
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Quinnten and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
Reviewed March 29, 2016

The East London Road Lodge was a good choice when we were attending a schools sports weekend at Selbourne High School, less than a kilometer away. For less than R600 per room for 3, value was the main decision. Room is small but very clean and bathroom in good working order. Did not have breakfast, but enjoyed a complementary cuppachino...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruce9992014
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

cape town
Reviewed February 5, 2016

Easy to get to from airport. Room was clean and neat. Perfect for a short stay. Parking secure. The service and helfulness from SADISIWE from booking enquiry to checking out was fantastic. She is a real gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hermann21
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; and enjoyed the hotel facilities - one of our key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

I always stay here when in East London. Staff are always friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Rooms size is a bit small but perfect for a single person. Hotel is always clean and great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#9 of 13 in East London
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#2 of 13 in East London
484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#12 of 13 in East London
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located between Cheltenham Road and Union Avenue, Road Lodge East London offers business and leisure travellers 90 value for money rooms close to all of East London’s major facilities. It provides a variety of features synonymous with Road Lodges around the country and is an ideal accommodation option for visitors to the city and those venturing elsewhere into the Eastern Cape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge East London

Address: Cnr Cheltenham & union Ave | Selbourne, East London 5201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: $44 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge East London 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Road Lodge East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in East London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge East London staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge East London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No good reason to use this hotel unless you have no other option”
 of 5 bubbles langley122016, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“Actually all rooms are ok cause there is no see view at all”
 of 5 bubbles pieteri2017, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the road, but traffic noise was not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles bruce9992014, Mar 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor is better as there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Pramodius, Jan 13, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an air-conditioned room just to be sure especially during summer as such small rooms can be claustro!”
 of 5 bubbles Sachin26582, Jan 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question