We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort

Save
Share
BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713 French Polynesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
$350
$330
View Deal
SAVE $20
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
Expedia.com$350
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1924)
Room & Suite (453)
Pool & Beach (213)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Tikehau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Considered to be one of the most beautiful atolls in Polynesia, Tikehau is a graceful oval crown of small islets with an interior lagoon 16 miles across and a pass for small boats through the coral reef. The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a Pearl to discover in the Tuamotu islands. The resort welcomes guests to this 4 hectare tropical paradise. Located on a secluded pink sandy beach fringed with coconut trees, the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers 13 beach bungalows with air conditioning and 24 over water bungalows and suites. All bungalows, designed in true Polynesian style, are very spacious (55m²) and are equipped with a fan, mini bar, coffee / tea making facilities, direct dial phone, safe, television and private veranda. The over water bungalows include a glass section of the floor from which you can enjoy the spectacular underwater life of the lagoon.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
Contact
BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713 French Polynesia
Getting there
Tikehau Atoll Airport2 miSee all flights
Rangiroa Airport37 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1,208Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 696
  • 299
  • 128
  • 61
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Windy_Keala wrote a review Sep 19
Kapolei, Hawaii238 contributions53 helpful votes
The island this resort is on is absolutely stunning- pink sand beaches and crystal clear water. We really loved the view from our over-water bungalow, but the room itself needed a makeover. It felt a bit old and dated, and there were not enough modern conveniences, like outlets to charge electronics. In addition, there's only one restaurant in the hotel and it has very limited hours and a really small menu. The staff throughout the hotel were so welcoming and friendly and really made us feel at home. The place has so much potential and I hope they renovate because I would really love to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The over-water bungalow at the end of the row has a perfect sunset view and you can swim right...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
jimmac_7 wrote a review Mar 2020
Woburn, United Kingdom83 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here for 5 days as part of our two and a half week honeymoon in French Polynesia and it was absolutely incredible! We loved every minute of it and didn't want to leave. We stayed in an Over Water Bungalow which was perfect. The site of (harmless) sharks swimming beneath us whist we sat on our private deck is something that will stay with us for a long time. The location on the Motu does mean you are pretty much stuck here but it also means it is so peaceful and has a very private and somewhat exclusive feel to it. What helps this is the staff. Every single one of them was fantastic and they made us feel so welcome, particularly Raipuni in reception and Diane in the restaurant. They are all such warm, friendly and happy people. The restaurant itself is a relaxed open air affair and the food was very good. We didn't have a bad meal. One of the best things I can say about the hotel is the snorkelling right underneath the Over Water Bungalows next to reception. The amount and variety of fish and coral is breathtaking! It was the best we saw in Polynesia, even better than the Tiputa pass in Rangiroa, and it's on the doorstep! The hotel also has free kayaks and other games activities to help yourself to and there are regular free shuttles to the town which is a 15 minute boat ride away. We borrowed bikes one day and took the boat to town for a couple of hours which was a nice excursion. If you're considering this hotel or staying in Tikehau our advice is don't hesitate, book it! Prior to staying here we were in the Intercontinental in Bora Bora and although we had a fabulous time there and in Polynesia in general we wished we had spent more time here because of how exceptional it was.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Over Water Bungalows with Air Con facing the sunset are the best.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Marklaw9999 wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
An honest and heartfelt 5 star rating. My wife and I wanted a very relaxing and sunny February vacation as a couple. After many reviews of resorts in French Polynesia, we selected this resort and it exceeded all our expectations. It is a journey to the resort, with a kind welcome after the 15 minute boat ride from tiny Tikehau Airport. Registration for our over water suite was pleasant and swift with free internet Wi-Fi at the reception and restaurant areas. A short walk through lovely resort floral grounds to our beautiful suite: spacious, with air-con and bathtub (a must have for Mrs.) and a semi-private deck with sunset views and stepladder to the lagoon. And OH! the lagoon ... Hours of snorkeling in warm waters each day. Rainbow colors of the fish in many shapes and sizes. Visits by small reef sharks (more scared of humans, than scary). Occasional views of an ctopus and stingray from our in-floor viewing window in our suite. We did much to drink in every day of peace and beauty. We encountered couples just married, and many years married. And many families visited the resort. Highlights: 1. Suite 40: triggerfish welcomes every morning. 2. Plentiful free breakfast. Changing fresh fruit juice daily. 3. Tahitian Vanilla Tea. Grab a couple of extra packets and make Sun-tea in a still water bottle. 4. Poisson Cry at lunch or dinner. Delicious fish ceviche-style in sweet coconut milk. 5. Extra sides at 500 xfp each (about $5 USD) st lunch or dinner to make it cost effective for 2 or more at mealtimes (dinner plus 2 sides feeds two well and saves money). 6. Take the free shuttle boat to Tuherahera village for a bicycle or walking tour. We walked and found so much to see: gardens full of flowers, coconut harvests, the quaint Magazin grocery store for Hinano beer and snacks (bring xfp/cfp cash!!!), two Snack cafe's, and adjacent to the harbor a cove much visited by black-tipped reef sharks for great photos. 7. The staff of Pearl Beach Resort Tikehau. They will try to meet every request. Tahitian and French are their first languages and they made us English-language speakers quite comfortable. We felt valued by the staff, always. 8. So many activities: a relaxing pool with nearby changing+shower rooms (towels and soap too) that allowed for a post checkout swim before transit; game room with billiards, foosball, learning library, outside games like table tennis and petanque, snorkeling right in the resort (many visitors came for diving too, as we noted), cost-free snorkel gear and canoes to visit nearby motus and watch the sunset from your own private island, and a Boutique shop where we bought shirts and gifts with prices better than the shops outside the Faa'a airport. It may be a bit more costly that expected by some travellers to visit Tikehau. There are ways to reduce costs: bring (Costco) bags of jerky and chips and fruit and a jar of peanut butter for lunch or hikes; share a dinner with extra sides; make Sun-tea (2 teabags in a plastic water bottle left in the warm sunshine for a few hours) for an icy afternoon drink, visit the Tuherahera store for box wine from Spain. Go here, and feel the earth love you. Go here, and see happy families and couples walking hand in hand. Go here, and learn from the kind staff and visitors from across the globe. It may cost a bit more ... We were glad to save up a bit more to see, taste, share Paradise in Tikehau.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DavidLosangeles wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
I would like to give my opinion on this hotel which cannot be a 4 star. Problems in our room: maintenance, no hot water, cleanliness, dirty plate and sand on the floor for 2 days. The worst was the dinner NYE on December 31 for $ 250 per person with buffet offering most of the dishes on the regular menu, there was no decoration on the plain buffet and the decoration of the restaurant were not festive. A group played and sang Tahitian songs, but it did not bring a festive atmosphere to dance, no cotillion party, no fireworks here when the village and a pension offered it. Guests were disappointed to have paid this price to be treated like that, as a Dutchman said, it's like if we had stolen directly into my wallet. We do not recommend this hotel. Pensions offer better. and for this price we have to pay our bottle of water at $5. One more thing, we do not tell you the story when the manager of the resort took 45 mn to manage a difficult situation with the reception agent and the guest and 20 guests were waiting on a boat to get the flight because the manager was trying to find a solution with the unhappy guest...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear M. DavidLosan We thank you for your message. Be sure we read all the reviews carefully in order to improve our quality of services. We are sorry you did not like staying with us and never mentionned it during your stay, including during New Year's Eve, where the proposed buffet was a typical Polynesian one, with the traditionnal Ceremony and Polynesian meal. For information, there were cotillons as well (we are sorry if you did not see them) ; and fireworks are forbidden here are the hotel for security reasons, as it is a very specific regulated activity everywhere, and especially in a hotel where most of the materials used are natural ones. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in French Polynesia if not in Tikehau. Best regards.
Read more
TravelerJulia wrote a review Jan 2020
Shanghai, China19 contributions4 helpful votes
That being said we have to admit we’re were disappointed of the hotel. But let’s start at the beginning. The reception at the tiny airport of Tikehau was kind and each of the guests received a lei (flower necklace) by the hotel representative, who coordinated the transfer to the hotel. It’s literally a 3 minutes mini bus drive to the port, where the 10 or max. 15 minutes boat ride starts. It is a group transfer (around 20 pax) which costs XPF 8476 (approx. USD 80) per person per roundtrip, which is ridiculously expensive, even if you consider the gasoline prices to be high in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort we were all greeted individually with a welcome drink by a resort representative. After check-in and introduction to the resort you’ll be escorted to your villa. Our villa no 20, which was the first beach bungalow directly beside the pool was well maintained. We were worried it would be noisy due to the proximate location to the pool and restaurant area, but it was ok! Every villa has private terraces with sun-loungers, a little side table and some villas have beach-facing hammocks (Villa 20 hasn’t). This villa had sun the whole afternoon which was very nice and you could watch the sunset from there. But as the sun is very strong it would be recommendable to have sunshades, it also would make it look cosier. It’s these little things which are missing.. When you come from the beach, there is a faucet to clean your feet, which is ok, but a beautiful bucket with a ladle would be so much cuter. They don’t put anything on the bed to welcome you - it doesn’t need to be flowers, but it could be a nicely folded beach towel for instance. They care for the environment which is honorable, therefore they don’t change towels everyday unless you ask for it! But the amenities come in single use plastic tubes. Why don’t they change this to beautiful refillable soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers if they care so much? The housekeeping didn’t replace the empty soaps only upon request which shouldn’t happen. We drank coffee from the minibar everyday, but on the 2 first days the housekeeping placed the used and not cleaned cups back to the minibar area. Only after we complained about the dirty cups, we had clean ones everyday. Really? For €500 a night? The resort itself could use a little refurbishment and design improvements here and there - it doesn’t give you the ‘Wow’ feeling you expect in French Polynesia. And after having talked to some other guests, we found out, we were not alone with this impression. We live in Asia and have been travelling Asia, Southeast Asia and Oceania for the last 14 years, so I believe we have an idea how different it could be done. The concrete pathways are partially broken, the Overwater bungalows look old from outside and therefore not very pretty, the ice machines look dirty and old. In our opinion the bar area is not very inviting - you can sit around the in-ground bar or on a few tables outside. We’re aware they want to keep the island original, but some native blooming plants and trees would be a nice add on. It looks quite barren from our point of view. The snorkel gear however is provided for free and is of good quality and quantity - they also have a few kayaks and it’s fun to explore the little neighbouring islands. Snorkelling here is very nice and you can see a lot of fishes in this beautiful clear water. However we would recommend to bring water shoes as they have coarse sand here (more shell sand and corals). The other provided facilities are a Volleyball field, pétanque, table tennis and a pool table. Tours are also organised, but it didn’t work out for us. My husband wanted to go on a scuba dive tour and was told at the reception they would take care of it, but it never happened. We had to remind them, then they couldn’t reach the dive center and then it was too late to go on the trip. A pity! The breakfast is ok but nothing special - times are from 7:30 until 9:30am. So if you want to sleep in, forget it!!!! Really annoying! Usually those kind of resorts offer breakfast until 10:30 or even 11am. And if you arrive at 9:05 the buffet is almost empty and you get an annoyed look if you ask for something which is missing. Great start to the day! Most of the service stuff is very friendly but some of them seem to be very annoyed if you have a request, they react grumpy or they even roll one’s eyes. This is a NO GO!!! Lunch I believe is served from 12 onwards, but we never had lunch only dinner, which was good. They have a selection of local food, Italian inspired pasta and French/International dishes. Of course the prices are quite high, but this might be understandable in consideration of the location (Average Dinner price XPF 13.000 approx. USD 120 for 2, just main dish, drinks but no alcohol). For New Years Eve however the dinner was horrific and at an astronomic price of XPF 29.659 (approx. USD 275) PER PERSON. It was a Polynesian buffet style dinner - which theoretically is a nice idea, although we’re not fans of buffet style on a festive evening. The buffet mainly consisted of fish mostly raw style dishes (carpaccio, poke, salads, sashimi style), some local side dishes, a suckling pig, a whole cooked tuna and desserts. Luckily we eat everything but I don’t want to imagine someone who is vegetarian or doesn’t eat raw fish. As the NYE dinner was mandatory you didn’t have any other choice and had to go with the flow. We wonder how a local dinner which mainly had LOCAL fish can cost that much incl. 1 glass of Champagne per person???!!! We didn’t nearly felt full, nor was it very tasty as also the supposedly warm dishes were cold and the suckling pig dry and not crispy how it should be. It clearly was prepared beforehand. This was total rip off! Luckily we knew the price beforehand, as we were informed by mail about the mandatory NYE dinner. However two of the couples we talked to, told us, they were asking for the costs of the dinner, but were put off every time they’ve asked. They only found on the day of departure and were extremely angry, which is understandable. Another couple even delayed the departure of the group airport shuttle boat because they had an issue with the final bill. Overall it was not the most enjoyable 6 days of our holiday and we wouldn’t recommend to come here unless you like to pay a lot for mediocre service and want to depart overall disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear TravelerJul We thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay did not meet your expectations. Be sure we take in consideration all the reviews in order to improve our quality of services. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Polynesia, if not, sadly, in Tikehau. Best regards from The Tuamotu
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$329 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tikehau pearl beach hotel tikehau, tikehau pearl beach resort
LOCATION
French PolynesiaTuamotu ArchipelagoTikehau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.