We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This property was very clean and well kept. The TV should be replaced it was an old tube TV that I could barely hear. The mattress was so worn out I almost brought a sleeping bag out from the car. This place desperately needs new mattresses.

Helpful?
Thank Galen S
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

New owners. They are still working on getting it up and running. Wifi was only available in the reception area (for now). They have a nice desk area set up for people to set up their laptops. There is a gathering area right off of the reception desk where you can watch TV, read, or visit with other people. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flora Jayne S
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, quiet, a bit dated, however I would stay again and recommend. We stayed here twice within a week, first time at the location that use to be the Westmark, the 2nd time at the other location about 1/2 mile down the road as the other place was closed for the season. The price was right, no tax in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jodennretired
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again someday. Cherish More 

Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hung around this place for about a week and got to know the owner and some of the people working there. All of them were great. The owner and his managers know their business. The coffee shop and front porch are gathering places for a few colorful locals, so stop in and listen to some great stories about Alaska... More 

Helpful?
Thank RucksackJack
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself. I love meeting people as they pass through but often they are here and gone before you can really get to know each other. I have met several people this year that have stayed a week or more. Some of our locals are very funny especially our early morning coffee crowd. Most... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

It's not a great motel but it's a clean choice in an area that doesn't provide much else. The owners & staff were very friendly. The room was clean but in need of maintenance : old wall plugs, wall radiator hanging down, older style furniture & carpets etc. They have a nice coffee/gift shop and a large common TV room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aspen103
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you aren't use to rural Alaska some things can be a shock. I get many comments about our real keys and not swipe cards which many people say it takes them back. Many people enjoyed the continental so we are planning on doing it for the rest of the year.... More 

Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We booked online based on reviews. When we arrived at our room, we found the bathroom was not cleaned very well. The bathtub had a crack in the bottom over a foot long that someone applied an epoxy over the crack to seal the tub. WiFi only worked in the office which was another building and not open 24 hrs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimr20162016
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did close our restaurant at our south location because we did open our larger restaurant at our new location. We do offer a complimentary breakfast at south though. Wifi is rather new to our town and we do not have a company here that offers unlimited... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Golden Bear (motel). The room was nice and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and there was everything we need in our room. Except the Wi-Fi, which works around the reception area. That was no hardship, as there is free coffee there. We liked the complimentary breakfast. There really is a large bear at... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinWJohnson
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Most guest come to the cafe to use the WiFi and leave with memories and good stories from the other travelers they meet. So many times I see people close their electronics grab a cup of coffee and sit for hours chatting. We were trying a complimentary breakfast for a short... More 

Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

This a former West Mark hotel that is in dire need of some work. Other than that, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The furnishings are dated and the bathroom is dated. For the price, I would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Candi B
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are just opening our new motel Golden Bear Motel North and haven't gotten everything up and running. We are offering great discounts for this year while we are still working on this property. We are always glad to have people stay with us again and hear how their trip went. Hope... More 

Luskville, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Golden Bear RV Park. The staff are so friendly and hospitable. Appreciated the warm welcome and the free coffee, tea, and wifi at the coffee shop. Laundry facilities and hot showers too! RV sites are spacious and well kept. We also appreciated the free vehicle rinse - after driving the Top of the World Highway... More 

Helpful?
Thank wanderingWendyR
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our RV Park. Leaving all the trees makes a lot of work sometimes but you still feel like you are secluded and camping which I personally like. Hope that you have a safe trip and stop again sometime. More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

If you are traveling the Al-Can, you realize very quickly that time and mileage are vague reference points. You may look at your map, and see there is 300 miles between point A and point B, and think "Oh, no sweat. We can do that in 4, 5 hours max. Not on the Al-Can, with its' gravel roads, frost heaves,... More 

Helpful?
Thank banshee106
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Traveling in and around Alaska can be a challenge, there are huge distances between places and it can be hard to judge with a map. Our talks with Hugh Neff can be a lot of fun and very informative, it is a great way to see what a day in the life of a musher can be. Thank you so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
2.6 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
0.9 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#3 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Golden Bear. A full service, family owned and operated, motel, gift shop, RV Park, coffee shop, and restaurant. We have 60 rooms furnished with both double, queen and king size beds with private baths, Direct TV, and a large den open to guests where they can enjoy the 71'' big screen TV, the 10'ft tall grizzly bear display, and plenty of room to socialize with friends, family, and other Alaskan adventurers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Address: Milepost 124.3 Tok Cutoff, P.O.Box 500, Tok, AK 99780
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park Tok, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing