We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale

Save
Share
34631 N Tom Darlington Dr, Carefree, AZ 85377
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
$254
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$254
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$325
$246
View Deal
SAVE $79
Curio.com$254
Priceline$254
ZenHotels.com$325
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1573)
Room & Suite (410)
Pool & Beach (110)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale
Updated 08/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Carefree
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
On the north side of Scottsdale, Arizona, The Boulders Resort & Spa is nestled in the tranquil beauty of our pristine high Sonoran Desert foothills on 1,300 acres. Dramatic architecture blends with the surrounding desert and 12 million-year-old boulders formations. Restore your spirit at our Spa at the Boulders, relax at one of our four pools, and retreat yourself in the sublime sanctuary at the Boulders Resort & Spa including our two award winning golf courses at the Boulders Golf Club.
Read more
Room & Suite (410)410
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Hiking
Business Center with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
3,032Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,981
  • 501
  • 277
  • 161
  • 112
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
workerbee61 wrote a review Nov 20
Los Angeles, California7 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I wanted to getaway for two days for our anniversary. I am new to Arizona and wanted to visited a new city. I was happy the pool and jacuzzi were open and the weather was great. The facility is old but staff was great and very attentive. Marcella was our poolside bartender and her margaritas had just enough :) to get the party started. The coyotes are early risers they start howling just before dawn
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
robcau wrote a review Oct 2020
Denver, Colorado12 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
What a great property! The grounds were just beautiful as were the Casitas (the rooms). They are spread out over a large area and are connected via paths. You can walk or you can call the front desk and have a golf cart come to your casita (most are 2 stories...and be sure to get the upper floor) and take you anywhere on the property within minutes. The pool area is gorgeous with a waterfall coming off a huge boulder and and pool seemingly dropped in between boulders. We did not eat on site as some of the restaurants were closed and we didn't love the look of the menus of the 2 open ones. Pool water was comfortable. We used the one by the lodge that had service until 5p. There is another pool by the golf course that had no service and was smaller. Covid-19 protocol was everywhere and we never were aware housekeeping or anyone else entered our room during our 4 night stay. We were fine to make our own bed and re-use linens. When we needed some extra soap and a couple more washcloths, they tied them in a plastic bag and placed them outside our door. If you're a nitpicker, you could see some age here and there, but considering the size of the resort it's amazing to me how well they keep it up to start with. We went in October and got a good deal of 269.00/nt. They do charge a resort fee of 35.00 per night as well (I'll save my soap box commentary on that for another forumn). Expect prices twice that high in high season. Would stay hear again in a heartbeat!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a Sonoran View casita - we had 249 and were not disappointed
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Boulders Scottsdale, Marketing at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Wow, thank you robcau for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed our incredible 1300 acres of pristine desert. Our bellman do a great job providing on property transportation with the golf cart rides. We are following the State of AZ COVID procedures and Hilton CleanStay and EventReady procedures. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
FlowersBurke wrote a review Nov 15
Alexandria, Virginia113 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
We did a 10 night Covid-relief vacation in Scottsdale - hoping to find 2 resorts for 5 nights each where there would be enough amenities open but we would be able to practice social-distancing. We started at the Canyon Suites at the Phoenician (another great resort) and decided to take a drive (20 minutes) north to check out the Boulders since we had a 24 hr cancellation at both the Boulders and the Hyatt Regency at Gainey Ranch (we walked around and did not like it at all). We were pretty impressed. It's not hard to be. The place is so unusual and gorgeous! When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had been upgraded to a 4 BR Hacienda on the Nature Trail - when we had booked a 2 BR. All I can say is wow! My husband and I were traveling with my mother - so the place was a bit large (yeah!) - it was unbelievably decorated and the outdoor area was just phenomenal. This place could have been featured in Architectural Digest. There were multiple water fountains and an outdoor chandelier! It was #502 if you want to try to book it. We were told it is the BEST hacienda there. We went to the lodge pool everyday. Weekdays were good because it wasn't very crowded. But on the weekend people were hanging out waiting for others to leave. We were there by 8:30 every day and left before noon which was perfect. The pool is literally right up against the boulders - and there is a waterfall that they turn on and off. One day we saw people had climbed up to the top - which you are not allowed to do. They thought they were cool. Most of the people at the pool were talking about how stupid it was. The pool attendant arranged the chairs every morning so that they were spaced out. There is also a pool at the golf club - but no service there and we were told no view. If you are in a hacienda, there is one more pool to use. It was small and had a big wall around it. The drinks at the pool were very good. Expensive - but that was expected. We would order food for takeout from the pool and then eat on our patio. There is a grocery store super close (Safeway) so you can stock up your frig. We also cooked out some to limit Covid possibilities. We ate at the golf course - not impressed. It needs a bit of updating. Breakfast there was good. They pick you up in golfcarts to take you around the place. They were super prompt. On the weekend they were also using a shuttle, which we weren't too keen on because we were right up against other people. We only did that once. We went to the Spotted Donkey on site. Not bad. Not great but good to be out at restaurants some. Definitely do the Sonoran Adventure with Brandy. Her flyer is in the lodge. This place was fantastic. Highly recommend. We didn't want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Hacienda #502 is the best
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
FlickM wrote a review Nov 14
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions15 helpful votes
We opted for this resort to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We honestly could have chosen anywhere in the USA to visit (within Covid guidelines/restrictions) and wish we had. While the resort is quite pretty and the casitas are nicely presented, the customer service is awful. Breakfast this morning was being orchestrated by an incredibly flustered and agitated server. Snatching menus, snapping at other diners and generally coming across as harassed and irritated. Food was nice and we just enjoyed the view. Don’t ask for more than one fire log per day because you’ll be disappointed and will have to visit Target to buy some more. Various mishaps and less than great service throughout the stay culminating in a huge leak from the roof onto our bed at 1am.... of course we had to move rooms coinciding with a really early departure for our flight home. I really think as a ‘Curio’ property, this should be a boutique feel with personal and great service. I felt as though the golf club members had priority over everything and were better catered for. As Hilton Diamond members, we didn’t feel particularly welcome anywhere and certainly the staff were lacklustre and bored. We drove to Serenite at Camel Back Mountain for our anniversary dinner. The staff, concierge, servers fell over themselves to make us feel welcome, celebrated, spoiled and special. What a contrast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Joe Z wrote a review Nov 3
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States7 contributions2 helpful votes
The physical facilities are getting a bit worn and not reflective of a property that has previously received such high reviews, and they appear to have a rodent issue... Returned back in late afternoon to find 3 mouse feces on our bathroom countertop (see photo - my toiletries are a couple inches to the left). It's apparent we had a mouse crawl over our toiletries - I try not to think about it sniffing and crawling over all our stuff! When I went to the front desk, the manager was not appalled but rather offered me a $100 credit as compensation. Still being in shock as to what happened, I didn't counter but asked for cleaning supplies to be delivered to we could clean everything. They never delivered it, and NO ONE followed up to see if we got the supplies and if there was anything else they could do. I returned to the front desk and talked to a different person who boosted our compensation to just under one night (all in). He acted a bit more apologetic, but still NO follow up from anyone. The shuttle driver on our way out offered a more sincere apology and concern than anyone else there. Just a really poor response to a gross incident. On the plus side, it's a beautiful property with great hiking trails.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Boulders Scottsdale, Marketing at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. Our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We're addressing your concerns. Please feel free to reach out to us offline.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the boulders, a waldorf astoria hotel carefree, the waldorf astoria collection carefree, the boulders resort and golden door spa, boulder arizona, boulders resort, the boulders resort luxury
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaCarefree
NUMBER OF ROOMS
219
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale
Which popular attractions are close to Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Nearby attractions include Watson's Hat Shop (1.9 miles), Trailhead Ranch (3.2 miles), and Town of Carefree Sundial (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grotto Cafe, English Rose Tea Room, and Tonto Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Boulders Resort & Spa Scottsdale accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.