We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tikehau

Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort

Save
BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713 French Polynesia
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$464
View Deal
Expedia.com$464
Hotels.com$464
Tripadvisor$464
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1903)
Room & Suite (451)
Pool & Beach (210)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Tikehau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Considered to be one of the most beautiful atolls in Polynesia, Tikehau is a graceful oval crown of small islets with an interior lagoon 16 miles across and a pass for small boats through the coral reef. The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a Pearl to discover in the Tuamotu islands. The resort welcomes guests to this 4 hectare tropical paradise. Located on a secluded pink sandy beach fringed with coconut trees, the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers 13 beach bungalows with air conditioning and 24 over water bungalows and suites. All bungalows, designed in true Polynesian style, are very spacious (55m²) and are equipped with a fan, mini bar, coffee / tea making facilities, direct dial phone, safe, television and private veranda. The over water bungalows include a glass section of the floor from which you can enjoy the spectacular underwater life of the lagoon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Public wifi
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
Contact
BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713 French Polynesia
Getting there
Tikehau Atoll Airport2 miSee all flights
Rangiroa Airport37 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1,190Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 682
  • 295
  • 128
  • 61
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I would like to give my opinion on this hotel which cannot be a 4 star. Problems in our room: maintenance, no hot water, cleanliness, dirty plate and sand on the floor for 2 days. The worst was the dinner NYE on December 31 for $ 250 per person with buffet offering most of the dishes on the regular menu, there was no decoration on the plain buffet and the decoration of the restaurant were not festive. A group played and sang Tahitian songs, but it did not bring a festive atmosphere to dance, no cotillion party, no fireworks here when the village and a pension offered it. Guests were disappointed to have paid this price to be treated like that, as a Dutchman said, it's like if we had stolen directly into my wallet. We do not recommend this hotel. Pensions offer better. and for this price we have to pay our bottle of water at $5. One more thing, we do not tell you the story when the manager of the resort took 45 mn to manage a difficult situation with the reception agent and the guest and 20 guests were waiting on a boat to get the flight because the manager was trying to find a solution with the unhappy guest...
Read more
Response from tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear M. DavidLosan We thank you for your message. Be sure we read all the reviews carefully in order to improve our quality of services. We are sorry you did not like staying with us and never mentionned it during your stay, including during New Year's Eve, where the proposed buffet was a typical Polynesian one, with the traditionnal Ceremony and Polynesian meal. For information, there were cotillons as well (we are sorry if you did not see them) ; and fireworks are forbidden here are the hotel for security reasons, as it is a very specific regulated activity everywhere, and especially in a hotel where most of the materials used are natural ones. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in French Polynesia if not in Tikehau. Best regards.
Read more
That being said we have to admit we’re were disappointed of the hotel. But let’s start at the beginning. The reception at the tiny airport of Tikehau was kind and each of the guests received a lei (flower necklace) by the hotel representative, who coordinated the transfer to the hotel. It’s literally a 3 minutes mini bus drive to the port, where the 10 or max. 15 minutes boat ride starts. It is a group transfer (around 20 pax) which costs XPF 8476 (approx. USD 80) per person per roundtrip, which is ridiculously expensive, even if you consider the gasoline prices to be high in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort we were all greeted individually with a welcome drink by a resort representative. After check-in and introduction to the resort you’ll be escorted to your villa. Our villa no 20, which was the first beach bungalow directly beside the pool was well maintained. We were worried it would be noisy due to the proximate location to the pool and restaurant area, but it was ok! Every villa has private terraces with sun-loungers, a little side table and some villas have beach-facing hammocks (Villa 20 hasn’t). This villa had sun the whole afternoon which was very nice and you could watch the sunset from there. But as the sun is very strong it would be recommendable to have sunshades, it also would make it look cosier. It’s these little things which are missing.. When you come from the beach, there is a faucet to clean your feet, which is ok, but a beautiful bucket with a ladle would be so much cuter. They don’t put anything on the bed to welcome you - it doesn’t need to be flowers, but it could be a nicely folded beach towel for instance. They care for the environment which is honorable, therefore they don’t change towels everyday unless you ask for it! But the amenities come in single use plastic tubes. Why don’t they change this to beautiful refillable soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers if they care so much? The housekeeping didn’t replace the empty soaps only upon request which shouldn’t happen. We drank coffee from the minibar everyday, but on the 2 first days the housekeeping placed the used and not cleaned cups back to the minibar area. Only after we complained about the dirty cups, we had clean ones everyday. Really? For €500 a night? The resort itself could use a little refurbishment and design improvements here and there - it doesn’t give you the ‘Wow’ feeling you expect in French Polynesia. And after having talked to some other guests, we found out, we were not alone with this impression. We live in Asia and have been travelling Asia, Southeast Asia and Oceania for the last 14 years, so I believe we have an idea how different it could be done. The concrete pathways are partially broken, the Overwater bungalows look old from outside and therefore not very pretty, the ice machines look dirty and old. In our opinion the bar area is not very inviting - you can sit around the in-ground bar or on a few tables outside. We’re aware they want to keep the island original, but some native blooming plants and trees would be a nice add on. It looks quite barren from our point of view. The snorkel gear however is provided for free and is of good quality and quantity - they also have a few kayaks and it’s fun to explore the little neighbouring islands. Snorkelling here is very nice and you can see a lot of fishes in this beautiful clear water. However we would recommend to bring water shoes as they have coarse sand here (more shell sand and corals). The other provided facilities are a Volleyball field, pétanque, table tennis and a pool table. Tours are also organised, but it didn’t work out for us. My husband wanted to go on a scuba dive tour and was told at the reception they would take care of it, but it never happened. We had to remind them, then they couldn’t reach the dive center and then it was too late to go on the trip. A pity! The breakfast is ok but nothing special - times are from 7:30 until 9:30am. So if you want to sleep in, forget it!!!! Really annoying! Usually those kind of resorts offer breakfast until 10:30 or even 11am. And if you arrive at 9:05 the buffet is almost empty and you get an annoyed look if you ask for something which is missing. Great start to the day! Most of the service stuff is very friendly but some of them seem to be very annoyed if you have a request, they react grumpy or they even roll one’s eyes. This is a NO GO!!! Lunch I believe is served from 12 onwards, but we never had lunch only dinner, which was good. They have a selection of local food, Italian inspired pasta and French/International dishes. Of course the prices are quite high, but this might be understandable in consideration of the location (Average Dinner price XPF 13.000 approx. USD 120 for 2, just main dish, drinks but no alcohol). For New Years Eve however the dinner was horrific and at an astronomic price of XPF 29.659 (approx. USD 275) PER PERSON. It was a Polynesian buffet style dinner - which theoretically is a nice idea, although we’re not fans of buffet style on a festive evening. The buffet mainly consisted of fish mostly raw style dishes (carpaccio, poke, salads, sashimi style), some local side dishes, a suckling pig, a whole cooked tuna and desserts. Luckily we eat everything but I don’t want to imagine someone who is vegetarian or doesn’t eat raw fish. As the NYE dinner was mandatory you didn’t have any other choice and had to go with the flow. We wonder how a local dinner which mainly had LOCAL fish can cost that much incl. 1 glass of Champagne per person???!!! We didn’t nearly felt full, nor was it very tasty as also the supposedly warm dishes were cold and the suckling pig dry and not crispy how it should be. It clearly was prepared beforehand. This was total rip off! Luckily we knew the price beforehand, as we were informed by mail about the mandatory NYE dinner. However two of the couples we talked to, told us, they were asking for the costs of the dinner, but were put off every time they’ve asked. They only found on the day of departure and were extremely angry, which is understandable. Another couple even delayed the departure of the group airport shuttle boat because they had an issue with the final bill. Overall it was not the most enjoyable 6 days of our holiday and we wouldn’t recommend to come here unless you like to pay a lot for mediocre service and want to depart overall disappointed.
Read more
Response from tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TravelerJul We thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay did not meet your expectations. Be sure we take in consideration all the reviews in order to improve our quality of services. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Polynesia, if not, sadly, in Tikehau. Best regards from The Tuamotu
Read more
+1
We stayed here for 5 nights in December 2019. It is truly like paradise! Not many people around and it is on a private island. The hotel staff picked us up from the airport, and took us a short car ride to the boat, which was then about a 20 minute ride to the resort. Check in was easy and the reception staff were all very helpful and friendly, and spoke good English. Our overwater bungalow (#2) was clean, comfortable, and they were very accommodating adding a 4th bed into the room for us. In the room there was tea and coffee facilities, a minibar, bathroom with a shower and hand basin. There was also a glass window to look down below the bungalow at the fish, which could be lit up at night also. Plenty of reef sharks swim around the bungalow around 5pm. The views from the balcony are amazing out over the lagoon, and the snorkelling underneath our bungalow was the best in the resort - beautiful coral and 1000s of fish. No water access from the balcony, but the ladder was just a short way down the boardwalk. It was also handy having the ice machine right opposite the room on hot days. The resort facilities were very good, with free kayaks, games room, volleyball and table tennis etc on offer. They also had bikes to hire for a small fee. The beach was very pretty. Wifi was free, and worked very well. Water is also drinkable so we didn't need to buy any. The included breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from and the staff restocked it throughout the morning. There was an assortment of tea and coffee, juices, bread, baguette, croissants, jams, yoghurt, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, crepes, hash browns, sausages etc. The restaurant was excellent. Big thank you to Diane, who went out of her way to cater for our group which included a vegetarian and 4 who didn't eat fish or seafood. She arranged special meals for us every night which weren't on the menu even. There was nothing we could fault here, besides maybe the expensive airport shuttle fee which cost us $500NZD for 4 people. They do have a boat shuttle which is free at set times each day. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!! Thank you Tikehau Pearl Beach for making our stay in Tikehau memorable, we hope to be back one day!
Read more
Response from tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded Jan 12, 2020
Ia Orana Dear swilliams246 Mauruuru Roa for your very kind message. We are happy to read you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in our small paradise. Best regards
Read more
2nd time here... the resort is a refreshing getaway from the hustle and bustle of the "frantic" pace of Tahiti and Bora Bora. Service was immaculate, and the room was very comfortable. Raipuni is a wonderful host and goes above and beyond in making sure you are taken care of! And... he sure does great vocals!! A big thank you to Raipuni... and also to all the staff who made for yet another great experience. Will be back a third time!
Read more
Response from tikehau, Directeur général at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded Nov 28, 2019
Ia Orana Dear gq_dq Mauruuru Roa for your very kind message. We agree, Raipuni (and the whole team now) does great vocals. Looking forward to welcoming you back "home". Best regards Nana
Read more
We had six nights here and enjoyed it on the whole. The location was very quiet and our beach bungalow was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and sunloungers out on our deck (together with some beach “chairs” on the beach itself). We had direct access onto the beach and were facing the sunset (when there was one, some were pretty impressive). The snorkelling wasn’t at all bad, though at times there were very strong currents near the water bungalows near reception and access to the water in that area wasn’t 100% straightforward. We went on one snorkelling trip and were delighted to see manta rays but the rest of the trip was very disappointing as the snorkelers were with divers and the locations of stops were for them, over quite deep water, rather than close to the coral as we’d hoped. Service in the restaurant was rather variable but the food was, on the whole, quite good (we were on half board) and great if you like raw fish (and I do). At breakfast things weren’t replenished very quickly but we became accustomed to that. There didn’t seem to be anything light for lunch (so we skipped that most days). No drinking water was provided in the room - apart from in the minibar so it all had to be paid for, which was a shame. Wifi was very slow and only available in the reception/bar/restaurant area but then going somewhere remote means a “digital detox” is the order of the day. The room actually had a good number of charging points. So we had somewhat mixed feelings about the place and probably wouldn’t go back but I was glad of the chance to see an island (or at least a motu) in this part of French Polynesia.
Read more
Response from tikehau, Directeur général at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded Nov 28, 2019
Dear KK06 Thank you very much for your kind message. We are happy to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindly note that since, the internet availability is back to normal (but still high speed wifi does not exist in the area). Also the water is drinkable in rooms. Thank you again for the points mentionned, these are very important to us in order to improve our quality of service. Best regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$324 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tikehau pearl beach hotel tikehau, tikehau pearl beach resort
LOCATION
French PolynesiaTuamotu ArchipelagoTikehau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.