We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jl Pantai Batu Bolong, Canggu 80361 Indonesia
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Now, Stay Later
Trip.com
$402
View Deal
Booking.com
$124
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$402
$112
View Deal
SAVE $290
Prestigia.com$271
Hotels.com$115
Expedia.com$115
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1417)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (424)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 79 hotels in Canggu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Indonesian
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book Now, Stay Later
1,207Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,034
  • 122
  • 25
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sinta Nasution wrote a review Aug 2020
Nusa Dua, Indonesia1 contribution
Once my friends told me i'm going to stay at Tugu hotel. They ask me "isn't it an old hotel? Won't it be creepy? Undermaintained?" Well I go there anyway and it was the best decision I have ever made in my trip to Bali this 2020. 1. The room is amazing, very clean, unique and artsy 2. The hotel is in a strategic location. Hangout places are so easy to reach 3. The View from the restaurant at the 3rd floor is fantastic. I took too many photographs there. 4. They have Bicycle Program. It's such a nice program, we go around to see rice paddy and villages for 3 hours with private guide.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Gung W wrote a review Jul 2020
Denpasar, Indonesia1 contribution
OASIS in Canggu. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay amazing once again. Breakfast on the rooftop early morning was spectacular as we checked the waves before surfing. My kids were so happy! Surf right outside the front door. Ji restaurant for sunset and to die for cocktails and sushi. Had the mantra massage that I wished never ended. You really don’t need to leave the hotel at all. See you all again soon as Tugu is one place to chillout during these times.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tugu Hotels, Marketing at Hotel Tugu Bali
Responded Aug 1, 2020
Dear Gungw, Thank you for your very kind review. To have exceeded your expectations makes us all feel very proud and that you immersed yourself in the history and culture which Tugu is so well known for. We will share with all the team and hope to see you again in the near future! Warmest regards from you Tugu Family!
Read more
Wanda U wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Sanctuary! Thank you Tugu for an amazing peaceful stay during these trying times. I have been Hotel hopping for the last few months as I have been unable to leave Bali and return to my home. I felt like royalty as soon as I arrived and welcomed by the staff and Manager who was so helpful and gave me a tour of hotel. Tugu is full of art and antiques and you are submersed in Indonesian history. My room was Rejang suite upstairs with an amazing sunken bathtub and a view of the ocean. Heaven on earth! The staff were exceptional and took care of me like family. Highlight was having a Japanese restaurant on the rooftop where I spent most mornings having breakfast overlooking the ocean and then back for sunset, sushi and cocktails. Couldn’t have asked for more. Thank you to everyone‼
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tugu Hotels, Marketing at Hotel Tugu Bali
Responded Aug 1, 2020
Dear 50wandau, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are touched beyond words, and we could not be more grateful for the magic moments you have shared in your Tugu home. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. I will certainly share your wonderful comments with the entire team. They will be very happy since their efforts to deliver uncompromising 5 star service to the valued guest are truly appreciated. On behalf of Hotel Tugu Bali team, we are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Tugu Bali soon. Kindest regards Ari and All Tugu Family
Read more
MissMing68 wrote a review Jun 2020
Maleny, Australia144 contributions9 helpful votes
This review is belated. But the feeling of total disappointment, on what was a mile stone birthday, last July 2019 , still lingers with me. Why ? After doing hours of so much research , planning a special breakfast & spa “treat” for myself & two of my closest girlfriends . I choose here . How did I get it so so wrong 🤦🏻‍♀️ I had visited Hotel TUGU for lunch 12 months prior. It was enchanting. Magical , in fact. Left me raving about it. It was “ impressive “. It had a vibe. Ambience. Well , the morning of my special birthday, we walked in ( my two friends had never been there), and within minutes my heart started to sink. It looked tired. Dusty. Very poor. We were taken up to the terrace ( which in the photoshopped web pictures, looks incredible). It was beyond underwhelming. My two girlfriends, stood and looked around , then at me each with one eyebrow raised, and me thinking to myself , “run , let’s go now!!” Which we should of. I honestly regret , not turning around and just getting a driver to take us somewhere really “special” for that day. Huge mistake , huge !! The setting was nothing like the photos The breakfast was sub- par. Then we were booked for 2 hr spa treatment. Which was just “ok”. The freezing body mask applied. Was the worst part ! I’ve had $20 massage treatments in Ubud far better. Far from luxurious For what we paid. Then we had snacks / drinks by the pool. One of my friends was green by the time we got back to our Legian villa at 5pm. Vommiting . Bed ridden. Bali belly for two whole days afterwards. Prawns from the snack at TUGU !! It cost allot. It was just such a waste of money. The whole experience, totally underwhelming. It gets worse ! I finally , contacted Jenni. Manager of the hotel. A month later. After stewing on it! And after much backward and forward emails/ WhattsAp calls. Haggling , expressing my dissatisfaction and disappointment. She finally refunded me a pathetic, insulting $67-00 AU dollars I was totally gob smacked ! $67 !!! When we had spent $700AU On a lousy, thoroughly disappointing day. It just tainted this whole experience even blacker for me. I can’t believe I just got it so wrong. Bali is full of amazing places to go for that special day. Head over to the Four Season’s in Jimbarin if you are looking to be truly spoilt and to make life time memories. Because you will not make them at Hotel TUGU. Avoid it, keep researching ! Because this place is dreary. It’s better days are well behind it 😒 And management leaves allot to be desired 👎🏻
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from tuguhotels, Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali
Responded Jun 8, 2020
MissMing68, I do appreciate your taking the time to post a review, and have sat back and gone back to our conversations a year ago, to review the facts. But in these challenging times, I also feel compelled to be more honest in expressing myself. My initial reaction when reading your review was sadness, mixed with compassion for you, that amidst the chaos in the world right now due to Covid-19 and many others, that left so many people suffering, that temporarily have killed tourism in our beautiful island Bali and the livelihood of many kind & beautiful Balinese people who depend almost 100% on tourism, you still found it in your heart to post something like the above that happened a year ago, which truth we would never confirm for sure. This is a difficult time for everyone where a little kindness means so much more than ever before. However, let’s discuss the facts: - in your numerous correspondence with me asking for refund following your treatment, not once you had ever mentioned about anyone getting sick and especially with such certainty that it was from snacks at Tugu (which, by the way, many other guests ate and not one single one got sick). It is rather strange that now a year after you mentioned this for the first time. However, whatever the reason is, we are truly sorry if your friend did get sick, hope she is well recovered by now. - Your Hot Stone Massage & Keraton treatment was for 3 people, for 2.5 hours each, for AUD 560 in total, not AUD 700 in total. - The mask is supposed to be cold not hot. Cold masks and hot masks have different benefits. Cold mask helps to give glowing, dewy look, tighten the skin, and smooth your complexion by combating fat cells, ease wrinkles, fight acne, and promote. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with the 15% refund that we had sent you, but Tugu is a hotel that promotes Indonesian tradition, culture, history and authenticity, through priceless Indonesian antiques and arts, whereas at the same time blending it with indulging holiday luxury. If you are seeking for a more modern contemporary minimalist look, you will not find it at Tugu. I do hope you can understand we cannot refund more just because someone doesn’t like our design style, which we believe we have communicated as accurate as possible, and had not seemed to mislead other guests so far, as written in all the other reviews. However, we will review your feedbacks constructively and will scrutinize our facility again in great detail for any room for improvement. Once again, we are truly sorry to hear you were unhappy with our solution, and we wish you only the best. Jenny and Tugu Team
Read more
Flikka_S wrote a review Mar 2020
Jakarta, Indonesia21 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This is our favourite hotel brand within Indonesia, this was our first time staying at Tugu Bali. The Manager, Jenny, couldn’t be kinder or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, including offering to print out a contract for me that I needed to sign. She and the rest of the Tugu team always met us with a smile. They are also very discreet. After our stay we found out that a famous step-brother of a certain reality TV show focussed on a family of sisters was staying there too and we didn’t know until we saw it on social media (we now know that happens a lot). Jenny took us on a tour of the property and every turn there was another delight and wow factor. The owner’s family are so creative and their attention to detail is phenomenal. You see the best of Indonesia throughout. They are such a unique property that provide you something different to other hotel brands. The food, amazing. My children would have eaten at Ji the Japanese restaurant breakfast, lunch and dinner if they could. My son’s favourite (11yrs) is the dragon roll. Our accommodation was also another wow factor. The details in the room were divine, modern cons like USB chargers nicely hidden in traditional Javanese furniture. The bathroom was amazing and the environmentally friendly approach to the toiletries was very much appreciated (as it is throughout the hotel). The location is also great. Off the main strip of Canguu. The structure of the hotel hides this so well. So you can get your Bali fix and then retreat to the complimentary afternoon tea. I couldn’t recommend Tugu Bali highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from tuguhotels, Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali
Responded Jun 7, 2020
Dear Flikka_S, Thank you for such a lovely detailed review and for sharing with other travelers. It gives us enormous pleasure to know you enjoyed your time with us and all the amazing meals in the restaurants, and I was delighted to walk you through the Hotel and all its history. Tugu is most definitely more than a hotel and the staff are always happy to welcome you into our Tugu home. Hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future and sending warmest regards from the Tugu Team!. Jenny and Tugu Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tugu bali hotel, tugu bali canggu
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliNorth KutaCanggu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Tugu Bali
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Tugu Bali?
Nearby attractions include Batu Bolong Beach (0.06 miles), Canggu Beach (0.06 miles), and Nalu Clothing (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Tugu Bali?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Tugu Bali?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Tugu Bali?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Tugu Bali?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Tugu Bali?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ji Restaurant Bali, Iwa Restaurant at Hotel Tugu Bali, and Grass Terrace Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Tugu Bali?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Tugu Bali have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Tugu Bali offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Tugu Bali located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Canggu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Tugu Bali?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Tugu Bali offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.