InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel

InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel

Morning view from bed
Traveler (5934)
Panorama at the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
360
Panoramas (51)
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 6 resorts in Bora Bora
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
At InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa hotel, you can step off the deck of your luxury over-water villa into the warm embrace of a tranquil lagoon. Enjoy everything from scuba diving to sunset cruises on the surrounding reefs, while a pristine beach and an award-winning spa invite you to relax. From weddings in the glass-bottomed chapel to candlelit dinners beneath swaying palm trees, it's the perfect setting to experience the romance of the South Pacific.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Motu Piti Aau, 98730 French Polynesia
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,248 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa is cherished for its tranquil atmosphere and pristine natural surroundings, with many guests drawn back by its idyllic location. Reviews frequently commend the spotless condition of the rooms and bungalows, as well as the spacious and elegantly appointed accommodations that often feature stunning views. While the comprehensive amenities, including water activities and spa services, are typically seen as luxurious, some travelers feel the high costs do not always match their expectations. Service is generally applauded for its attentive nature, though there are occasional comments on communication issues.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3,248Reviews301Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,666
  • 374
  • 117
  • 61
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
H. Vega wrote a review Jun 2023
New York City, New York32 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival at the Bora Bora airport, we were greeted by a representative of the Intercontinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso & Spa and was gifted a nice reusable water bottle. We were guided to our boat shuttle and transported to our hotel. Once there, we were met with a man blowing a conch sounding our welcome. We exited the boat and guided to the reception area where we were offered some refreshing drinks and a cool towel.

After we were checked in, we were taken to our over-water-bungalow facing Mt. Otumanu. Once inside, my words were, OMG! It’s beautiful and breathtaking. We loved it. Everything worked well and it had a cool sound system accessed via the TV which allowed me to play my music from my iPhone.

Once settled, we enjoyed every part of the resort. The staff was fantastic and greeted us warming throughout the resort. The food was very good and the drinks were tasty and packed a punch. If one is going to pay that amount, you want the liquor to shine through.

This trip was set to take place in 2020, but due to the pandemic it was postponed until June 2023, a three year delay. All I can say, it was worth the wait. My recommendation is to make Bora Bora your last stop before going home because this place is the crown jewel.

I like to thank all who took care us but specifically the following who made our time shine: the Reef manager, Heitiare; servers Albertine, Morehere, Moetaua; at the pool/beach bar, Jasmina; and at the Le Corial restaurant, manager, Jean-Batist, sommelier Maine, servers, Lena and Amore. All were great and made us feel very welcomed. Thank you!

This resort has it all and, trust me, it’ll be memorable! Cheers 🥂
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go with the knowledge that everything is expensive. A can of Coke is $7.68, on date of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stéphane RIGAUD, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 19, 2023
Dear Falcon3552, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora Thank you for the 5-star review! We believe that we have the best team in the business, and we are delighted that you agree. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service. All of us are delighted to learn that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your stay and we heartily welcome your nice compliments as a fantastic reward. As you discovered, we are blessed to have a warm and caring staff who obviously love coming to work every day. I personally shared your review with my entire team at our morning meeting. It is their genuine enjoyment of their work day in and day out that makes for such sincere service. It is with pleasure and pride that we shall address our thanks to those you mentioned. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to have the opportunity of serving you in the future. Maru'uru roa, Stéphane Stéphane Rigaud, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sigrunn Y wrote a review Oct 2020
38 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The views and water are breath taking. We loved our quiet time together with nothing to do but float and look at the beauty around us. We were very impressed that all the staff knew our names and greeted us each time they saw us. The house keeper was so sweet to call our room ( she saw us on the deck) the day we left the "do not disturb" hanging on the door, she was worried that we would need clean towels, and a fresh room. The breakfast and dinner servers Maine, Lena, Swan and Teri were outstanding, they got to know us and know what we liked and had it to our table as soon as we were there, always with a smile. Breakfast was great fresh juice, egg bar, fish, crepes, homemade nuttela, fresh fruit and croissants. We did get a massage one day, it was nice nothing special and we did not take advantage of the extras in the spa because it was close to dinner time. Why not 5 stars you might ask- well that is for 2 reasons. One is the food selection at dinner and the other is the shuttle. So the menu at dinner does not ever change like nightly specials, nothing was so good that I wanted it again or that I would recommend it. It's very French fancy, not huge portions and not something we typically eat. We ate dinner 4 nights at the Sands restaurant and by the last night I really thought ok tonight I am getting pizza-not what I wanted in French Polynesia. Luckily however our last night was the first night since closing in March they opened the LeCorial restaurant-it's only going to be open a couple nights a week. The food was amazing and something we would have never eaten anywhere. We had a 7 course meal, with service that was excellent, reading the menu doesn't do it justice just go try it at least once. The coconut dessert was amazing I have never had a dessert that needed a knife, fork and spoon but it does and sooo yummy. Ok so my last complaint is the shuttle that costs $30 per person round trip (unless you book a tour with the concierge). Really the cost is not the biggest problem the problem is the time of shuttle departures and arrivals. The shuttle leaves at 8:15, 12:15, 4:15 and 7pm. It comes back at 8:45, 12:45, 5 and 10pm. We wanted to go to Bora Bora and eat dinner at Bloody Mary's but we did not want to come back at 10pm, we did not want to spend 5 hours over there. We checked into a private water taxi it was $350 for one way at night. This was a complaint of ours and other guest we visited with. So except for dinner and taxi our stay was perfect. We were there for 5 nights, would we do it again. Well YES but only for a night or 2 to just get away with nothing to do but spend time together.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christophe Maudet, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2020
Dear S-JY95, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora What a wonderful way to start the day! Thank you very much for your comment! Your global appreciation is detailed and will certainly help the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful time with us, our prime aim is to provide a relaxing environment in a paradisiac scenery. We are so honoured to receive such praises and acknowledgements. It is truly rewarding when our Guests recognize our commitments to offer high quality of service. Please be assured that we will proudly share your review with our dedicated Team, each of whom play their part in making your stay as perfect as possible. Thank you for your comment about the food and our boat shuttle, we appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience. I am delighted to read you had an amazing experience with us. We are very happy that you would consider us again should you return to Bora Bora. Please, let us know when you are packing for Bora Bora so we can greet you at the marina with a warm Ia Orana e Maeva. Mauru'uru roa, Christophe Christophe Maudet, Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
annapolistraveler131 wrote a review Apr 2022
Laurel, Maryland6 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to many resorts, big and small, near and far. This one is simply the best. They go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant, they have the right mix of amenities, and yet it is not over the top like some high end resorts. They know the real differentiator is their location, their view, their lagoon and they don’t try to dominate any of these with ostentatious luxury. And yet you feel like you are still at a five star resort the whole time and you are. The IC Thalasso lagoon is sprawling, unlike some other BB resorts where yes you are in overwater bungalow, but the turquoise water only extends a few feet from your dock, if at all. But IC Thalasso is an enormous swimming pool at your leisure, at your feet off your dock. The food at the restaurants was well above average so yes, you are paying a lot, but at least you feel like you’re dining with food and presentation like you won’t get most other places back home. Breakfast buffet varies daily. Gym has all the Les Mills BodyPump weights and barbells. They LOVED having our kids (7 and 11) and treated them exceptionally well, bringing them a treat each day. Our kids had comfortable accommodations on the day bed and a trundle bed for sleeping. So many of the staff knew our names just within our four night stay. It is obviously a high end hospitality job where the staff has worked in many other capacities previously to get such a high end job at this resort. Wi-Fi also worked well in all the rooms and common areas which was appreciated.

The other thing I realized was that the price wasn’t as crazy as people may think in Bora Bora. For a family of four we paid through Costco Travel approx. $1,500/night. This included breakfast and three course dinner. And it was for a one-bedroom suite, not a small room. If you want a suite at another specialized beach resort, say Atlantis in Bahamas or Beaches in Turks and Caicos, it is in this range, sometimes not even including dining. And none of these compare to the beauty of Bora Bora at Intercontinental Thalasso.

You want me to nitpick SOMETHING? Here are a few, hardly worth mentioning, but they seem intent on perfection so hey maybe a few things to pick up on: On one night, dinner was slow, took two hours. They did apologize give us complementary drinks because of it, but that’s just too much time to spend at a restaurant. Probably this was just an off-night because the other nights service was speedy. Both hand sanitizer stations were empty at breakfast each morning. The gym had no fans and it did get quite hot working out, despite the air conditioning.

Pay no heed to my last paragraph, suffice it to say this place is absolute paradise and it’s one of the few places that I’m pretty confident I will be returning to someday. And I’ll be telling friends to get here too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sapphire room was great value, still had view of mountain but was in water we could stand in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valérie GACHON, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear annapolistraveler131, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora Thank you very much for your rewarding comment following your recent stay at the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa. We are glad to read that your experience was a great success, thanks to the comfort our our villas, the quality of our restaurants as well as the excellent service from our teams.Your global appreciation is detailed and will certainly help the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for your mention about the slow service one night, the empty hand sanitizer and the hot working to our gym, it's really important to us to know how we can improve our guests experiences. Overall we are very delighted you loved your stay with us. We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again to this beautiful island paradise of ours. Mauru'uru roa, Valérie Valérie Gachon, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian W wrote a review Sep 2020
Brussels, Belgium248 contributions239 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was expecting big things from the Intercontinental, unfortunately they didn't deliver.
I stayed for 4 nights, first night was an Emerald Overwater villa, 2nd and 3rd was the Brando suite and the last night was the Emerald again.

Arrival in Bora Bora was efficient, once we'd collected the bags we were escorted to the IC boat (transfer is pricey) which took about 20 mins to get to the resort.
Once we arrived we were greeted with a lei and a vanilla tea. There was no mention/acknowledgement of me being a Spire Ambassador which was a bit unusual. Shortly afterwards we were driven to the room, again there was no welcome basket/gifts which you usually get for being an Ambassador.

The room was excellent, large living area, big balcony, great bedroom with a wonderful view and the bathroom was impressive. However, the TV channels were all in French, not usually an issue if you're at such a place but if everything closes at 10 it means there isn't much to do in the evenings. They were a bit stingy on the coffee as well, 4 pods, of which 2 of them were decaf.

2nd and 3rd nights were in the Brando Suite, which was spectacular, really impressive. However, it seems there was some confusion over what was included and what was not. The minibar was empty so I called up to see what was going on. The first person told me they would deliver what I wanted but there was a cost, only the delivery fee would be waved. Well, that's not what it says on the website, eventually drinks were delivered at no extra cost. We had breakfast delivered on both mornings which was a nice touch, however this was soured by being charged for one of the mornings despite us agreeing to the upfront 50% off breakfast discount. Apparently this doesn't apply to the Brando suite...

For the times we had breakfast at the restaurant, that was a bit chaotic, with Covid there was no buffet and it was ala carte. We had to ask for hot milk 3 times and they forgot a couple of items. The cocktails in the bar were very mediocre for the price and the happy hour was very late at 9pm, overall it lacked ambience.

Finally, I booked a dive at the TopDive centre onsite, i'm a beginner but my mrs is Padi Open Water certified. The trip involved alot of waiting around as they did not have enough instructors for the people on the boat, the instructor (Delphine) didn't really pay me much attention whilst underwater and swam off infront on her own. Pretty dangerous...

The Brando suite and the 4x IHG point promotion swayed me to the IC but it looks like they have messed the points i'm due, I only received 40k points from a 6K+ bill so now i'm having to hassle support to get this rectified. I used the Weekend Ambassador voucher to make the Brando suite cost slightly less painful but overall I wish i'd stayed at the Four Seasons.

Finally, I had some questions after leaving the resort so I send a few emails. 3 infact, i've not had a response on any.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mitchgo21 wrote a review Sep 2020
Denver, Colorado51 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a one week vacation at this incredible resort.

The grounds and location are amazing. The property is immaculately maintained and filled with lush landscaping and lots of places to enjoy the scenery.

The location has an amazing view of the mountain and rooms are situated across a spectacular lagoon with some of the clearest sparkling turquoise water.

Rooms are spacious and all are overwater. We loved that the lagoon is only around 5 feet deep and massive so you can stand while enjoying the water. When requesting a room make sure to not get a room the furthest left row. These would likely have the least or most obstructed view of the mountain.

The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly.

Our package was half board and included breakfast and dinner. This was a smart choice and I highly recommend. In addition, I suggest packing snacks and liquor wine (up to 2 bottles per person). Bora Bora is expensive, and rightfully so, it’s far and exclusive.

We booked through Costco and it saved us thousands of dollars. Plus, they made this trip seamless and stress free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles de Resseguier, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Dear Mitchgo21, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora A big thank you for having taken your precious time by sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa. All of us are delighted to learn that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your stay and we heartily welcome your nice compliments as a fantastic reward. Thank you again for sharing your memories and recommendations with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon in our resort. Mauru'uru roa, Charles Charles de Resseguier, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne G wrote a review Dec 2022
San Jose, California4 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our week long anniversary stay was a dream! From the minute we arrived at the Bora Bora airport, we were greeted by friendly faces with flower leis and water bottles. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were whisked away by golf cart and given a tour of the property before heading back to the lobby to be checked in. The check-in process was pretty much seamless, we booked two excursions in advance through the concierge and they were reviewed and we were given instructions on them. The only snag was we were promised cold towels and the complimentary welcome drink but I had to ask for both to be given to us before we were driven by golf cart to be shown to our room.

Our room #202 was an overwater villa with a beach view and we have no complaints about the spacious room that had a wonderful view of the beach from our private balcony and view of Mount Otemanu from our front door. The tour guide that took us to our room offered a room tour where he showed us the various features of the villa which was very helpful. Some suggestions to improve the room: speakers in the bedroom and closed captions in English. There is a speaker in the living room area that we used to play music using bluetooth on our phones but there is no speaker in the bedroom or bathroom which made it hard to hear the music throughout the villa. Some tv channels had closed captions in English but we found that some channels did not, there was also a discrepancy between the channels that had closed captions on the living room tv versus the bedroom tv.

We found the dining options to be a bit limited. Although, we are from a large city and are accustomed to having many more dining options. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our room rate and found that it filled it us up for days that we had excursions and days where we skipped lunch. Every morning, we were also made aware of specific theme nights or menus that would be served at dinner that night which we appreciated. We were able to call the concierge and have the menus emailed to us for our perusal before making reservations.

The pool area was one of our favorite places to spend time outside of our villa. It never felt crowded and was always maintained well with towels and food/drinks cleared after each guest. On our last day, we were able to check out at 11am and continue using the amenities until about 2 hours before we had to leave for our flight. We were given a room with a shower and bathroom to freshen up before our flight which was exactly as described to us at checkout.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and service from every staff member that we came across. We hope to be back in the future but would appreciate more food options before making a decision to stay here again for a weeklong stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valérie GACHON, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Dear yvonnetg, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora Thank you very much for your rewarding comment following your recent stay at the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa. We are glad to read that your experience was a great success, thanks to the comfort our our villas, the quality of our restaurants as well as the excellent service from our teams. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our welcome ritual, we think that the experience starts as soon as our guest land to Bora Bora. That is why we greet all our guests with a lei at the airport, our bellboys blow on a "pu" when they came in boat to our resort. After that we offer a ritual drink and propose a tour of the resort in club car. All of us are delighted to learn that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your stay and we heartily welcome your nice compliments as a fantastic reward. Thank you again for sharing your memories and recommendations with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon in our resort. Mauru'uru roa, Valérie Valérie Gachon, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle M wrote a review Nov 2021
Yorkshire, United Kingdom34 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the thalasso for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The first 5 nights we spent in the sister hotel on the main island (le moana) the thalasso is every bit of a 5star luxurious resort!

The over water bungalows are huge! With a living room area, glass coffee table in which to see the fish from inside the bungalow (although we was far out so saw very few) very large and possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in with one whole wall of window viewing over the ocean. Free standing bath tub and in with a very large viewing window.

The resort has a few restaurants, one on the beach which is a bit more of a snack/burger/wraps type menu. There is then 2 more main restaurants which host a more fine dining experience, featuring dishes such as blue shrip risotto and beef cheeks. Very delicious! If not a little expensive, but it is to be expected in a place like this and Bora Bora in general is expensive. Pint of local larger aprox £8.

On the resort their is a large infinity pool, spa, coral garden, jacuzzi, icecream stand, little souvenir shop. The down side to this resort in comparison to the le moana was that their was no local shop or anywhere to go to purchase drinks or snacks or souvenirs with out buying directly from the resort. This made they stay a lot mote expensive.

I can not fault the staff at the thalasso (or the le moana) all very friendly and professional. Jenifer was a lovely French woman who welcomed us and showed us around the complex when we first arrived. We was served breakfast in the reef restaurant every morning by a small group of local ladies, all very friendly. Hana a woman who served us drinks one rainy afternoon was also very pleasant.

Its hard to not compare the 2 intercontinental resorts we have stayed at but I feel it is important to point of the pro's and con's and would say as more beautiful as the thalasso is, the extra cost was probably not worth it for us. The le moana is a 4 star and that bit cheaper with more accessibly (been on the main island)

You will not be disappointed with either establishment, Bora Bora is heaven on earth and the intercontinental resorts are absolutely faultless.

Well done and thanknyou for a beautiful stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valérie GACHON, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 19, 2021
Dear Z3453VYdaniellem, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon at our hotel and for your precious recommendation on this portal. We aim to provide our guests with a unique and authentic experience they will always keep in their memories, and we are so glad to learn that we have been successful with you. Your global appreciation is detailed and will certainly help the TripAdvisor community. All of us are delighted to learn that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your stay and we heartily welcome your nice compliments as a fantastic reward. Thank you again for sharing your memories and recommendations with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon in our resort. Mauru'uru roa, Valérie Valérie Gachon, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ctrldata wrote a review Oct 2020
29 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We pained for months about where to book, Four Seasons, St Regis and Thalasso. We read reviews, looked at other travelers photos, and of course because Im writing this review we chose the IHG Thalasso. Ultimately we decided on the Thalasso because the reviews on the rooms were most appealing, and our first impression on arrival we were not disappointed. They were amazing, and our choice was further reinforced by our interactions with other travelers on Bora Bora who were at some of the other mentioned places who said their rooms were nice, but didn’t seem as satisfied as we were.
The hotel grounds, at the a Thalasso were equally impressive, we’ll kept, and functional; plenty of room to spend out and enjoy privacy in public areas.
The service was also on par, from arrival through our departure, everyone was friendly and helpful. In particular and worthy of calling attention was Heitiare, who Im not certain was either the manager or head of staff, she was excellent, attentive, and deserving of greater responsibility as she is a real asset to the resort.
All great so far, so what was not perfect? The food. Other than the breakfast buffet (which was good, not great, but acceptable), the food at the resort is grossly overpriced, bland, and unbecoming of a resort of this nature. In particular the specialty restaurant Corail should be avoided like the plague. Having traveled around the world thai and french food its quite possibly the best, so our thought that French Polynesia would have offered an interesting fusion take or something, nope, it could not be further from the truth. And its not as if you can easily eat elsewhere, your pretty much stuck eating what the hotel offers. IHG should be ashamed of itself for missing the mark so severely, being a world renowned resort they are certainly capable of fixing the issues if they so choose.

I think if you stay here you’ll agree and be equally disappointed, I hope this review helped!
Safe Travels...

PS: I should mention that we were asked at checkout by reception how our stay was, we told the essentially the same story, how great everything but the food was, and while I didn’t expect them to offer us anything nor did we expect anything, they did seem to much care. My advice to them is don’t patronize us with a question about how things were if your not going to care about how we answer. As a traveler who reads reviews and integrates them heavily in my decision making, while overall some really great positives about this property, this one negative aspect would have us recommended trying elsewhere for those that have read this far.

PSS: Lastly to the hotel management, as a business owner I know the power of reviews, Im sorry this review will likely cost 10s of thousands of dollars in lost bookings, hopefully you’ll fix this one singular issue, which can so easily be addressed and future reviews will reflect it. Best of luck!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christophe Maudet, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear ctrldat, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience, and I sincerely apologise that we have fallen short of your expectations We are happy to learn you found our overwater villa amazing, the hotel grounds impressive and our colleagues friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Heitiare who was definitively your reference. We shall of course share your review with the whole team. About the food, we feel sorry that you did not appreciate the quality of our menus which are highly appreciated by the majority of our international guests. I am very sorry to hear that nobody come to talk with you about your comment about the food during our Departure courtesey call - however we appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience. I am happy to hear that overall you had a wonderful time and we hope that you will visit again soon to give us an opportunity to provide an exceptional visit and to demonstrate our commitment on improving our guest experience. Mauru'uru roa, Christophe Christophe Maudet, Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mat Hayward wrote a review Aug 2020
Everett, Washington16 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is everything you can imagine and more. The lagoon is breathtaking and perfect for a leisurely swim or float (bring floaties!). So private, so quiet, so beautiful. The staff is so attentive to the point it's almost freaky. All you have to do is think something..."hmm, I could use some mango juice about now" you might be think and VOILA! Someone immediately appears with a cold glass of mango juice. The beach is beautiful, the spa is amazing! We loved hanging out in the comfortable lawn furniture, watching the fire, listening to the live music and watching the sunset while enjoying a delicious cocktail. This place is as close to perfect as perfect gets. We can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountain. It's overwhelmingly beautiful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles de Resseguier, Propriétaire at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Dear MatHayward, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora Thank you for the 5-star review! We believe that we have the best team in the business, and we are delighted that you agree. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service. I personally shared your review with my entire team at our morning meeting. It is their genuine enjoyment of their work day in and day out that makes for such sincere service. The entire team of the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa would like to thank you for your warm feedback. We hope to welcome you very soon for another perfect stay in paradise. Mauru'uru roa, Charles Charles de Resseguier, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alana wrote a review Feb 2020
Miami, Florida18 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just recently celebrated part of our honeymoon with a stay at Thalasso. The property is just dreamy! After sailing around Bora Bora, we felt that Thalasso was situated on the best atoll for wonderful views of Bora Bora and Mount Otemanu. We stayed in villa 219 which we felt directly overlooked the mountain!

Upon arriving we were immediately congratulated on our recent nuptials and it seemed as if staff had really taken into account so many details. Our room was stunning and the staff showing us around did a wonderful job giving us a room tour. What would have been nice was for staff to also explain which restaurants would be open/closed during our stay as well as what days happy hour took place. This was all information left out and I did report this to management. This ultimately was a problem during our visit, since we were visiting in the low season, they would only have one restaurant open at night. This was frustrating because there were no menu changes, so our food options during this trip were VERY limited.

While the service in the spa, reception and concierge was fantastic, the food and beverage was simply unacceptable, especially considering the nightly rate for this property and that this is a 5 star hotel. This was also something I mentioned to management on more than one occasion. We noticed that the problem with the restaurants was ultimately with poor management. Managers had no organization or delegation of roles. Every person working in the restaurants fulfilled every role, everyone was in charge of everything and no one did any one task particularly well. I did suggest to reception that they should have one person in charge of seating (a hostess), a few waitresses taking orders and ensuring guests are enjoying their meals and checking to see if they need anything, bus boys to take away empty plates/cups/etc. Because no one was assigned to one role in particular this left staff either scurrying around to numbers they couldn't handle (one restaurant open for the entire hotel means all guests in one spot) or staff doing absolutely nothing (slow service) because they default to someone else doing the job. Overall, food and beverage was clearly disorganized.

Despite the disorganization and the lack of dining options, the property at Thalasso is so stunning and overall the staff was so friendly and made an effort to know us by name by the time we left that i made for a lovely experience. My husband and I would love to return to Thalasso sooner rather than later!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles d, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear alanak786, Sunny Greetings Bora Bora A big thank you for having taken your precious time by sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa. We are delighted to learn you loved you overwater bungalow and its location. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, the comfort of your villa and the quality of service that was offered. We will certainly share your compliments with the staff members who played a part in making your stay so pleasant. Please rest assured that your comments about the Food & Beverage disorganization have been seriously taken into account, we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve our lever of service. I am happy to hear that overall you had a wonderful time and we hope that you will visit again soon to give us an opportunity to provide an exceptional visit. We are very happy that you would consider us again should you return to Bora Bora. Please, let us know when you are packing for Bora Bora so we can greet you at the marina with a warm Ia Orana e Maeva. Mauru'uru roa Charles, Charles de Resseguier, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Stéphane Rigaud
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Dear Lynn T, Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to ask your question on this portails. At this date there is no renovation planned. But if you know the time you want to book your stay with us, please feel free to contact us directly at concierge. boraboraspa @ ihg. com We we would be more than happy to respond in detailled at all your question. Kind Regards, Stéphane Stéphane Rigaud, General Manager
Answer from lshively
Evansville, Indiana3 contributions3 helpful votes
Here are the particulars regarding Intercontinental shuttles between resorts. Inter-Resort Shuttle The shuttle between our resorts operates daily at regular intervals from 8:15 in the morning until 10:30 at night. The crossing takes about 15 minutes. Reservations are required and can be made through Reception. Cost: 3 390 XPF per person, round-trip. Note: Transfers from InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso spa are complimentary under the following conditions: • The guest has a reservation or day pass at Deep Ocean Spa • The guest has dinner reservations at Le Corail
Rano C asked a question Mar 2023
Saint Louis, Missouri8 contributions5 helpful votes
Does the resort provide sunscreen or would you recommend bringing some from home? Thanks!
Answer from Dave B
Redcliffe, Australia670 contributions368 helpful votes
Sunscreen available but if you want tanning products either bring with your or purchase from the resort shop
Rano C asked a question Mar 2023
Saint Louis, Missouri8 contributions5 helpful votes
Would anyone recommend bringing our own snorkeling gear from home to snorkel around the villas?
Answer from Travelldog
Ontario257 contributions57 helpful votes
Yes I would recommend bring snorkel from home don’t really need the fins but I snorkeled with stingrays right off deck of our villa. Also a blow up floating bed was fun too for relaxing in the water .
Answer from Trypp Adams
Minneapolis, Minnesota9,557 contributions1,350 helpful vote
First and Last from Le Moana 8:45AM 10:00PM First and Last from Thalasso 8:15AM 9:30PM
Ken S wrote a tip May 18
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"oh dont miss the change to experience this resort, it is truly amazing. I have never felt so much like a family for 5 days with the staff,"
Read full review
monymony68 wrote a tip May 4
San Diego, California116 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The staff is very friendly and will answer any questions you have. If you want to rent a jet ski, I recommend reserving it the night before"
Read full review
anitasb26 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Huntington Beach, California7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It gets very hot and humid there so bring electrolytes and stay hydrated."
Read full review
CAKatie wrote a tip Apr 2024
Long Beach, California620 contributions108 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a lagoon or mountain view. Be sure to confirm it at check-in and see where the room is on a resort map. "
Read full review
Vassilis T wrote a tip Apr 2024
Cavalaire-Sur-Mer, France10 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel if you have any sort of food allergies. They will not take you seriously."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bora Bora area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,320 - $2,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental thalasso-spa bora bora hotel bora bora, intercontinental thalasso hotel bora, intercontinental thalasso resort bora, intercontinental bora bora
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsBora Bora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INTERCONTINENTAL BORA BORA RESORT THALASSO SPA, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, and Japanese.
Does InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bora Bora HotelsBora Bora Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bora BoraHotels near InterContinental Bora Bora Resort Thalasso Spa, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars