We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tongariro Suites at The Rocks

Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (2)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Wheelchair access
4 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
151
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
151
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath salts free standing bath hot tub huge shower national park village new zealand continental breakfast roasted coffee modern facility beautiful apartment amazing property yogurt fresh bread great tips friendly welcome dressing gowns fresh mountain air
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A weary traveler found this beautiful and hidden reserve and was presented with a peaceful paradise. The design and detail of the decor and inclusions, from layout to room amenities cannot be overstated in its understated elegance. Hosts lovely and approachable. Beyond cleanliness. The view...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank 946shannons
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded yesterday

Please come back and hole up for a few days , you might want stay in our new Nightsky Cottage! We love it that you liked our understated elegance and all the little extra touches that makes us unique in our offerings. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

My wife and I stayed at the Tongariro suites for 3 nights. The suites are very convenient, the view is impressive and the location is quiet and relaxing.The owners Elsbeth and Carel ate always ready to help with a good advice. Carel even advised us...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Yuval B
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 5 days ago

Dear Yuval Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are humbled yothink we deserve more than a 10. That is much appreciated. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday. Carel and Elsbeth

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here. We arrived and Carel and Elsbeth were fantastic hosts. They help set up dinner reservations and we had a fabulous meal. They will go out of their way to help accommodate any request you may...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Yvette K
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded 5 days ago

Hi Yveltte It was lovely to meet you and we hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday. It was great to host you and we are really pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer. Please tell all your friends and family in...More

Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Hands down the best hotel near Tongariro National Park! We stayed here in Nov 2018. The hotel is modern, clean, the rooms very well appointed and breakfast in room in the morning is wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed the bathtub with views of the mountains in...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank NorthStar102054
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded November 6, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really please you enjoyed what we have on offer. We feel very privileged to continue to share our location and property with our guests.

Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful as are the views of the mountain. The room was very comfy and we enjoyed the hot tub outside our room. Our only complaint is that the breakfast was just ok. There is a tray in your room with some cereal,...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Jillnt6772
Response from Tongariro-Suites, Owner at Tongariro Suites at The RocksResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Jill Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast offerings. We clearly advertise that we offer continental breakfast only and we feel we offer a great variety of options. The fresh...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Tongariro Suites Premium Boutique accommodation business in the Ohakune region. Located equal distance from both Turoa and Whakapapa skifield. Several mountain bike tracks accessable from our front door, More including the Mountain to Sea and Old Coach Road tracks. All our four suites have breath taking views from Mt Ruapehu ( weather permitting ofcourse). Although it is operated as a homestay business, guests have their private entrance, use of guest lounge and guest laundry which is all seperate from the owners section of the house. Each suite has a deck opening up from their rooms. There is also a 49sq m sheltered deck for guests to mix and mingle and enjoy a BBQ on while seeing the sun go down over the mountain. Breakfast basket is provided in your room upon arrival so you can enjoy your breakfast at a time suitable to you. Located 25 minute drive from the start of the Tongariro Crossing walk. 10 Minute drive to Ohakune and 15 minute drive to National Park Village We are very eco friendly and almost self sufficient with regards to water and electricity. We are located on one hectare of land next to native bush line. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Hot Tub
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
$129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
$129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Photos
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
353 reviews
4.57 miles away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
122 reviews
4.64 miles away
The Peaks Motor Inn
217 reviews
4.91 miles away
Ohakune Court Motel
172 reviews
4.93 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 38 nearby restaurants
Powderkeg Restaurant
350 reviews
4.56 miles away
OCR Cafe
173 reviews
4.57 miles away
La Pizzeria & Cafe
56 reviews
4.58 miles away
The Kitchen Ohakune
45 reviews
4.57 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 nearby attractions
Mountain Bike Station
114 reviews
5.22 miles away
Ruapehu Homestead
7 reviews
7.36 miles away
Whanganui River Canoes
67 reviews
7.45 miles away
Adrift Tongariro
349 reviews
12.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tiannacollison
May 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from bailiej757 | Reviewed this property |
I am not the B&B owner. I stayed there during the summer so cannot help. I can say it is one of the nicest B&B I have stayed in.
1
Vote
Divasu
August 31, 2014|
Answer
Response from Tongariro-Suites | Property representative |
it depends what days you would like to stay we can drop you off in the village of Ohakune. yoy will catch a shuttle ftom there to the ski slopes. ring us when you are back in the village and can pick you up.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I understand why they are fully booked most time"
913yuvalb
5 days ago
Read review
"Different room types & different amenities (free standing baths in some rooms) and some rooms larger..."
katerayment23
Aug 12, 2018
Read review
"Any room ( only 4 to choose from) same fabulous view from all rooms"
jasminelangdon79
Mar 20, 2018
Read review
"This is the biggest suite and on a corner so ore privacy and less noise from neigbours"
nipitinthebud
Feb 2, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing