We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not a great motel but it's a clean choice in an area that doesn't provide much else. The owners & staff were very friendly. The room was clean but in need of maintenance : old wall plugs, wall radiator hanging down, older style furniture & carpets etc. They have a nice coffee/gift shop and a large common TV room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aspen103
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you aren't use to rural Alaska some things can be a shock. I get many comments about our real keys and not swipe cards which many people say it takes them back. Many people enjoyed the continental so we are planning on doing it for the rest of the year.... More 

Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked online based on reviews. When we arrived at our room, we found the bathroom was not cleaned very well. The bathtub had a crack in the bottom over a foot long that someone applied an epoxy over the crack to seal the tub. WiFi only worked in the office which was another building and not open 24 hrs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimr20162016
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did close our restaurant at our south location because we did open our larger restaurant at our new location. We do offer a complimentary breakfast at south though. Wifi is rather new to our town and we do not have a company here that offers unlimited... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Golden Bear (motel). The room was nice and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and there was everything we need in our room. Except the Wi-Fi, which works around the reception area. That was no hardship, as there is free coffee there. We liked the complimentary breakfast. There really is a large bear at... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinWJohnson
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Most guest come to the cafe to use the WiFi and leave with memories and good stories from the other travelers they meet. So many times I see people close their electronics grab a cup of coffee and sit for hours chatting. We were trying a complimentary breakfast for a short... More 

Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This a former West Mark hotel that is in dire need of some work. Other than that, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The furnishings are dated and the bathroom is dated. For the price, I would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Candi B
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are just opening our new motel Golden Bear Motel North and haven't gotten everything up and running. We are offering great discounts for this year while we are still working on this property. We are always glad to have people stay with us again and hear how their trip went. Hope... More 

Luskville, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Golden Bear RV Park. The staff are so friendly and hospitable. Appreciated the warm welcome and the free coffee, tea, and wifi at the coffee shop. Laundry facilities and hot showers too! RV sites are spacious and well kept. We also appreciated the free vehicle rinse - after driving the Top of the World Highway... More 

Helpful?
Thank wanderingWendyR
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our RV Park. Leaving all the trees makes a lot of work sometimes but you still feel like you are secluded and camping which I personally like. Hope that you have a safe trip and stop again sometime. More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are traveling the Al-Can, you realize very quickly that time and mileage are vague reference points. You may look at your map, and see there is 300 miles between point A and point B, and think "Oh, no sweat. We can do that in 4, 5 hours max. Not on the Al-Can, with its' gravel roads, frost heaves,... More 

Helpful?
Thank banshee106
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Traveling in and around Alaska can be a challenge, there are huge distances between places and it can be hard to judge with a map. Our talks with Hugh Neff can be a lot of fun and very informative, it is a great way to see what a day in the life of a musher can be. Thank you so... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The couple that runs this RV park couldn't have been friendlier. The breakfast available was good, and the lot was clean. We were so satisfied we stayed both on our way in and out of the beautiful state of Alaska. We couldn't have been more pleased with this site.

Helpful?
Thank Joe W
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I love the people that we meet along the way. Sometimes it can be sad to say goodbye and I wonder how people are doing on the rest of their adventure. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and if you are ever headed this way again stop... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easily made reservations via phone. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful... nice little gift store in front office... Soon as we got to the room, however.... Comedy. Room was VERY worn/well used.... Dated. It was Clean enough, compared to the last time it was remodeled... Except for the Swinging saloon doors to the bathroom area... (No....Im not kidding. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank AkRiff
Cherish L, General Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We may not be as modern as the Ritz but we are a great quiet escape after a long day of driving. Glad that you enjoyed our coffee many people say it is the best cup they have had since they have left home. Cherish Brigner More 

Linden NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

Yes the people are super nice and the rooms could use an update.We had 2 rooms and none of us slept due to the carryings on in room108 these people had a young son (4yrs) disgusting language loud music yelling threaten to cut and more etc both the male&female high as kites,phones in room insufficient instructions in case of emergency.Finally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank judisu
Cherish L, Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Judisu Again I am so sorry about your stay. I wish that I had a chance to speak with you in person before you left. I did refund you your total amount for both rooms. We try to be selective with our guest to try and prevent such things from happening. We do have someone on the premises at all... More 

Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

The motel is really just average in terms of accommodations. Our room was dated, and ok for comfort. However the staff were really nice, and helpful.We went to the office and "lobby area' and treated us very hospitably. My wife was able to make good use of the wifi available there. If we needed to stay in Tok we'd stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jvh54
Cherish L, Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay love meeting people when they come into the coffee shop. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
2.6 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
0.9 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#5 of 8 in Tok
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Golden Bear. A full service, family owned and operated, motel, gift shop, RV Park, coffee shop, and restaurant. We have 60 rooms furnished with both double, queen and king size beds with private baths, Direct TV, and a large den open to guests where they can enjoy the 71'' big screen TV, the 10'ft tall grizzly bear display, and plenty of room to socialize with friends, family, and other Alaskan adventurers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Address: Milepost 124.3 Tok Cutoff, P.O.Box 500, Tok, AK 99780
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park Tok, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing