We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Orewa Beachcomber

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Orewa Beachcomber
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Initial booking was for two nights, and we extended to three. Our room was the sea view spa room, with king bed, was spacious with a kitchenette. Was only a five minute walk to the Orewa shopping centre and restaurants. Was initially concerned road noise might be an issue but this turned out to not be so. Staff were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank markdr_AU
Albany, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the rooms are just beautiful and the hospitality out of this world. we needed some documents printed and signed urgently and the owner was so helpful. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Orewa. we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite - it was so romantic - just what we needed after a stressful week!

Helpful?
Thank amechr28
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked a room just for one night and our situation was a little difficult and stressful. The young woman Bree who was on duty was incredibly understanding and helpful. She told me which unit was ours and the milk would be in our fridge (loved the glass milk bottle). It was a breath of fresh air during a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snorkeluv
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Upon arrival to the motel, the room was nice and tidy and clean but unfortunately all the soap, shampoo and body wash dispensers didn't work. There was no dishwashing liquid, no tea towels or dish cloths. We went to the office and asked the woman at reception and she said that she would reprimand the cleaners as this should have... More 

Helpful?
Thank foodlover27264
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the seaview spa room for one night, from the outside it looks like an average motel. But inside the furniture and decorating made the room feel very romantic. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our night special. The only negative was that the awesome bed that I absolutely adored, did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda281081
Geoff S, Owner at Orewa Beachcomber, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, glad you enjoyed your special night More 

Matakohe, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

My wife and I are mothers of 8 children. Our 8 children spent along time saving up their pocket money and treated us to a night away last weekend as a mothers day present. When we got to the Beachcomber we were told the owners were away and that the cleaner was in charge and that she did not cook... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaireSV
Geoff S, Owner at Orewa Beachcomber, responded to this review

We are genuinely sorry your experience was not what you expected, I would like to point out that you were given a bottle of champagne on arrival and made aware by the duty manager that the option of having breakfast delivered to your room from the café next door was there or if you preferred the option of money to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Needed a last minute stay in Orewa, Beachcomber was perfect for our family of four. Clean, modern, well stocked and very comfortable. Fabulous location. Hosts were very friendly and thoughtful. Easy to communicate with. Wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend a stay.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie O
Geoff S, Owner at Orewa Beachcomber, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Stephanie, hopefully we see you back for an extended stay soon. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

My family and I stayed at the Beachcomber over the weekend. We booked three rooms and all were quite different and really well set out. The property is conveniently located, the rooms are very nice and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back and happy to recommend the motel to others!

Helpful?
Thank tandggregory
Geoff S, Owner at Orewa Beachcomber, responded to this review

Tania, thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to hoist you and your extended family, and we look forward to seeing you again Geoff More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful break away up in Orewa at the Beachcomber. It was so beautifully decorated and our hosts were so welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend this Motel to everyone. One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. Jo MacKenzie

Helpful?
Thank joannemackenzie
Geoff S, Owner at Orewa Beachcomber, responded to this review

Jo - thank you for your review, I will pass on to my wife your lovely comments on the décor Geoff More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Great friendly people on reception, rooms are clean and tidy and modern with good facilities. I use when i have an early start in Auckland (live in Northland) as it is handy to the motorway and reasonably quick trip to the city early morning.

Helpful?
Thank Tony D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
0.9 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orewa Motor Lodge
Orewa Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gulf Harbour Lodge
Gulf Harbour Lodge
#2 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
17.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#10 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Orewa Beachcomber is only steps from the beach across the road from the Surf Club. Rooms are spacious and modern, each with self contained kitchenette, SKY TV on 32 inch flat screen TVs and free wi-fi. Choose from two bedroom units, perfect for families or travellers requiring more privacy, studio apartments or spa suites al. Sit outside and enjoy the sun all day in overlooking the tropical gardens and get ready to enjoy your new home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Orewa Beachcomber

Address: 246 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa 0931, New Zealand (Formerly Beachcomber Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Price Range: $92 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orewa Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay