We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 494: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family holiday total 28 people. Stayed 4 nights. We found Sofitel Bora Bora very disappointing.....poor customer service, expensive, poor wifi, no first aid kit - health & safety lacking badly, boat transfers no life jackets, place run down and needs a refresh, rooms and bathrooms not cleaned properly, etc. Island Tour booked through the hotel very bad, waste of money....tour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maricel L
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had seen the Sofitel years ago, when we stayed at the now defunct Novotel next door, and came over to get a drink at he Hurricane Bar. It seemed to have everything -- great location, good looking bungalows, and proximity to the best snorkeling area on the island. When we came across a decently priced package that included breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zushi
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you so much for your Magnifique comment, all of our Ambassadors would like to thank you for such a feedback. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back in the future. Mauruuru ! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There are local characteristics and then there are brand standards that paying customers should expect when they book and trust a Sofitel hotel. You need to back what you charge for the location, with food quality and service. Both of which are 3 star at best. The over water bungalows are great, getting it serviced correctly is another thing! The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for your opinion which is very important for us. We are really sorry for the problems encountered. The last renovations we had in the Sofitel Marara were in 2008, our hotel is set on a historic place, choosen by Mr Dino de Laurentiis ( famous italian movie producer ) for his movie "Hurricane",... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was great. Lots of reviews complain about insects and lizards in the room. It's an island, if you want to avoid those things avoid going to tropical countries. The staff were great and I loved the fact that interns were based there too. Expensive but that is expected. The activities desk was a nice touch and you had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas P
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. Your feedback about the restaurant is very important for us as it allows to improve our guests' experience with all the considerations of your remarks. We hope to welcome... More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are two sofitel's at BoraBora - the Private Island and the mainland. We had dinner and a massage on the private island - it had AMAZING views (including an impressive look out point). However, it was on a small private island - with not much to do. Honestly, if i had to go back, I think I'd choose the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn_San_Diego
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach. Your feedback is very important for us as it allows to improve our guests' experience with all the considerations of your remarks. We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back in a "Magnifique" way. Mauruuru. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Sofitel Marara beach on our honeymoon. We had previously stayed at Sofitel Moorea which was impeccable and very luxurious, so we had high hopes. We are normally budget travellers and this was our big splurge honeymoon. So we are used to everything being a little rough around the edges but we tend to not pay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTravelsAround
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora. Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marara Beach Resort during your visit in French polynesia, and thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Your opinion is very important for us and we can fix the points you have mentionned in your comment immediately. We do apologize that you didn't find the expected guest... More 

Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Before I get down and dirty with the very many bad things I have to say about this hotel, I think a few star people should be recognized!! To begin with I'd like to recognize Lola she works hard and always just makes me smile even when I'm in the worst of moods!!! The luggage porters are also always smiling... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Grant B
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts in your comment.. We're very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 9 days to celebrate my friends 50th birthday. The beach bungalo was nice with a good AC, plenty of hot water and a good size room for two. Food: Breakfast buffet was good and included a made to order egg station. The staff (especially Pipi and Claudine) were quick to serve coffee/tea. They could use some better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariaeo72
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora. Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback during your stay at sofitel Marara Beach Resort. We were very delighted to host you and thank you again for all the positive points you have mentionned in your comment. We are very sorry that you did encounter some conveniences, your opinion is very important as... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We spent the first 5 nights of our honeymoon at bora bora Sofitel and loved it! Bora bora is magical with its beautiful turquoise water and friendly locals. We can't thank Sofitel for making us feel so welcome and relaxed. Note. Like weddings, everything in bora bora is double what Yould expect including accommodation and food. So don't expect the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lozz26
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us ! We are very delighted that you had a "Fantastic start to your honeymoon" " in our resort. The beach front Bungalow is a unique place to enjoy magnifique panoramic views and the private white sand beach and the overwater bungalows are bigger with... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Bora Bora has been hit hard with the down turn of the global economy. There are resorts on both sides that have been shutdown and abandoned. Only the big named hotel chains have managed to survive. I would've liked to have stayed in one of the overwater bungalows but at $700 a night the price was too high in my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts in your comment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in a Magnifique way. Mauruuru. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,455 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1358)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (168)
Viewed
View from Room (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (180)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:21
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (578)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#11 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 2,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.5 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: $278 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay