We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Sunset Hill Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in one of the apartments up the hill for four nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Our host Gérard was extremely helpful, picked us up at the ferry and offered to take us (and pick us up again) to Matira Beach. The apartment is fully furnished with a great kitchen. Great and comfortable terrace with view to... More 

Thank dreiumdiewelt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the downstairs waterfront apartment which was very clean and quite large. Gerard was great...he arranged for a scooter rental as well as a fabulous lagoon tour. He picked us up at the ferry and dropped us off when it was time to leave. He also gave us restaurant recommendations. Beautiful sunsets every night from the patio. Great... More 

Thank Robert P
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The owner is friendly but lives "high in the sky". He told us to pick us up in the morning at 11.30 H to catch our flight. At 10.00 H I was taking a shower and he told us that he was ready to go and that we had to leave the house. We took our suitcases but unfortunately in... More 

Thank Nomadedelux
SunsetHillLodge, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

I think that this comment does not apply to our business, never this kind of situation arose at Sunset Hill Lodge ... To find € 80 of food in a refrigerator can not forget ... !!! (Bora Bora is not that expensive and the fridge should be well filled ...) More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2016

I was lucky enough to stay in the first floor waterside apartment in July 2016. Gerard was very helpful - picked me up at the tourist bureau (and took me to the ferry when I left) and showed me around. It is very comfortable and fully equipped accommodation, bang on the waterside and close to all facilities - the yacht... More 

2 Thank Chris, Franzie,... P
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2016

At first a big thanks to Gerard and his lovely accomodation. We spend three nights in two different bungalows. It was a good and budget option to stay here. Big space, good beds, nice kitchen and nice view over the ocean. We heard some complaning about bugs and cockroaches. Overdone! We had a small encounter, but really no worries about... More 

1 Thank Coen V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2016

I had done research prior to arrival and by the rave reviews of others I opted for this pension. Gerard was great with communication - absolutely no complaints about him - very accommodating. But, I'm sorry, my studio was crawling with bugs: Bathroom, walls, ceilings, BED...I did not feel comfortable here whatsoever. I have stayed in hotels ranging all budgets,... More 

1 Thank Katy N
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

I keep in the garden a little modest bungalow because there are customers who can not afford a stay in the hotels in Bora Bora 1000 € per night or more ...So for 40 € you have a small but very clean bungalow with every comfort, just have look to other comments.... That said, we have to do with a... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2016

I stayed in Studio #3 for 8 nights. This particular studio had recently been rebuilt totally so it is light and bright and fresh. Nice little kitchen (well equipped with kitchen utensils etc), bathroom with a nice shower and really comfortable bed. The studio is located on the upper floor so the views were across the lagoon and Vaitape area.... More 

Thank Pia_at_seas
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Not so fair... More 

Gjakova, Kosovo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2016

Staying on Sunset Hill Lodge was really a good experience and I am happy that we have chosen it. Everything was perfectly clean and in order like I want to be. Really adored that the staff took care of us and were so polite and kind. Thank you for the good services.

Thank dafinakajtazi
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2016

We just got back from our trip and were so happy that we stayed at Sunset Hill Lodge. The apartment is spacious with a kitchen, bedroom, and patio right on the lagoon. The apartment was extremely clean, and decorated with bright paint and Polynesian accents. We felt completely safe and well taken care of by Gerard the owner. He picked... More 

Thank Robin080
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2016

This isn’t your average luxurious, exclusive Bora Bora resort. But in my eyes it’s much better. It’s run by Gerard who is extremely helpful and friendly with whatever you need - nothing is too much trouble and his little dog Fifi is adorable. We stayed in one of his apartments by the water which had everything we needed, including a... More 

Thank Emma T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (173)
Room/Suite (33)
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
View from Room (17)
Bathroom (15)
Dining (9)
Family/Play Areas (4)
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
2.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Furnished accommodations close to Vaitape's village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Lodge

Address: BP 58 Vaitape | Lewards Islands, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: $104 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay