We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Alma utca 1., Zalakaros 8749 Hungary
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Travelocity
$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Agoda.com
$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Hotels.com$119
Priceline$124
eDreams$115
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (238)
Room & Suite (71)
Pool & Beach (62)

About

#5 of 10 hotels in Zalakaros
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.7
Value
3.5
Our hotel is largest not just in the popular holiday resort, Zalakaros but in the region, too. The spacious rooms, the huge green park between the two buildings of the hotel and the peaceful location guarantee relaxing days. The real time off can be enjoyed in a giant water world, which only a few hotels in Hungary can be proud of. Among the 5 indoor and 2 outdoor pools everyone can find where relaxation the best is. In the sauna park there are 5 different saunas, a steam bath and an ice cave which offer several possibilities. The wellness experience becomes fully perfect by the different massages, gastronomy, sport and other programs of the hotel. The secret of our success is found although elsewhere.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
Hungarian

Location

Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
256Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 64
  • 81
  • 60
  • 30
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Róbert S. wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I am deeply dissapointed, since there was no communication about the wellness part being under renowation (season preparation), still took the full season price. On the other side, there was somekind of "college party" going on in the hotel, which was done accordingly to the law as they said , since they have ended it at 2 am. There is no problem with that. The problem started at 3 am at the students rooms, which was the "after party", so they were yelling and partying 'till 7 am while others would like to rest. This was also communicated and reported to the reception, in their words "Nothing can be done, if the guest is loud in there room." It was 3 am and went on untill 7 am , there were babies sleeping next to them, for crying out loud! So if you want to go to their hotel, please be advised, that they are not that much guest oriented, and communicative! I would reconsider, if only I had read the reviews!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
elena v wrote a review Jul 2021
Bucharest, Romania65 contributions32 helpful votes
This hotel is huge, split in 2 main buildings that communicate. Check-in experience was good, yet our room was ready at 4pm..quite late i would say. We had to wait to get into our room. Once there we could not find 1 bottle of water, we had to order..I don’t know what experience this hotel had with other guests, but not to have a bottle of water in an apartment with 4 guests? Towels were changed every 3rd day in the room. The wellness towels were not towels, but some textiles. The pools were nice, one recently renovated, sauna center was nice too. Nice playground and kids programs too. Food was average.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Online, Marketing at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Dear Elena! Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm disappointed certain aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I sincerely hope we have the chance of welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Attila F wrote a review Sep 2019
Budapest, Hungary27 contributions13 helpful votes
We were visiting Karos spa August 21- till 24 2019 ,2 adults and 1 seven and half years old boy. Room was very clean and moder, refurbished, fridge not cold. A few things should be changed also which was not done like towel dryer, shower hose, leakage from cealing. Corridor nicely refurbished also. The food choice was not too much, but tasty. The pool bar was very enjoyable and the food was good also there. Evening time nothing was going on. No entertainment at all, no live music or open bar. The bar was open only by the pool, but the weather was cold already. In the hallway 2 ping pont tables and 2 x box with very agressive game which was not supervised at all by anybody. Small kids were playing with bloody games. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. I think we did not get for our many what we paid for. Last year we stayd in the ParkInn and i think that one is a better choice from my point of view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ella S wrote a review Apr 2019
Budapest, Hungary10 contributions1 helpful vote
Zalakaros is a beautiful city of Mediterranean climate in Hungary. The hotel is fairly new and attractive with several pools - including one thermal water pool so there is no need to go across the street to the open and very large public pool complex for thermal water. They provide breakfast and dinner with your reservation and a variety of room types to choose from. I've every intention to return again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded May 7, 2019
Dear guest, thanks for your really nice rating! We are glad that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel! We hope to see you in the very near future in Hotel Karos Spa! Best regards, Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max W wrote a review Mar 2019
Portoroz, Slovenia508 contributions172 helpful votes
Where is hotel 4⭐ superior??? Old hotel...very big building without atmosphere,like military house! Rooms clear and good warm... Self service dinner Is very poor and sad... Breakfast sufficient. Spa I don't know!! I don't back ...this is sure!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Mar 18, 2019
Dear our Guest! Thank you for your rating. We are very sorry about your bad experiences. We are just renovating our rooms and buildings. Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoltán S wrote a review Dec 2018
Budapest, Hungary32 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Gondold át! A szálloda próbálja a szebb arcát mutatni a hírdetésekben, de ez sajnos élőben nem működik! Retro hangulat jellemzi a helyet. A szobák nyitását műanyag órákkal oldják meg, ami nem mindíg praktikus, mert ha már az emberen van óra es valamilyen karkötő, akkor növeszthet egy új kart amire a zöld (standolós) órát felbiggyeszti. A szobákban a szekrények befogadóképessége erősen korlátozott (kicsi)! Az álmenyezet leázva díszíti a szoba folyosóját. A szoba fűrdőszobájában a kád a divat, a tusolást is kádban kell végezni, mint valami panellakásban. A kád környékén megjelenő penész eléggé lehangoló látvány. A szobában a konnektorokat vadászni kell! (Össz.:4db van, amiből 3 foglalt) Megérkezésünk óta kb.:40 perc, többször is tanakodtunk a szálloda elhagyásán, az alacsony színvonal miatt, ami az árban eggyáltalán nem látszik! Nem ajánlott kategoria! Think about it! The hotel is trying to show off its beautiful face in advertisements, but unfortunately it doesn't work live! Retro mood characterizes the place. The opening of the rooms is done with plastic watches, which is not always practical, because if you have an hour and a bracelet you can grow a new lever to beat the green (rack) clock. In the rooms, the capacity of the cabinets is very limited (small)! The ceiling is soaking up the hallway of the room. In the room of the room, the tub is in fashion, and the shower must be done in a bathtub as in a flat panel. The mold around the tub is a pretty depressing sight. In the room, the sockets must be hunted! (Total: 4pcs, of which 3 are occupied) Approximately 40 minutes since we arrived, we have repeatedly talked about leaving the hotel because of the low standard that is not visible in the price! Not recommended category!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Online marketing assistant at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Dec 27, 2018
Kedves Vendégünk! Köszönjük értékelését! Észrevételeit továbbítani fogjuk illetékes vezetőink felé. Üdvözlettel: Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lu p wrote a review Apr 2018
Zilina, Slovakia59 contributions41 helpful votes
Last 2 years we started to spend extended weekends and holidays in Hungary. This hotel we booked for Easter holiday. First - very positive surprice was extra service (we booked halfboard) - we got coupon for lunch soups, coffee, welcome drinks and desserts. We really enjoyed wellness with our 3 years old son. Our room was big enough and we appreciated that room was situated on 1st floor at the end of corridor. For kids there are 2 indoor kids rooms and 1 exdoor. Food in restaurant was in standard quality and we really liked coctails which we could drink in wellness zone. I would only recommend to add egg hunting in garden as we could see in other hotels, this we missed for our son. We are not very demanding with room but I can see that some parts of especially bathroom (higher shelves were not clened for longer period. I would return to this hotel, I liked the area and close restaurants and lake. Its nice place for families.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Online marketing munkatárs at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Aug 27, 2018
Dear guest, thanks for your rating! We are glad that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel! We will forward your feedbacks to our management! We hope to see you in the very near future in Hotel Karos Spa! Best regards, Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathy_Bear wrote a review Mar 2018
Budapest, Hungary70 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
(1) English version We spent 3 nights here (2 adults, 2 children) in Mid of March. Overall opinion is very good and we think this is currently one of the best family-friendly hotel in Hungary regarding value for monay comparison. Pros: good breakfast, perfect snack lunch, very good diner with wide range of offerings, 2 playgrounds for children including entertainment activities, commodius and bright rooms, nice hall, several pools in the wellness, well-equipped fitness room and very nice location. May be improved: parking area between the main building and the apartman building is chaotic and accidentprone, staff in general may be better informed in order to be able to answer quest's questions. (2) Magyar verzió 3 éjszakát töltöttünk itt a március közepi hosszú hétvége során (2 felnőtt, 2 gyerek). Átfogó véleményünk nagyon jó, sőt az egyik legjobb családbarát wellness hotelnek gondoljuk ár/érték arányban Magyarországon. Pozitívumok: nagyon jó, elégséges, vacsoránál széles választékú étel és ital, 2 játszóház gyerekfelügyelettel, tágas és fényes szobák, szép előtér, számos medence, jól felszerelt fitness terem teszi teljessé a jó fekvésű hotelt. Javítandók: az épületek között található parkolók használata kaotikus, ráadásul sok ott parkoló autó esetében balesetveszélyes, illetve sokszor több embert kellett megkérdezni a személyzetből, mire megkaptuk a választ.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Felsőbb emeletek jobbak (kilátás, zajszint, ráadásul gyorsak a liftek, amikből elég számú van)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Mar 26, 2018
Kedves Cathy, köszönjük értékelését! Nagyon örülünk annak, hogy ilyen jól érezték magukat szállodánkban s Kollégáim nevében is köszönjük szépen kedves, dicsérő szavait! Parkolással kapcsolatban recepciós kollégáink készséggel állnak kedves Vendégeink rendelkezésére. A helytelenül, olykor baleset veszélyesen parkoló autósok esetében igyekszünk mindig felhívni a figyelmet a parkolási rend betartására. Várjuk vissza sok szeretettel! Üdvözlettel: Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Júlia K wrote a review Mar 2018
35 contributions5 helpful votes
Unfortunately it was the worst hotel experience we ever had. First of all almost everything was dirty. Most things are too old not to be dusty like carpets, heaters and curtains in the room but we could have met some mold in the bathroom and limescale is like a decoration tool around the taps. The minibar didn’t work and we had to request a mattress into the mobile baby cot because there was nothing in it and a step stool to the bathroom. (It’s supposed to be a baby friendly hotel.) Spa was also disappointing thanks to an unfortunate discovery in the kids pool (- a tiny poop). The staff closed the area for a half day. The corridor that connects the apartment hotel with the main building was flooded and the staff did their best but the situation was still catastrophic. Only one of the two elevators worked in the building which rather seemed to be turned off for economical reasons than maintenance - no apology signs or any sign of efforts to fix it. Most of the guests took the steps instead of waiting for 10 minutes. The only positive was the commitment of the employees. Although they were overloaded everyone tried to be kind and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Mar 7, 2018
Dear Júlia, thanks for your rating! We will forward your feedbacks to our management! Best regards, Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barabassy A wrote a review Nov 2017
9 contributions7 helpful votes
For a lot of money, which should get you a real 4 star hotel, you get a max 3 star deal. The rooms are old, carpet stained, walls dirty. Our bed linen was not fresh, we had to ask for a change. The food was average. On the up side, the staff was nice and friendly and the wellness area was enjoyable. There were a lot of kids which was nice since we traveled with kids ourselves....
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KarosSpa, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Karos Spa
Responded Nov 3, 2017
Dear Guest, thanks for your rating! We will forward your feedbacks to our management! We hope to see you in the very near future in Hotel Karos Spa! Best regards, Hotel Karos Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryWestern TransdanubiaZala CountyZalakaros
NUMBER OF ROOMS
287
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Karos Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Karos Spa?
Nearby attractions include Zalakaros Bath (0.2 miles) and Eco Park Zalakaros (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Karos Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Karos Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Karos Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Karos Spa?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Karos Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La'Mar, No Sugar cafe & bar, and Friskó Panzió.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Karos Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Karos Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Zalakaros.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Karos Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Karos Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Hotel Karos Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.