We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sunset Hill Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

I was lucky enough to stay in the first floor waterside apartment in July 2016. Gerard was very helpful - picked me up at the tourist bureau (and took me to the ferry when I left) and showed me around. It is very comfortable and fully equipped accommodation, bang on the waterside and close to all facilities - the yacht... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris, Franzie,... P
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

At first a big thanks to Gerard and his lovely accomodation. We spend three nights in two different bungalows. It was a good and budget option to stay here. Big space, good beds, nice kitchen and nice view over the ocean. We heard some complaning about bugs and cockroaches. Overdone! We had a small encounter, but really no worries about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Coen V
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

I had done research prior to arrival and by the rave reviews of others I opted for this pension. Gerard was great with communication - absolutely no complaints about him - very accommodating. But, I'm sorry, my studio was crawling with bugs: Bathroom, walls, ceilings, BED...I did not feel comfortable here whatsoever. I have stayed in hotels ranging all budgets,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katy N
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

I keep in the garden a little modest bungalow because there are customers who can not afford a stay in the hotels in Bora Bora 1000 € per night or more ...So for 40 € you have a small but very clean bungalow with every comfort, just have look to other comments.... That said, we have to do with a... More 

Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

I stayed in Studio #3 for 8 nights. This particular studio had recently been rebuilt totally so it is light and bright and fresh. Nice little kitchen (well equipped with kitchen utensils etc), bathroom with a nice shower and really comfortable bed. The studio is located on the upper floor so the views were across the lagoon and Vaitape area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pia_at_seas
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Not so fair... More 

Gjakova, Kosovo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Staying on Sunset Hill Lodge was really a good experience and I am happy that we have chosen it. Everything was perfectly clean and in order like I want to be. Really adored that the staff took care of us and were so polite and kind. Thank you for the good services.

Helpful?
Thank dafinakajtazi
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

We just got back from our trip and were so happy that we stayed at Sunset Hill Lodge. The apartment is spacious with a kitchen, bedroom, and patio right on the lagoon. The apartment was extremely clean, and decorated with bright paint and Polynesian accents. We felt completely safe and well taken care of by Gerard the owner. He picked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin080
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

This isn’t your average luxurious, exclusive Bora Bora resort. But in my eyes it’s much better. It’s run by Gerard who is extremely helpful and friendly with whatever you need - nothing is too much trouble and his little dog Fifi is adorable. We stayed in one of his apartments by the water which had everything we needed, including a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

We were picked up from the warf by Gerard and his friendly dog. We stayed two nights in a bungalow on the hill side. There is a kitchenette and an outside shower corner with a very nice design. The panoramic view is gorgeous. The lodge is very close to the warf and to the shops. We used the free bikes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

I only stayed there one night to load up on snacks and alcohol before going to one of the resorts in Bora Bora. Gérard is an awesome host. Picked us up from the ferry station and drove us to the hotel. He is a genuine, caring man that goes out of his way to help his guests.he took us to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleATL2013
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

The houseis well equiped and allow the guests to live as in home . The location is good, in front of the ocean, close to the Marina , supermarkets, restaurants and even some local food trucks. Some bicicles are available for he guests free of charge. Mr. Gerard is very friendly and help the guests to find the best attractions... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
2.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Furnished accommodations close to Vaitape's village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Lodge

Address: BP 58 Vaitape | Lewards Islands, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: $105 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay