We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11 Howell Ave PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Only 3 left at
$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$122
Vio.com$89
Agoda.com$89
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (183)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (22)

About

#8 of 9 hotels in Bisbee
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
3.4
Service
3.2
Value
3.1
Built in 1902, the Old West-style Copper Queen Hotel is a 4-minute walk from the Bisbee Restoration Museum and a 7-minute walk from the historic Muheim House.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Patio
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
256Reviews12Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 59
  • 49
  • 33
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MattCuthill wrote a review Nov 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand50 contributions29 helpful votes
We booked for 2 days on the last weekend of October. What a mistake. Without any warning the hotel decided to throw a street party with a DJ directly under our bedroom window. It was so loud all we could do was lie there until it was over. The smoking balcony was outside our window and the window ac let the smoke from all sort of substances in, oh what fun that was. The elevator was out of order, the pool was closed for maintenance and I suspect the vacuum cleaners and mops were out of order as well. The bottom flight of stairs were missing carpet and posed a serious slip hazard. Our room was cramped and the TV only had online content. If you want to pay full price for a dump then this is the hotel for you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Manager, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
The hotel opened in 1902 and is a national historic landmark. When the hotel opened, it did not have an elevator. In 1941, they did put in an elevator which due to its age, is also an antique. Even though it is not part of the original building, our intention is to keep this piece of history. As such, it is also difficult to find people qualified to work on it. We are in the process of restoring much of the building including replacing the carpet on the stairs. I must vehemently disagree with your slip hazard assessment, however, the wooden stairs are extremely slip resistant and sturdy. We do not allow people to smoke on the balcony and should this have happened, the staff should have been alerted immediately. We are extremely proud of this grand old dam and all of the great lengths to which we are restoring and protecting this national historic landmark.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa G wrote a review Nov 2022
Mesa, Arizona5 contributions
A friend of mine, along with my daughters, decided to spend Halloween in Bisbee Arizona. Being from Arizona, I had heard of the haunting glow that Bisbee offers during the holiday. We decided to book a night at the Copper Queen Hotel. Upon entering we knew we made the right choice. This hotel is NOT for you if you want upgraded, modern facilities and someone to hold your hand and wait hand and foot on you while you stay there. This place is for the die hard Victorian-era, historical lovers who wish to stay in a rumored haunted hotel. This hotel is like stepping back in time. And we LOVED it. We booked online, got our keys at check in and were off to explore. And explore we did! This hotel has beautiful rooms, all original down to the door knobs and windows. The bath/shower is a claw foot tub with the circular shower curtain rod. It was exactly what we wanted for our stay. Hotel staff was there from 3-11, and we were warned about being out after 11. A door code is given and we were told to be sure we took a picture of it so we wouldn’t get locked out. Our beds were comfortable, and we absolutely loved our stay. I am so happy we went with our heart and decided to stay at the Copper Queen. Take the Old Bisbee Ghost Tour as well, which ends at the Copper Queen with ghostly stories of past residents, and those which have never left. Bisbee is charming, and I am in love!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karen S wrote a review Oct 2022
Group of 14 friends stayed for 2 nights, hotel was in total dis repair. non working elevator was worst. Elderly guests climbing up and down 4 floors, plumbing hot water problems, electricity outage. No promised continental breakfast, or on site food service. General uncleanliness in rooms. No management avail during emergency or service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Taylor V wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Me and husband made a reservation two week prior off of friends recommendation. We did not get any type confirmation we thought they would do it a couple of days before again nothing. Started calling, no answer, my husband started calling nobody answered. We also started emailing have not heard back. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we really needed to cancel our reservation. On the day of we got ahold of a human being and was finally able to cancel. Without any late fee charge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mari M wrote a review Oct 2022
Bisbee, Arizona2 contributions
We were so disappointed in our stay, especially at the cost we paid. As others have said, this once precious gem has seen far better days. Like so many venues, the hotel has suffered from the lack of tourists during Covid shutdowns. Shopkeepers told us it was bought out near bankruptcy, and the new owners are clearly trying, but they are coming up far short of the once elegant facility. Our room was sad and minimal, i.e. no place to set luggage or any personal items, except for the sketchy-looking floor. Our bedding was hopefully cleaned, but badly stained. TV didn't work. No one at front desk to help with any issues. Our window was stuck open, so we had to wedge a bath towel in to block the cold draft. There's no place to plug in cell phones....need I say more? The only "restaurant" is the loud bar, which we avoided. Clearly a staffing shortage, as there just was not the kind of care and attention one would expect from this type of environment. A sad loss of something that was once a star attraction and draw to this sweet historical community. We won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen C wrote a review Aug 2022
Payson, Arizona4 contributions10 helpful votes
Must READ before booking a room reservation!!! Like other reviewers, I have stayed at the Copper Queen on multiple occasions over the past 15 plus years. ALWAYS had a wonderful and enchanting experience, until this past weekend. Tried calling the hotel at least 10 times to inquire about possibly obtaining an early check-in and no answer. That should have prepared me for what was in store for us during our stay at the property. Upon arrival, no one could be found at the front desk. Rang the little bell at the counter and no response. Went to the Hotel Saloon to grab a drink. Finally was able to check-in with 4 people hanging out behind the front desk yucking it up!! ! I went to the room and had to practically kick the door in to open it.Tried the tv and found it to be non functioning. I tracked the guy down that checked us in and he came into the room to fix it. He had to plug in both power and the HDMI cable, than twist the cords and hang it on the dresser mirror. Sheets were old and only one little baby bathroom trash can. No daily housekeeping, pool had two 9 year olds throwing dildos in the pool. They appeared to be with the Hotel management personnel! Pool was murky and x-rated music blasting . No Pool towels.Cannabis party underway both days and tried to charge us $15/person to use the pool. The property feels abandoned at times.It is existing only on it's past reputation. Spoke to locals and apparently it's under new ownership. Management/Ownership has no idea how to properly operate a hotel. It's unfortunate because this Iconic Hotel is vital to Bisbee's economy!! Find another properly operated hotel/B&B. Eventually this owner will fail and hopefully we will get our wonderful landmark back. It is in dire need of Capital Improvements and may become cost prohibitive if to much more time elapses with NO maintenance and improvements!! For now, I will never stay here again!! READ the other reviews!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Diana Z wrote a review May 2022
Phoenix, Arizona64 contributions56 helpful votes
We visited Bisbee on a Sunday afternoon and decided on a whim to spend the night at the Copper Queen Hotel. The front desk person was very nice and after determining the room we selected was not quite ready, she upgraded us to a larger room on the second floor. That level has a parlor area with several Victorian type pieces. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We even heard the end of the ghost tour as it concluded in the parlor. No ghosts, just a good night's sleep before exploring the town in the morning. The continental breakfast was fair at best so we ate at the local coffee shop located close by. The hotel has a pool area on the second level as well which would be welcome if we visited in warmer months. Overall, the hotel is very centrally located & full of character. It was worth a short visit. Note that there is no parking specifically for hotel, but you do not have to pay for parking and a public lot is not too far away.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tuslac wrote a review Apr 2022
Tucson, Arizona49 contributions28 helpful votes
This is a grand hotel from long ago in a great central location with lots of character and history. If you are a person who easily finds fault with things then this is not the hotel for you. I will say that even though the new owners are investing lots of money into the place, I did not see it. I assume it is being spent on underlying infrastructure upgrades and other places not visible to guests. I stayed in a single room, interior facing, on the second floor. The furniture is old and could easily be upgraded. The blinds covering the windows were missing some slats. The room smelled clean and for the most part, it was. There were several old stains on the door and one wall, small, no big deal. The bed was very comfortable. The main restaurant was closed due to COVID, the bar was lively although it closed early. There was a biker rally event outside the hotel, I was lucky my room was in the interior and I did not hear anything at night. Others with exterior rooms did not sleep well. Overall, I would stay here again, I am hoping that some of the investment upgrades are made to the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mtnmanclp wrote a review Mar 2022
Red Feather Lakes, Colorado79 contributions42 helpful votes
My wife and I are not big people, but room 303 was ridiculously tiny and not at all a comfortable stay. On top of that, the “WiFi was down” and our TV didn’t work. Front desk is assigned to a couple young folks that could care less. We are typically pretty easy to please, but this place was just plain BAD. The fact that a hotel is old and historic is inadequate reason to keep such low service standards. Stay somewhere else.The one positive was the maid... Very welcoming and helpful; Front Desk... Not.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: NOT a small one!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
marjorie g wrote a review Mar 2022
4 contributions
This was a great old hotel, decor of old, really loved that. But basics were missing. Our room had what looked like original plank flooring that had been repaired poorly and I got splinters in my feet. A simple throw rug would have been helpful. Room was very sparsely furnished, no luggage racks, had to put everything on the floor, there was just one small console table under the tv. No hand towels or wash cloths, shower curtain smelled. Upon arrival we were curtly told "no checkins before 3pm"....even when 3pm came all of the rooms were not ready and staff was curt about releasing any before all rooms were done. Now because of this timeline, we had arrived aboutg 230 and deciced to wait until checkin to see the town.....so we got out to "see the town" about 345....90% of the stores were already closed due to low traffic....even though their signs said open until 5. This is not the hotels fault but just know that this is a very laid back town.....it seems the hotel is ocd about their rules but the town is not.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
copper queen bisbee, hotel copper queen, copper queen hotel bisbee
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaBisbee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COPPER QUEEN HOTEL $89 ($̶1̶4̶0̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Bisbee, AZ

Frequently Asked Questions about Copper Queen Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Copper Queen Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Copper Queen Mine (0.2 miles), Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum (0.04 miles), and The Bisbee Seance Room (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Copper Queen Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Copper Queen Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Copper Queen Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copper Queen Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Cornucopia Cafe, Thuy's Noodle Shop, and Cafe Roka.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Copper Queen Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Copper Queen Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Bisbee.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Copper Queen Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Copper Queen Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Warren Ballpark (3.0 miles) and Copper Queen Plaza (0.05 miles).